We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what a great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort
Certificate of Excellence
hampden me
1 review
“Wow what a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

My sons 14th birthday was this weekand.We spent it rafting with northern outdoors.The whole weekand was one he will never forget and niether will I.
We had never been rafting before and after going with them we are looking forword to go again.The people were so nice and really made our stay a life long memory.
Thank you Northern outdoors!

Room Tip: we stayed in a cabin called the widowmaker.All the cabins seemed nice.Some had more things than othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    56
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
84
59
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My boyfriend and I bought a white water rafting trip on groupon or buy with me. And decided to stay for a night because it is about a 3.5-4 hour trip from Boston. Glad we did. It was a lot of fun.
The trip up there is beautiful. Kind of the back roads up through Maine. And it was spring, so it was lush with beautiful flowers. Very nice. It is out in the middle of nowhere though, so be prepared. No cell service and the nearest beer/liquor store, food store is about a 20 minute drive. So come prepared if you want to eat in, stay in.

The resort is very cool. You walk into the main lodge and it is super cute. Big comfy couches, etc. There is a restaurant, bar and a little shop.

When we got there we were nervous because it was our first time there, there were tons of people around and everyone was drenched. So we figured out that everyone had just gotten back from a river trip. So we checked in, the people that work at Northern Outdoors are so nice and helpful and friendly. We felt very at home. Got all checked in, we got our room early. We got a "lodgeominium". It was just for the two of us. But it was cool. There was an upstairs and downstairs. Fridge, sink, etc. So you could stay there with a small family or a few friends and have a great time.
Then we went to have a late lunch/early dinner at the restaurant. It was good. Just decent bar food and great beer. They have their own brewery. So that was a fun plus.
At night they had a band. It was in the main lodge and it was bumpin'! So much fun. I wish that we didn't have to go on the rafting trip the next day, because people were dancing and having a great time. There were young and older people. Super fun.
The next day we went on our white water rafting trip. It was crazy and amazing! Something I think everyone should do!! It was freezing though. It had been a wet, cold spring so...but well worth it. We got back to the lodge and you got a free lunch which was GREAT. A lot of people commented on how large the portions were. It was a great time.
I can't wait to go back. Friends and I are planning a group weekend for next spring. There are campsites, tents, etc. Lots of different types of places to stay within the resort. It could be a lot of fun if you had a bunch of people. I cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmccart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We arrived quite late on a Sunday night and in a downpour. The staff was waiting for us and was very helpful in getting us to our cozy cabin. We're glad we ponied up for the Cabin because the bar in the lodge was still hopping at Midnight. In the morning we had a great breakfast. The instructions were succinct and informative. Once on the rafting trip we felt both thrilled and safe all at the same time. Our guide Dan pointed out things along the way like the Bald Eagle we saw sitting on a tree waiting for his lunch. Even on a rainy day it was a great trip.

Room Tip: Cozy Cabin for sure - the lodge is noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiTown1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We anticipated a rustic escape and Northern Outdoors delivered. White water rafting was great, restaurant was very good with pleasant variety and great on-site brewed beers. Facilities to grill your own food as well.
The Forks is a tiny town with pop of 30 so don't expect to buy groceries in town if you want to grill dinner - you will pass larger supermarkets on the way so plan ahead.
I didn't expect the Maine Ritz, but rooms were clean, and staff were helpful and at times exuberant (especially rafting guides). We stayed in logdominium which had a window A/C unit and heat (for cool sept nights).
My biggest gripe is nothing that could not be remedied with a can of WD40 - the front door squeaked so entering or leaving when kids asleep was a gamble. The double beds in the loft creaked like crazy awakening me up more than once.
Overall, relaxing few days and no major gripes that a little maintenance couldn't fix.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveOfBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed in one of the large North Woods cabins. It is well equipped and easily held 5 couples. We stayed here as "home base" for ATV riding and it suited us fine for this. The restaurant was fine, but service was slow. I liked the many amenities- pool, hot tub, kayaks for Martin Pond, restaurant. We initially had to ask for fresh towels and more toilet paper, but after that second day, this was not an issue for the remaining 3 days. No A.C. did make for "sticky/humid" afternoons and evenings, but it cooled off well at night. The noise from the lumber and pulpwood trucks out on the highway starts around 5 a.m., so make sure you leave a window fan turned on to drown out the noise.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GetGoingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Forks
36.5 km away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
25.9 km away
Bingham Motor Inn & Sports Complex
34.1 km away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
The Sterling Inn
The Sterling Inn
#1 of 1 in Caratunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
29.4 km away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
7.4 km away
Inn by the River
Inn by the River
#1 of 1 in The Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort

Property: Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort
Address: 1771 US Rte 201, The Forks, ME 04985-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > The Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in The Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Outdoors is a year-round adventure resort located in The Forks, Maine, only four hours from Boston. The company pioneered Maine whitewater rafting on the Kennebec, Penobscot, and Dead Rivers. Groups, families, and individuals enjoy affordable, fantastic adventure getaways. Relax at the big main lodge, onsite microbrewery, full service restaurant, 28 trailside and lakeside cabins and cottages year-round. Enjoy whitewater rafting, hiking, fishing, ATV trails, team building retreats, university programs, camping, snowmobile rentals and tours, and direct access to miles of trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Outdoors Hotel The Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing