We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous La Vita e Bella in Tulum, Mexico”
Review of Poc-na Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poc-na Tulum
Ranked #64 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Santa Barbara, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous La Vita e Bella in Tulum, Mexico”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a GREAT place to relax! Totally charming... Not a resort, not really a hotel,
The only larger building is he restaurant, Then there are about 30 Bungalows of different sizes, some facing the ocean all with thatched roofs. I had Bungalow #3, one of 3 larger ones on the south end with the ocean view, which had a king-size bed and a double one, plus a bathroom & small closet.
The whole place is on beautiful white sand, with stone lined paths. The staff is totally wonderful! Griselda is an excellent house-keeper who makes incredible towel sculptures, a different one each day! The restaurant is very good, with lots of pasta dishes, pizzas & seafood.(It's owned by an Italian couple)
I stayed longer than I planned! The only problem for me is that it's really windy in the winter
(I went late January) and the surf is too strong for me. (I'm 64 & partly handicapped)
It's a Lonely Planet place, so I got to meet a lot of other single travelers.
They also have a number of day-trips available and have snorkling gear to rent.
i highly recommend this place for a terrific getaway!

Room Tip: The best bungalows are #1 - 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Briana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    155
    67
    39
    38
See reviews for
84
307
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This review is only for restaurant and God given property.
After a family trip to the Tulum ruins, we came to this beautiful place that is easy to be described but must be felt with all the senses. Upon arrival at the parking lot, we went through the vegetation and white through soft sand of a powder to the restaurant. The interior is comfortable and completely natural, and the sandy floor and furniture made of natural materials, arranged in mexican -italian way.
  Only when we stepped onto the terrace, we saw the beauty of the location. Beautifully aquamarin - turquoise sea and soft white sand that extends to both sides and in the width. The view that then you can imagine with a postcard view of the mark is so distinctive Caribbean coast. After accommodation to the sea side restaurant we ordered a pizzas and cocktails that are soon to come with the obligatory mexican snacks. Food was plentiful and tasty and cocktails are great and strong. After the meal we were the person responsible for public relations surveyed about services and locations. Taking care of guests is their main goal - bravo!
In the evening our waiter was asked several times if everything was all right and whether we are missing something - a beautiful tradition and the way that the customer pays any attention.
  Slowly relaxing in this respect in you wakes message: This is heaven on earth! My wife could not repress feelings and was told that this was her best trip in her life! (Imagine the coincidence as it is a restaurant and property called La Vita E Bella – yes in this place).
 This is our trip even more weight because we really were in paradise.
We thank the friendly staff and if you ask us whether they would return to and answer is definitely YES! , we will return to blink an eye at this heavenly place. Hola!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NenadSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We initially booked 2 nights at La vita e bella, but ended up staying for almost a week. The place is lovely, soft white sand and a beautiful view if you get a seaview bungalow (which is a MUST)
We had bungalow number 10, which in my opinion is the best one as it is right at the end, facing away from the others and you get the feeling of being the only ones in the area. The bungalow was great, very romantic and with a hammock outside on the porch. It was always clean and the maids made different cute animals with the towels every day. Breakfast is also really good here (included in the price) and the staff in the reception were really sweet and helpful. All in all a great place, we are definately coming back.

Room Tip: Sea view bungalow number 10 is facing away from the others, in my opinion the best bungalow they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExciteMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My husband, son and I had a wonderful 4 night stay in a beachfront Bungalow. I loved our private porch with hammock and chairs. The beach was perfect, plenty of elbow room between groups of loungers. Our bungalow was very clean, spacious, and we found the beds quite comfortable, although a few more shelves or drawers for belongings would have been nice. The staff was helpful, particularily Jean Luis (owner?) when you needed them, but otherwise left one alone which I prefer. As English speakers we were definitely in the minority but it wasn't a problem and I enjoyed the chance to practice my spanish and Italian. Of the 3 breakfast choices (included in room rate)-- the Mexican breakfast is definitely the "right choice". We were very happy, but if you want a lot of activities, spa treatments and a hip scene, go elsewhere (or just walk a few hundred yards up the beach and have a drink at Mezzanine. My only real gripe was the WIFI signal was not strong enough for me use for wifi calling on my cellphone, although it was fine for email and internet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pitbulloftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed here for seven nights in early January 2012. We had reserved a "Junior for 2 Sea View" but they "upgraded" us to a "2 Bedroom Sea View non-Beachfront bungalow." When we asked them why they moved us, the staff claimed they didn't and that the room we were staying in was in fact the Junior for 2. This is strange since it had 2 rooms and 3 beds which is a bit much for a room supposedly for only 2 people. The reason this was a problem is because our new room was in the back, on the second floor of the maintenance shed. This means that we got to hear lots of sawing noises at all hours as well as water deliveries which included loud pumping noise for 45 mins a day, right in the afternoon when we returned from the beach. To its credit, the beach was amazing and definitely the nicest beach we saw in Tulum. The restaurant is ok: the included breakfast was great but there were extremely limited lunch options (just a burger, a chicken sandwich and pizza) which was a bit annoying since it would have been nice to just remain on the beach and eat at the hotels restaurant instead of going into town (which i highly recommend, both for better food and value). The staff was a mix - some were very helpful and friendly, some were not. I would recommend this place if you can afford the beachfront rooms but the noise we heard in the sea-view rooms made our stay less then ideal.

Room Tip: don't stay in "sea-view" rooms 20, 21, 22, or 23. These are all right above the mainte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleJerry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun11, Public Relations Manager at Poc-na Tulum, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
We want to thank this guests for his review. We are glad that he enjoyed our beach and restaurant breakfast. The guests were upgraded to a larger main bedroom with a second bedoom with 2 beds. The Sea View non-beachfront Rooms all have ocean views from behind the beachfront bungalows. This is the largest Sea View non beachfront room. We are sorry that the rooms was too large for him. He may have shut the door to the second bedroom for less space.

The La Vita e Bella Hotel lunch menu contains over 50 different items. We have a salad menu with 8 different offerings. We have a pasta menu with 10 different offerings. We have seafood: fresh whole fish fried, grilled, cooked in garlic sauce or Tiki Chic (a Yucatan specialty) or filleted with similar cooking options or tell us how you want it cooked.

In addition, we have a delicious seafood platter with 6 different types of seafood for 2 people or calamari and octopus prepared in various fashions. Of course, we have shrimp and langosta. We also have 10 different Mexican dishes like tacos and fajitas. We have various types of sandwiches and hamburgers. We have a variety of beef and chicken dishes. We also have an extensive pizza menu of 20 types. These are on the lunch menu. We are not sure how the guests came up with a limited lunch menu. Possibly, he did not ask to see a menu.

We are sorry he was disturbed by the fresh water tanker pumping sounds in the afternoon when he returned from the beach. He did not let us know of the situation or we would have changed the water service delivery time to an earlier time when he was not in his room or changed his room if the hotel was not full. We try very hard to make our guests happy with their stay. We will be aware of this situation in the future.

For a 2 day period there were wood repairs that required the use of a saw. Construction workers used a saw between the hours of 10 AM and 4 PM. They stopped for lunch for an hour at 12 PM. Again, the guests did not make the manager or anyone in reception aware that he was disturbed or in his room.

Hotels are not in the business of disturbing guests. We encourage guests of any hotel to complain to the management about a problem while they are at the hotel. That way the hotel can resolve the issue and alleviate the annoyance so the guests can enjoy their vacation.

Thank you.

Publioc Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 km away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#72 of 95 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.8 km away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.9 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#27 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#18 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 km away
El Paraiso Tulum
El Paraiso Tulum
#14 of 81 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Diamante K
Hotel Diamante K
#30 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poc-na Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poc-na Tulum

Property: Poc-na Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum, a Boca Paila, km 1.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Poc-na Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the beauty of our hotel, "Pocna" (A mayan name for a Hotel according to my neighbor), a handcrafted place in the middle of nature, located on the most beautiful beach of Tulum, Mexico, created and designed to soround you with the exotic nature that only Mexican Caribbean can deliver.Come find the natural beauty of Caribbean Sea, virgin beaches, jungle flora and fauna, all mixed in a rustic blend, but with all the comfort of an exclusive hotel, designed to let you enjoy a vacation in paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Vita e Bella Hotel Tulum
La Vita e Bella Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing