We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location and cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Detached Cottage with off-street parking and fenced garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Detached Cottage with off-street parking and fenced garden
North Lodge - fenced garden and parking to the left of the house in this picture Double Bedroom with ensuite shower, toilet and washbasin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Detached Cottage with off-street parking and fenced garden
North Lodge - fenced garden and parking to the left of the house in this picture
Double Bedroom with ensuite shower, toilet and washbasin
Dining Room - seating for 4 people, all crockery, cutlery and glassware is provided
Bedroom 2 - ensuite shower room with toilet and washbasin
Dining Room looking through to Living Room
Bedroom 1 (upstairs)
Bedroom 2 (downstairs)
Dining Room looking out to front garden
Kitchen - electric double oven, grill and hob, microwave, dishwasher, kettle, toaster
Living Room - seating for 4 people (1 sofa and 2 armchairs), TV with integrated DVD player.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Finchingfield, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christine...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The cottage has heaps of character and is in a beautiful location in the stunning village of Finchingfield. The cottage is spacious and is very comfortable for a short or long break. We loved how close it was to Cambridge and Ely. For two to four people, it's perfect as there are two lovely bedrooms. The cottage is well equipped with everything you would need including food essentials. A thoughtful touch. Anna provided helpful information and was quick to respond. It was so lovely to spend our first wedding anniversary at the place where we married! We'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2017
Thank you for such a great review. It's always good to know that we have met your expectations, so thank you for taking the time to tell us. If you'd like to come back again we would love to welcome you! Archie & Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mistersad...
1 review
“A perfect weekend.”
Reviewed 20 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We have stayed at the North Lodge cottage belonging to Spains Hall Finchingfield for 8 times in as many years. I book the weekend as a birthday present for my wife each year, as its her favourite place to get away. Booking is easy and everyone there couldn't be more helpful.

We leave our kids with the grandparents and off we go. When we arrive in the village we have lunch in the Fox and then drive just a few minutes to the cottage. It is not overlooked by any others and the nearest building is the wonderful old hall itself.

The rooms in the cottage are nicely decorated and always spotless. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare and cook dinner to be eaten in the cosy dining room.

We always take a DVD box set to watch and have finished it by the time we leave, as neither of us want to venture too far away from the cottage.

So if you're looking for a nice place to relax, in nice surroundings, then North Lodge is for you but please not when we want to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2017
It is always a pleasure to welcome you to North Lodge! It's wonderful to know that despite the passing years you still find the standards and surroundings remain enjoyable, it is our aim to keep everything in great condition! We look forward to your next visit very much. Archie & Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim5525
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Wonderful walks in the morning. Enjoyed our Christmas holiday so very much. Lovely cottage. We could not have been more impressed with the amenities and the cleanliness of the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review! We always do our best to make sure the cottages are lovely and clean for every guest, with a few little things to make your stay easier. We are delighted that we managed to meet your expectations! Please do come again, Archie & Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FellowTra...
1 review
“A must stay location”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

North Lodge is the perfect rural retreat and probably the nicest location in Essex.
The Lodge has a lovely homely feel, is very comfortable and very clean,excellent heating and has everything you need for a short or long stay.There are nice places to eat within walking distance in the very pretty village of Finchingfield.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are delighted you found North Lodge so comfortable. Please do come again soon. Archie & Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0lsa
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The house is set in beautiful grounds, totally stunning. The cottage itself has been done out beautifully, it's very spacious. But the thing that really struck us was the attention to detail. Bread, milk, jams, cereals...the list goes on. Those little things make a world of difference and add to the stay. I can honestly say this is one of the best cottages I have ever stayed in and I've been to a few!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We do try to take care of little things as well as the big stuff - so it's great that we managed to surpass your expectations! Please do come again. Archie & Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing