We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
62
84
46
36
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
84
46
36
108
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is all about its location. It is right on one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to.

The hotel is really nice and the staff are incredibly helpful.

We stayed in the top floor room and the balcony is massive and amazing. Very affordable for a beach front balcony. All rooms in the main hotel have beach front balconies except for the bottom floor that opens up to the beach.

The rooms are clean and are serviced every day with free bottled water.

The sheets are not very clean which is a bit creepy but fine. The walls could do with a bit of a clean too.

The staff are very helpful and have bikes you can use for free and they lent us a cooler too as the food is quite expensive around tulum. The supermarket is a bike ride away, as well as the tulum ruins.

There is no spa or restaurant here but they said a bar is opening soon. Restaurants on either side.

The pool is clean and really nice. Nice furniture at pool and beach too.

Basically if you want 5 star or 4 star this is not for you. Tulum is much more relaxed than player del Carmen or cancun and this is reflected in this hotel.
However if you want beautiful beaches and a hotel on the beach that is quiet (no booming bars around) then you will absolutely love this place and extend your time at this hotel like we did

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

While the location on the beach is unbeatable, I wouldn't recommend this place. The power cut out three times during our one night stay (one of the the cuts lasted for over an hour).
Our shower didn't drain properly and the bathroom smelt of sewage. The whole front of the hotel is a building site at the moment, which I appreciate is only temporary, but doesn't help the 'vacation' feel.
And lastly our patio door didn't close or lock properly.
Do not stay here for more than one night - spend a bit more money and stay somewhere nicer in Tulum.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraysohotel, Manager at Amelie Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear NJ26:

Thank you for your review! we take every review and review them we our staff.

We are going through siginficant upgrades throughout our whole hotel. Very shortly, you will see significant improvements throughout our establishment.

We have never had an issue regarding drainage or a similar complaint however we are addressing any of these type of issues and in regards to your door not being able to close properly.

We are confident these issues will be addressed within the next week.

kind regards,
hotel owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Parayso was a very last minute New Year's Eve reservation. The hotel was ok, no staff around much, rooms were plain, but good enough, clean. We had a great, huge balcony and on the beach. The beach is what u go for anyway and it was perfect as usual. The last minute price was still ok and we were even able to negotiate to a lower price.
Room was kind of cute, kitchenette with samll frig. Had a towel animal on the bed each day.
We didn't care about the pool, but it seemed to be in ok condition. The staff didn't speak a lick of english and we never saw, (or cared about) the included breakfast.
They have 3 parking spots and keep the entrance gate locked and are almost always there to let you in.
We got a massage there and it was a good one. Had enough chairs everyday.
For the price and the last minute, it was fine. Nothing weird, just nothing going on really. Don't expect being catered to.

Room Tip: Really did love the Balcony, requestt the upstairs.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasWilddflowerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraysohotel, Owner at Amelie Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear TexasWildflowerr:

Thank you very much for your review. Just a few points to comment, we have a total of 12 parking spots. The second floor and third floor rooms have great views. The first floor has walkup access to the beach. We always recommend the first floor for families with young children due to easy access to the pool and to the beach.

We currently have staff that speak 90% english. We have a receiptionist that speaks fluent english and we have added additional staff to manage our additional rooms.

thank you again TexasWildflowerr! we really appreciate your comments.

Hotel Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The hotel was great, we went for one night and stay for 3 nights specially because of adrian who is so professional and a very nice person. Before we get to this hotel we went to two others in the same area and it was awful, and we were really amazed to find such clean and nice room cheaper than dirty cabanas. We will go back for sure.

L'hôtel est superbe, nous avons vu deux autres près de celui là qui étaient horribles et nous étions étonnée de trouver un hôtel de tel qualité aussi bon marché ! Moins cher que des cabanes à côté sans sdb et dégueulasses. La chambre propre, sent bon, vue sur l'océan. Rien a dire. Nous sommes restés plus car le gérant Adrien était tout simplement super et on se sentait chez nous. Nous reviendront.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anahita x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

These rooms are a good alternative to more rustic cabanas, and super expensive boutique hotel accommodations available on Tulum Playa. Each room has an awesome ocean view balcony, and the hotel is in a perfect location! The pool is murky, but otherwise nice. The beach club is a definite plus, but the bar is seasonal and was not open during our stay. There was 24hr electricity, and when it rained, we stayed dry. The kitchenette was nice as we were able to purchase food at the supermarket, keep it in the cupboard, and eat at the bar. There is no minifridge or coffee maker which would be nice, but I have a feeling you will not find those at any hotel in Tulum.

Why it's only a three...
IMHO just a little more effort would turn this hotel into a gem. Our room was cleaned every day, sort of... in spite of this there were pubic hairs in the shower, critter poop and dead bugs on the floor, and the bathroom trash not changed daily (big deal since you can't flush toilet paper), we were not given fresh towels until we asked, the sheets were stained, and the mattress and pillows were probably 30 years old. A little more attention would go a long way. Also, we had to ask for a mosquito net, which was a must have!!! The staff did accommodate our requests, which we appreciated.

One more thing that would have made a huge difference in the overall quality of our stay is if the hotel had a purified water cooler/heater in the lobby. There was no way for us to make coffee at the hotel and buying it every morning was a pain. We also had to make sure we had enough bottled water... it would be a nice touch if Parayso would provide this to their guests.

Overall we had a nice stay, but I would think twice about recommending this hotel. Tulum is great though because the rustic accommodations keep the cake-eaters out, but high demand and rising popularity of this hip boho beach are driving prices up along with guest expectations... If you want clean and fancy, stay at a resort!!!

Room Tip: ask for a mosquito net!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews