We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disaster”
Review of Hotel El-Crucero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El-Crucero
Ranked #91 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Hotel El Crucero was a place I wish I hadn't stayed. Poor facilities, no air - con. Dirty.My room had a bed which was dirty and old. The shower just provided cold water. Food not provided. The owner was un-friendly.In Tulum.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sheilahunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2016

Hostel is reasonably priced and the free breakfast (with room) was actually pretty decent. The location is further from town than I would've liked (2-3km), and about the same distance from the ruins, so the location isn't quite ideal for either. However, the free bike rentals help alleviate this, and for some that may outweigh the location issue.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NordAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

This place was soo cheap and I got far more than what I paid for. I stayed in the female dorm. It was basic but clean. No dirt on the floor and I was provided with clean sheets. They fed us a really nice omelette breakfast with fresh tropical fruit and coffee. Bikes were part of the deal and we just took a bike and rode around Tulum. Also, they have a BBQ on Sunday night with really nice grilled chicken, tortillas, and grilled vegetables. All of that for just $12!!!! Amazing! Highly HIGHLY recommend. Oh, and the guy who runs the place, the one from Mexico city with the beautiful blue eyes, was so friendly and helpful. Provided us with insider information and free maps. Free wifi too.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alissanjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Hostel crucero is very chill, it is a nice place to sleep, take shower and stay close to tulum ruins, its great they include breakfast and bike so you can ride to downtown or beach. The staff is very kind and it was great to meet Orlando and Antonio the owners

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank alvmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Tulum is not a place with good bargain hotels. Deal with it.
So I wanted a 4 sleeping room with a car park and breakfast included and within walking distance from the Tulum ruins. Picky I know...
Ok so I didn't expect much and risked it.
Did you see the houses where the majority of the mexicans live in while travelling around Mexico - the ones built with cement blocks and a black plastic water tank on top? Well you will be sleeping in one of them here. Maybe not so shacked up as the chicanos but you are paying European prices here... Luckily it wasn't mosquito season yet... Slept with the fan on because the a/c rained on the bed. Half way through my trickle shower the water ran out. You eat basic breakfast in the garden.
The jungle birds make such a racket all night and specially in the morning that sleep is only out of sheer exhaustion (after 4 days of driving and ruin visiting...).
But at least your car is safe and you walk to the ruins!
Payment is in cash only and they don't charge you with VAT tax like normal hotels because they don't pay taxes (good for me...). And don't forget to tip the cook and have a coco frio on the side because they need the money more than you do.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
19.7 km away
Hotel Palma Real
Hotel Palma Real
#95 of 101 in Tulum
53 reviews
1.2 km away
Gaia Tulum
Gaia Tulum
#86 of 101 in Tulum
71 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Posadas Addy
Hotel Posadas Addy
#96 of 101 in Tulum
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Rancho Tranquilo
Rancho Tranquilo
#65 of 101 in Tulum
134 reviews
1 km away
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
#79 of 101 in Tulum
173 reviews
1.7 km away
Uolis Nah
Uolis Nah
#76 of 101 in Tulum
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El-Crucero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El-Crucero

Address: Carretera Tulum-Cancun, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: €40 - €59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel El-Crucero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Crucero Hotel Tulum
Hotel El Crucero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing