We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel with a view”
Review of Amelie Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amelie Tulum
Ranked #98 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed 18 January 2017

If you are looking for a fancy hotel with all the bells and whistles this might not be the best option. We stayed here for 6 days and the staff was more than friendly. You can't beat a cheap hotel with a room with a view in a great location.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Travis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2016

We did book a standard bungelow just a 2 days before our arrival half November 2015. What a poor welcome and service! The pool was empty, no breakfast or a small bar where you could take a sip. Due to renovation there was no reception desk. The employee who was taking care of the construction was also taking care of handing out the keys. Strange introduction, definitely no warm welcome from a professional crew! The location is perfect, just along the beach, room was ok. Especially if you don't feel for a luxurious hotel. We love to backpack, but we love a friendly and cosy ambience as well... That was not the case when we stayed here. For drinks and fun and food we were forced to find other places nearby!

Room Tip: Just be sure the hotel is not under construction while booking your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Urs40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

The owner and staff were very nice but the place just started to invest to renovate. I hoop that it will work out.
We had a nice time but spend most of our time els ware.
The place is ver y basic and it is named the concrete hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on the 1st floor with Balcony are the best. the cabins have a view on the pool and main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sergiovanloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

I came to tulum in 2013 and stayed right next to this hotel. there was a taco bar in front. everyone was hanging out. the chairs and mats were out for people to relax. the hotel looked updated and clean. This past week it was a completely different story. taco bar was CLOSED. we were the only people staying there. never put out chairs and mats for us. we never had anyone talk to us. forgot to clean room. pool was dirty. no one cleaned the insane amounts of seaweed on the sand. NEVER STAY HERE. STAFF IS NONEXISTENT. DIRTY. NO TACO BAR. i ended up leaving 3 days early, and of course there was no refund given.

Room Tip: rooms are dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

I've stayed in several places in Tulum and I spent six weeks doing some budget traveling all over the Yucatan. This may have been the worst place I stayed in the entire time. No, the second worst. But still. The worst for the price. I even paid low-season prices so I have no idea how I would feel if I'd paid high season prices.

I think it's clear from the reviews that people who get the budget bungalows here aren't happy and the people who get regular rooms in the main building are okay with it. I did not see inside the regular rooms. However, the main reason to find some other hotel is that the beach front of the hotel is very small. Sure, you can walk up and down the beach from here and find whatever spot you want. However, part of what you are paying for at the hotel is to have a place to sit on the beach. This hotel has a few nice hammocks that I enjoyed, but the small beach area was crowded with hotel guests. Other hotels have a much nicer beach setup.

Now to the "bungalows," which are one of the better deals on the beach in Tulum, but definitely not worth it. Tulum is tricky for budget travelers because there is no public transportation between the beach hotels and town. So you have to decide where to stay and then take a taxi between town and beach, or rent a car or bike - not exactly the cheapest. On one trip we stayed here on the beach. On another trip we stayed in town. Town was better. The bungalows here were just depressing - like staying in a crude prison cell. There were cockroaches, but when we mentioned it they didn't believe me, as though I couldn't distinguish between a cockroach and a gecko. Other than having my intelligence and perception insulted, we also had a terrible time sleeping. One room had a cement-block bed base that was noticeably not level, so we were rolling into each other all night. I hate complaining about wi-fi in vacation spots on the beach, but the sun goes down here at 5 pm and there's nothing to do after you've eaten dinner and had a drink or whatever. Walking around is even a bit tricky, because this strip of hotels is off-grid and it's very dark everywhere. At other (more expensive) hotels I've been to in the area it can be romantic or relaxing, but at this place it was just really dull. Thus I am going to complain that the wi-fi was spotty in an off-grid bungalow because for once I would have used it just to feel less like I was in prison. My partner and I spent the evenings tucked into the mosquito net, hoping the cockroaches wouldn't find their way in, watching old videos on the computer. Not what I had imagined for my beach stay.

Another word on cockroaches - I looked it up and these bugs are usually outdoor creatures in this part of the world, not a sign of a bad restaurant. They hang out in piles of wood debris. Sure enough, there were piles of branches and discarded construction materials near our room.

Oh, did I mention that the light was a bare fluorescent bulb over the bathroom sink? you couldn't read by it. Too dim. It did not improve the atmosphere of the place.

The pool was cloudy, not clear or clean looking. I never went in it. You can't tell this from the photos, but the pool is behind the hotel, away from the beach. People did not much use it. I wonder where they even get the water for it - I don't think this hotel is on the city's water supply. Suspicious.

The only up side to the place is that the taco stand outside was pretty good and relatively cheap for the beach.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, get a room in the main building, not the bungalows. If you are a real bud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.1 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 101 in Tulum
627 reviews
6.8 km away
Wish Tulum
Wish Tulum
#81 of 101 in Tulum
33 reviews
6.9 km away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#48 of 101 in Tulum
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Gaia Tulum
Gaia Tulum
#86 of 101 in Tulum
71 reviews
7.2 km away
Pacha Tulum
Pacha Tulum
#51 of 101 in Tulum
233 reviews
5.1 km away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelie Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelie Tulum

Address: Km 8.5 Carretera, Tulum 96400, Mexico (Formerly Parayso Hotel and Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: €109 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amelie Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Small Hotel with ocean front views,garden views, restaurant, bar and common area. Large pool, best beach and location. 24 Rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parayso Hotel Tulum
Parayso Resort Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing