We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky found in Tulum”
Review of Amelie Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amelie Tulum
Ranked #99 of 102 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed at Parayso for about a week with my boyfriend at the end of July 2012. We didn't book in advance, we drove there, asked around and checked out a few places and Ron, the manager gave us the best deal, the room in the middle with the best front sea view you could imagine for much less than other places. The beach is great, the beach bar small with nice and friendly service. Ron is always ready to give advice on things to do and where to go to eat genuine mexican food avoiding tourist traps. The breakfast was very good too, with your choice of freshly made eggs with veggies and fresh fruit or fresh fruit, yogurt and granola. The juice wasn't good though, the cheap "from concentrate" kind, but overall everything else was nice and yes we had to pay separately for it, but it was worth it and good value.
I know they are going through refurbishments at the moment and I am not sure if Ron is still there, I was supposed to write this review back in August, when I was back from my trip, but life is busy! I am sure after the renewal process this place will be great because it has a lot of potentials, but at the moment if you can bare the "unfinished" touch is a good deal. Our room was very nice, they gave us a big container of filtered water and the bathroom was simple and functional, not luxury, but clean and simple.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea and have great view and outdoor area, the best room is on the first floor in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urdigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is all about its location. It is right on one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to.

The hotel is really nice and the staff are incredibly helpful.

We stayed in the top floor room and the balcony is massive and amazing. Very affordable for a beach front balcony. All rooms in the main hotel have beach front balconies except for the bottom floor that opens up to the beach.

The rooms are clean and are serviced every day with free bottled water.

The sheets are not very clean which is a bit creepy but fine. The walls could do with a bit of a clean too.

The staff are very helpful and have bikes you can use for free and they lent us a cooler too as the food is quite expensive around tulum. The supermarket is a bike ride away, as well as the tulum ruins.

There is no spa or restaurant here but they said a bar is opening soon. Restaurants on either side.

The pool is clean and really nice. Nice furniture at pool and beach too.

Basically if you want 5 star or 4 star this is not for you. Tulum is much more relaxed than player del Carmen or cancun and this is reflected in this hotel.
However if you want beautiful beaches and a hotel on the beach that is quiet (no booming bars around) then you will absolutely love this place and extend your time at this hotel like we did

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

While the location on the beach is unbeatable, I wouldn't recommend this place. The power cut out three times during our one night stay (one of the the cuts lasted for over an hour).
Our shower didn't drain properly and the bathroom smelt of sewage. The whole front of the hotel is a building site at the moment, which I appreciate is only temporary, but doesn't help the 'vacation' feel.
And lastly our patio door didn't close or lock properly.
Do not stay here for more than one night - spend a bit more money and stay somewhere nicer in Tulum.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraysohotel, Manager at Amelie Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear NJ26:

Thank you for your review! we take every review and review them we our staff.

We are going through siginficant upgrades throughout our whole hotel. Very shortly, you will see significant improvements throughout our establishment.

We have never had an issue regarding drainage or a similar complaint however we are addressing any of these type of issues and in regards to your door not being able to close properly.

We are confident these issues will be addressed within the next week.

kind regards,
hotel owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Parayso was a very last minute New Year's Eve reservation. The hotel was ok, no staff around much, rooms were plain, but good enough, clean. We had a great, huge balcony and on the beach. The beach is what u go for anyway and it was perfect as usual. The last minute price was still ok and we were even able to negotiate to a lower price.
Room was kind of cute, kitchenette with samll frig. Had a towel animal on the bed each day.
We didn't care about the pool, but it seemed to be in ok condition. The staff didn't speak a lick of english and we never saw, (or cared about) the included breakfast.
They have 3 parking spots and keep the entrance gate locked and are almost always there to let you in.
We got a massage there and it was a good one. Had enough chairs everyday.
For the price and the last minute, it was fine. Nothing weird, just nothing going on really. Don't expect being catered to.

Room Tip: Really did love the Balcony, requestt the upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasWilddflowerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraysohotel, Owner at Amelie Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear TexasWildflowerr:

Thank you very much for your review. Just a few points to comment, we have a total of 12 parking spots. The second floor and third floor rooms have great views. The first floor has walkup access to the beach. We always recommend the first floor for families with young children due to easy access to the pool and to the beach.

We currently have staff that speak 90% english. We have a receiptionist that speaks fluent english and we have added additional staff to manage our additional rooms.

thank you again TexasWildflowerr! we really appreciate your comments.

Hotel Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The hotel was great, we went for one night and stay for 3 nights specially because of adrian who is so professional and a very nice person. Before we get to this hotel we went to two others in the same area and it was awful, and we were really amazed to find such clean and nice room cheaper than dirty cabanas. We will go back for sure.

L'hôtel est superbe, nous avons vu deux autres près de celui là qui étaient horribles et nous étions étonnée de trouver un hôtel de tel qualité aussi bon marché ! Moins cher que des cabanes à côté sans sdb et dégueulasses. La chambre propre, sent bon, vue sur l'océan. Rien a dire. Nous sommes restés plus car le gérant Adrien était tout simplement super et on se sentait chez nous. Nous reviendront.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anahita x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
6.8 km away
Hotel Posadas Addy
Hotel Posadas Addy
#98 of 102 in Tulum
58 reviews
3.1 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#16 of 102 in Tulum
630 reviews
6.8 km away
Wish Tulum
Wish Tulum
#82 of 102 in Tulum
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Gaia Tulum
Gaia Tulum
#86 of 102 in Tulum
71 reviews
6.9 km away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#46 of 102 in Tulum
383 reviews
7.2 km away
Pacha Tulum
Pacha Tulum
#52 of 102 in Tulum
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelie Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelie Tulum

Address: Km 8.5 Carretera, Tulum 96400, Mexico (Formerly Parayso Hotel and Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: €110 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amelie Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Small Hotel with ocean front views,garden views, restaurant, bar and common area. Large pool, best beach and location. 24 Rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parayso Hotel Tulum
Parayso Resort Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing