We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
141
66
24
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
141
66
24
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot beef sandwich hot chocolate fudge cake sunday dinner prawn cocktail my mum food was lovely good size bar area warm welcome mushrooms lancashire
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We booked for a weeks stay in Ribchester in a holiday house. Our first port of call was lunch at The Rib as we have come to call it! What a fabulous front of house team, super food, truly excellent pub grub! It’s a real gem. Quick service.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Large portions -this place is far from skinny with the meat! I don’t even usually like lamb and my husbands lamb was lovely. Plenty gravy, I always have to ask for more gravy but not here. Also my 2 year old loves the homemade spaghetti bol. Lovely staff and friendly atmosphere. The wine is nice too. Well worth a visit

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AngelaJamie369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Six people for a late afternoon Sunday lunch. Service was excellent, the head waitress had everything under control.
The dining room felt cold, brightly lit and a bit baren, no table cloths and paper napkins helped to make it feel a bit like eating in a works canteen.
The dining room could do with a softer touch, to make it feel comfortable and welcoming.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maw747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Liars and incompetence - We contacted them waaaaay back in July to ask when xmas bookings started backwards and forwards with Emails with "nice guy" called Phil.
We decided to book for xmas and asked about deposits.... when to pay and how much, etc ? But no reply from Phil.
Sent another Email about deposits and asked if we were pencilled in......but again no reply from Phil.
In August received Email with full xmas menu. Replied to said Email by again asking about deposits and was our place booked but yet again no reply from Phil.
Decided to not bother as didnt want to turn up xmas day and not know if we'd be seated or not.
This morning received Email from Phil ( hooray he's alive !!!) asking for deposit. I replied and said we weren't bothering as we'd had no reply to our Emails. Phil got snotty and lied that he'd told us we were booked in for xmas in reply to one of our Emails... which he hadn't.
I would advise anyone who HAS booked in for xmas to contact the Ribchester Arms to confirm that they actually are booked in.....but obviously not by Email......and not with Phil

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank Splat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

arrived early as table was booked for eight,i asked if they could seat us early as we were so hungry they happily agreed as one table was just leaving which was a bonus, food arrived very quickly so was pretty impressed with speed,also staff are amazing and are so friendly...

Food...food was nice overall but not amazing, i wish the potato cake was homemade rather than a cheap one,was undercooked and way to much blackpudding(whole ring) although it was nice, mustard sauce was thrown all over so presentation wasnt great.
Partner had sauteed mushrooms with parmasan which he rated as one of the best(its the only starter he eats so must be good
Our steak and chips was amazing and cooked exactly how we asked, and then i opted for sticky toffee apple crumble, the flavours were amazing but room for improvement as the crumble was way to stodgy and didnt reallly resent crumble topping.
Would go again though as the staff really are nice and cannot do enough for you, the food is nice just in my opinion could alter for the better, this is a personal opinion and does not reflect upon the restaurant as many people will have different views.
Everything clean and tidy no issues with hygiene and is a lovely place inside,

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews