We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch”
Review of Cabanas Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Topeka
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“top notch”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed for a week in February 2012. It was very clean, perfectly located on the most beautiful beach I have ever been to. The staff, Pati, Alex and Rafael were wonderful. Breakfast is provided, served outside. The restaurant "El Bistro" is fabulous. Do not miss the "tamarind margaritas" there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    203
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
137
499
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramona, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My family stayed at Cabanas Tulum in February, 2012. We booked for one night, but rearranged our schedule to return later in the week. This is a wonderful hotel. It is in a beautiful setting, well designed, affordable and comfortable. The staff at the front dest, Pati and Alex, and the staff at the restaurant, Rosa and Enrique, were exceptional in service and in friendliness. They made our stay so much better. The rooms were beach front. The water was multicolored. The sand was white. It was a wonderful experience. The restaurant excellent. In fact, I had coconut shrimp twice!! The best I ever had. I am not simply writing this to impress the hotel staff. I am writing because it was truly a wonderful hotel, a great restaurant and a magnificent experience. We plan to go back in August. I assure you that if you stay at Cabanas Tulum, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, but the beach front are the best. There is another class of rooms that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaRamona_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My two children (ages 17 and 21) and I just came back from a trip to Tulum. We had a wonderful stay at Cabanas Tulum. The incredibly beautiful beach was just steps from our room. It was was like a dream come true to be able watch, listen to and swim in the ocean at all hours of the day. We were able to watch the sun rise and set everyday from our own little terrace. Gorgeous palm trees in front of our room provided welcomed shelter from the sun during the middle of the day.

Our room was simple and very clean and the hotel staff was outstanding. They all worked hard to make us comfortable and welcome. The front desk staff was able to hook us by with a wonderful, informative tour of Sian Ka'an and on a different day with a kind, reliable taxi driver who took us to Ek Balaam and Valladolid. Although it was hard to leave the beach, it was well worth traveling out of the hotel zone to learn more about this beautiful area.

My kids enjoyed borrowing the free bikes and riding around the area exploring. Having a plentiful, healthful breakfast on a gorgeous beach included with the room was a great way to start each day. Booking and paying for the room was easy and well organized, and Patrizia from the front desk was very generous about answering all of my email questions before we got there.

Great vacation, great hotel, great people!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was my third trip to Tulum and found this hotel to be fantastic. The rooms were very comfortable and staff were charming. Beach access is par for Tulum which is to say OUTSTANDING. The beach side cocktail service was pure paradise, and the beach beds were the ultimate in luxury.

This was the most modern place I stayed in Tulum and found the value great. I think it was significantly cheaper than the more posh places, but we never wanted for anything.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benastor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Cabanas Tulum is now one of the best properties on the beach and you can expect to see it climb in the ratings game. They already are on the best part of the beach, Now, they have added two swimming pools, great beach landscaping, new modern deluxe rooms complete with air conditioning and plenty of hot water and a soon to be completed yoga center and reception area. Add to that great management (Patti) and hard working people and you have a winner. If you look at the reviews on TA carefully, you will see that most of the lower scores came from construction related criticism or the old property. Look at the new pictures and you will find a hotel that you will be telling you friends about.

Starting with the beach. If you walk the beach like we do, you will find that you can walk great distances and you will also discover that Cabanas Tulum is on the best part of the beach. First of all, it is pretty much in the center of all of the beach resorts which makes it easy to get to the restaurants in either direction. The beach is wider here and has beautiful soft white sand both on the beach and in the water (no rocks). There is so much room that you will be able to enjoy your privacy. Many of the other hotels look like a cruise ship with chairs set side by side. The far ends of this beach strip has very narrow beaches and are loaded with washed up sea weed to the point where you can not even walk. We felt sorry for the people that booked what looked like nice hotels jammed together due to little or no beach. Cabanas Tulum got a little bit of washed up sea weed but they clean it up immediately.

As everyone has already said on TA, the included breakfasts here at Le Bistro are great. You can choose a table right on the sand and the full breakfast menu offers many choices, all good. We saw many people coming from the other hotels to eat here. Some earlier reviews said the service was slow but it was quite the opposite. The service staff literally run to your table or beach chairs to service you and the coffee, juice and food came out very quickly with plenty of refills on the coffee.

Our room, deluxe beach front, in the new section was perfect. True, as some have said, there are not a lot of room furnishings but the modern look and easy to keep clean room was perfect for us. There is a closet with several shelves for the clothing. There is no dresser with drawers (I read a complaint or two) but we find that is common in beach locations as drawers can get mildew and/or hide critters. The bathroom has twin sinks and the shower had a modern rain shower head. The view from our ground floor room looking at the beach and sea was the best view from our bed that we have ever had. We would open up the drapes in the morning, put sunglasses on and truly not want to get out of bed. What a way to start the day.

The property is well maintained and Patti and Alex were always there to assist in any need you had. Fresh towels and linens were constantly supplied. It was a pleasure staying here and we will be back.

Room Tip: The Beach Front Deluxe Room #1 is right next to the restaurant and bar so avoid if you want more pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baja1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.2 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
2.7 km away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,285 reviews
0.1 km away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 96 in Tulum
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.4 km away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 96 in Tulum
867 reviews
2.9 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 96 in Tulum
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tulum

Property: Cabanas Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, KM 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tulum
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our beach front and Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms have breathtaking sea views from the terrace, while our garden view rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. Connecting rooms available on request. Enjoy free breakfast either at our health food restaurant Fresco's or Ziggy's, on site Spa, free bike use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing