We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Economical Way to Experience Vail/BC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Christie Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Avon
boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Economical Way to Experience Vail/BC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

It's not on the mountain up in the rarefied air of BC Village or in Vail Village but the Christie Lodge is a good option if you have a time share and want to be economical. Its in the town of Avon in the commercial area just off I-70. A few good restaurants are within walking distance including the Blue Plate across the street (very good.) If you have a car it is very easy to get around to other Avon, Beaver Creek Village, Vail, Miniturn and Edwards restaurants at night. A free bus shuttle stops right in front of the Christie Lodge to bring you up the hill to the base of Beaver Creek ski area - its about a 30 minute trip each way up and down the hill. Not too bad even at 4PM when everyone wants to get down the hill - though you will will likely have to stand with your skis. Again, not bad, but not as sweet as skiing directly to your condo or hotel. We hung out in BC apres skiing for drinks and dinner and then headed down to the Christie around 6 PM (the last bus is around 6:30, I think)

The hotel rooms are suites - smaller than most ski condos I've been in but acceptable. With all our ski stuff strewn around (3 people) it quickly became cluttered but the lodge has tried its best to provide hooks and efficient use of space. The kitchennette is good for breakfasts and snacks - microwave, coffee maker, electric frying pan, dishwasher. The Lodge was in the process of updating all the rooms with new cabinetry, dishes, lights and some other things that were appreciated. Nothing fancy, but new.

There are several indoor and outdoor hot tubs. 1 indoor and 1 outdoor pool. The indoor pools and hot tubs are in the atriums between the rooms and smell like you would expect. Its not the Ritz but its acceptable, again. There are 2 ping pong tables that were always in use apres skiing.

I found the people at the Christie Lodge to be very helpful and pleasant. They certainly made us feel welcome.

Staying at the Christie Lodge worked well for us in that everything was accessible - Avon, BC, Vail, Edwards, Minturn, and a quick early morning getaway to Aspen (now that's where you should go!) The Lodge is functional, clean, inexpensive, has amenities, is centrally located and reasonably comfortable. Not a palace like you would get at the resorts on the mountain but you can hang out at those places during the day and evening and then retreat to the Lodge for bed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgitelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    226
    103
    46
    42
See reviews for
206
190
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Taken in context, this lodge is a great place to stay on a skiing holiday. On a ski holiday, what we wish for mostly is a warm, dry room with a roof over our heads.... and convenient to the ski slopes, food outlets and the stores. Christie Lodge provides all that at a good rate. The free ski bus stops right at the front door and runs at 15 minute intervals. Conversations on the bus are always fun and a great way to meet pleasant people with the same interest in skiing. How good is that?

Then there is a Subway in the lodge itself, with good reasonably priced food available (eg Bob's Place - a must for any Avon visitor!) and sports stores, all within 5 mins walking distance. Not to mention a Super Walmart and Home Depot within 5 mins drive. Makes you wonder why you would pay a fortune to stay at Beaver Creek?!

Their customer service and patience in answering our pre-stay enquiries was second to none. They were friendly and helpful.

Sure, the lodge is not new and it is hardly a 5-star establishment. But as far as I am concerned, the more economical room rate allows me to have a longer ski holiday. And more skiing makes me happier! I would stay at Christie Lodge anytime.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the town rather than I-70
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skis-gitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The rooms are nice but awkward because you walk into the bedroom instead of the living room. Request the back building. It's much quieter. The Avon busses get you everywhere and there are a bunch of restaurants within walking distance (although I prefered a rotisserie chicken from grocery store also close by).

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidikpchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Clean, spacious rooms with kitchenettes. TV in the room made me feel nostalgic, I had one like it in college (I’m 47 years old now). But I wasn’t there to watch TV. Bedroom windows face the courtyard and it can get a little noisy. Bus stops right at the front door. Busses don’t run late, but there is a shuttle stop nearby and shuttles to and from Beaver Creek run until about 2am. I already booked my next stay at Christie.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The lodge is convenient to the slopes - the shuttle stops in front of the hotel. The room was clean, with an odd floor plan - the bed was next to the door, so the hallway noise was loud at times. The living room was away from the hallway, I guess to allow access to the patio, which had the view of a cement wall. These minor issues notwithstanding, the place is a good value in an area known for high priced accommodations. This is definitely designed for a budget traveller. Would recommend staying there if you don't need the Ritz experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DallasFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
3.3 km away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#3 of 19 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
3.0 km away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#9 of 19 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#6 of 19 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.7 km away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
0.4 km away
Seasons at Avon
Seasons at Avon
#7 of 8 in Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christie Lodge

Property: Christie Lodge
Address: 47 E. Beaver Creek Blvd., P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Christie Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christie Lodge is your home to relax and enjoy the breathtaking natural beauty of the surrounding mountains in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Conveniently located in the heart of the Vail Valley, the Christie Lodge in Avon, Colorado offers affordable one and three bedroom suites with easy access to Vail and Beaver Creek Resorts. Complimentary access to wireless internet, free parking and no resort fees create added value in this world class mountain destination. Spacious one bedroom suites average 410 square feet and feature a queen bed, kitchenette, wood-burning fireplace in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Three bedroom suites offer two additional bedrooms containing a queen bed, each with an en suite bathroom. All accommodations offer, two flat screen TV's, a queen pullout sleeper sofa, and a private balcony.Christie Lodge amenities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and four hot tubs. The lodge also provides a variety of activities including a kid's activity center, ping pong tables, and Foosball. Our 24 hour front desk, knowledgeable concierge staff, local in-house sporting goods shop, on-site car rental and complimentary shuttle service to Beaver Creek Resort highlight the services Christie Lodge provides to our guests. Be yourself at the Christie Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Christie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christie Hotel Avon
The Christie Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing