We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$286
US$262
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pacha Tulum(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$131
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 51% below average rates

The price you found is 51% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$458/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Coco Tulum(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$327
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$348
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$901
US$878
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (981)
Filter reviews
981 results
Traveller rating
842
111
17
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
842
111
17
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstom's mapyucatan outdoorsdetailed maprooftop patiogave us a mapsmall kitchenettecoffee makerpurified watersitting areahotel ownertowel animalsevery morningmexican breakfastair conditioningtulum townrestaurants and shopstaxi ride
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 981 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We chose to stay at Posada Luna del Sur based on the Trip Advisor ranking as we were going to Tulum for the first time the week between Christmas and New Year's and wanted a more affordable option than the beach hotels. Our family of 4 had 2 rooms for 8 nights. The rooms didn't connect but were next to each other. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, with working ac, and have a kitchen and small balcony. The wifi worked in both of our rooms (not guaranteed in every room). The breakfast that was included was very good and service very friendly.

Tom's map really was amazing-he gives everyone an annotated map of Tulum with his recommendations for restaurants and beach clubs, which helped us choose where to go each day. He also has a list of activities that he will book for you-our sunset kayaking tour of Sian Kaan and cooking class were both experiences of a lifetime (though the Chichen Itza tour was only ok-I would consider going there without a guide to save money as we went to a mediocre restaurant in Valladolid and didn't learn much from the guide). We also had the hotel arrange our airport transportation which was great.

If you go during the week between Christmas and New Year's as we did, make sure to get to the beach clubs by 10am or you are likely not to get chairs (Tom tells you on the map to get there early). For beach clubs, we liked Coco and Ziggy and Zebra. We preferred the beaches away from the ruins as there are no boats allowed, so it was much quieter. Also, we would add Cenzotle to the list of recommended beach restaurants as that was our favorite meal all week (it wasn't on the map). If you want to eat at Hartwood (and we hear it is worth it), make sure you reserve one month in advance during high season.

It is very easy to get a taxi to and from the beach and costs only about $5 each way (agree on a price before you get in). The traffic got very heavy as we got closer to New Year's starting around dinner time, and though the trip to the beach only takes 10 minutes with no traffic (depending on how far you want to go down the beach road), the trip back after dinner the week we were there could take more than an hour.

Next time we go to Tulum, we will try to go in the off season and stay on the beach (when it is more affordable) to avoid all the taxi rides, but if we ever stay in town again, we would absolutely return to Posada Luna del Sur. We felt very safe there and enjoyed walking to the great restaurants and shops that are in the town. Great fruit stand around the corner, hip tasty burrito place one block away, and great place for fresh fruit smoothies a couple of blocks downs. Get your cash at the banks in town as the ATMs near the beach ran out of money the week we were there and many restaurants only take case. Thanks Tom for being such a great host! Our kayak guide confirmed that Tom is the best in town!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelerdocmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom E, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

We thank you very much for posting such a glowing review! We really appreciate the positive feedback.

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate it.

We are thrilled you and your daughter had a great trip at our little inn. We pride ourselves on the value, cleanliness and the quality for price. We are cheaper than any other hotel in town, yet we deliver a quality stay! :)

Please come back and see us sooner than later!

Warm Wishes,
Tom & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

This hotel is perfect for a more authentic experience of Tulum. It is in a neighborhood right off the main avenue of Tulum. Just a quick walk to the many dining options in town. The bus station is a ten minute walk. The hotel is very centrally located while in a quiet neighborhood away from the noise. If you are looking for a trendy, party hotel then this is definitely not the place to stay. If you desire a tranquil environment, an amazing breakfast that is served on a rooftop patio and an extremely detailed list of recommendations from Tom, the owner, then this is the place to stay! The rooms are very comfortable and big. It is located in a typical neighborhood, it is not a sketchy neighborhood at all. Some of the best, authentic dining option are just around the corner. I will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank delfinadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom E, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hello delfinadm,

We thank you very much for posting such a glowing review! We really appreciate the positive feedback. Your review is valuable to future TripAdvisor members and travelers alike! The truth lives at TripAdvisor!

We agre, that this hotel is not located in a 'sketchy' neighborhood, rather an authentic Mexican neighborhood, which could be a culture shock to newer travelers. Thanks for pointing this out :)

Please come back and see us sooner than later!
Warm wishes,
Tom & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Such a great stay at Posada del Luna and I have to say, my favorite breakfast during my entire trip was at this hotel - the huevos rancheros in the included breakfast restaurant was unbelievable!

The room was nice and large and very clean with comfortable beds. The hotel offers free parking (we drove so we found this very convenient) and there is always someone at the desk in front which made me and my belongings very safe. The rooms comes with a safe inside.

The hotel is a good 5-10 minute walk from the main area of downtown Tulum, the walk is very safe with people always out and about.

The only thing to note if you're sensitive to smells - a lot of Tulum hotels is based off of a septic tank system. This means that there are a lot of strong odors coming from the bathroom. This is not a negative on the hotel because this is not something that can be helped but just something to be mindful of when visiting Tulum.

I will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank haejink7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom E, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hello Haekink7!

We thank you very much for posting such a glowing review! We really appreciate the positive feedback.

During the time you stayed with us, your drain had some hard water and debris that wasn't draining properly. This was a one-off episode and we apologize for the smells. The issue was fixed the same day and again, we apologize. Our septic tank uses the best, most efficient and eco friendly technology in Mexico; an Aerobic Treatment Unit (ATU). We can assure you this smell was not from the septic tank, again, rather it was a simple fix of water not property draining. The issue appeared to be a former guests long hair, that had clogged the drain.

Thanks for staying with us, we hope you can come back sooner than later!
Warm wishes,
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We stayed at Posada Luna Del Sur over Thanksgiving, and it was exceptional as usual. We loved exploring the map that Tom left in the room, and enjoyed our breakfasts under the palapa on the top floor. There was always someone manning the front desk, and it felt very safe and protected.
We always love staying here- thank you!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank becky8483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom E, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Hi Becky!

Thanks so much for your review, it is much appreciated!

Thanks so much for staying with us once again-- I think it is the fifth or sixth time you have stayed with us and we are forever grateful for your loyalty!


As Tulum slowly but surely becomes the "Brooklyn" of Mexico, the prices start to hike: hotels and airbnbs alike. We believe in still offering a clean and value orientated alternative to the overpriced beach spots. Some people don't understand that not only does the beach range from $350-1000 per night, it lacks simple amenities! When I say simple, I mean stuff like fresh water (don't shower with salt water its not enjoyable), hot water, AC, reliable internet, breakfast, etc.

Stay with us and spend $5 to cab it up to the beach, the smart choice! :)

Thanks again for your review and hopefully you can return again one day soon!

Best Wishes,
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

The place is clean and with friendly staff. Location is not very nice. While is not too far from the restaurants area in downtown Tulum, the street is not in a nice area. The breakfast is very good but they could give some fruit to make it better. We were not told we had a key to enter the gate closed after 11:00. We stayed out for 20 minutes banging the door until somebody came.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank earthforourkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom E, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Hi Earthforourkids,

Thanks for your feedback

The street the hotel is located on is a quaint Mexican residential street. We are not sure what you mean by " is not in a nice area." This is Tulum, a beautiful and enchanting town, although it is still a developing town and it might not be like your home town, in terms of the presentation, we disagree that it is not in a nice area, as this would mean the all of Tulum is not in a nice area. A lot travelers are in a state of "culture shock," because they are not used to the new areas around them, we think one should embrace this. Guests are welcomed to look on google maps for a proper view of the street, which again, is just a normal residential street.

Our breakfast has been praised by over 900 reviews and still remains a highlight of many of our guests. Adding fruit would not change this, as it is already what we think, in our humble opinion, the best in town. We have perfected our 6 dish selection to represent what a Mexican breakfast should be (no fruit!) :)

Lastly, when you check-in, there is a welcome note, which explains the front door situation. We are a 12 room boutique hotel, with 24 hr security (rare in Tulum) so sometimes our front door man is upstairs tending to other responsibilities, such as cleaning, etc. You have two keys on your key set for this very reason, which again, was explained on the welcome letter (next tot he key set) when you checked in. Furthermore, our security is only allowed to leave the front reception in 5 minute blocks.

We thank you for your review and we do value it.

Best wishes!
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews