We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveller rating
355
195
50
40
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
195
50
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews que fresco small beachfront live music every night beach front great live music laid back mosquito net road noise ocean view fish tacos playa del carmen beach road watch the sunrise no air conditioning guacamole sound of the waves tulum town
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 666 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

My husband and I stayed at Zamas to celebrate our one-year wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed the property, overall vibe, staff, and great food. It was completely relaxing, quiet, and very centrally located within the beach road area. It's a quick bike ride or cab into the pueblo (downtown Tulum) and also easy to get to the end of the beach road to handfuls of great restaurants and beaches. The staff was incredibly friendly and attentive, and there were fun events organized each night at the restaurant/beach area (live music or movie nights!).

We really loved our stay at Zamas and will definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: The Beachfront room was literally steps from the water. So beautiful to wake up to that every morning and go to bed with the ocean waves.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank _cathday16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAMASHotel, Manager at Zamas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hola! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about ZAMAS online. We appreciate your beautiful sentiment and kind words. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, and that the vibe, staff, and great food made for such a wonderful stay.

It is our goal at ZAMAS to make our guests feel like family, and to meet their every need. We're so happy to hear we were able to make your stay magical!

From all of our team here at ZAMAS (Miguel says an extra special hello!), thank you for visiting ZAMAS and we hope to see you again very soon!

My best,
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Post-cenotes visit for lunch at this place - oceanfront dining was amazing and so were the drinks. We wandered the property a bit and fell in love with the rustic yet approachable vibe. Loved it and looking forward to a longer return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sktpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

ZAMAS is the perfect escape: top-notch service, fun and lively decor, and family-run authenticity on a unique beach cove setting. Delicious, accessible food at the restaurant for all times of day. Clean, comfortable rooms and beds. Refreshing and well-designed hotel pool. Excellent local recommendations from concierge.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank simonecshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I went for four days and could not be happier with the outcome and stay. The delightful family that runs Zamas is extremely approachable and knows this area inside out. They speak multiple languages, have lived in tulum for 20+ years, and treat each guest as if they are part of their own family ( they will book everything for you, including exclusive restaurants).The rooms were immaculate, cool, and spacious. Beach access is incomparable, especially given Mexi Divers (water excursion company) is located across the street and departs from the Zamas beach. Zamas is not only a hotel, it is also top restaurant ( enter the delicious ribs, tacos, guac, jicama salad, mole, and LIVE MUSIC). Every night at tulum is like a free concert of local talent of all different genres. Long story short this place is a gem and in my option caters to a couples, friend groups, and families alike.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaB2653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

My husband and 2 children (aged 21 and 18) recently spent 12 days at Zama's. It was our first visit to Mexico. After having done some research we decided that Tulum was the place we wanted to spend the bulk of our holiday (we did spend 4 days in Mexico City prior to arriving in Tulum). We wanted somewhere that felt authentically Mexican and Zama's was perfect. The reception staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful, giving us loads of tips as far as things to do in the area and other places to eat as well. We had a large ocean facing room near the pool which was very comfortable, immaculately clean and perfect for our family. Our favourite member of staff during our stay was the lovely housekeeper who cleaned our room perfectly and provided us, most days, with the most incredible towel art we have seen. We began to look forward to going back to our room every afternoon to see what he had created.

We enjoyed all our meals at Zama's. Sitting on the terrace at the front of the hotel was literally the most perfect place to be in Tulum in August. It has the most beautiful view and in August there is a coastal breeze which helps in the stifling heat and also, we weren't eaten by mosquitoes, which is a real problem in Tulum. There was carefully chosen, atmospheric music most evenings, The restaurant staff were excellent.

While we were there a tropical storm hit the area which was rather alarming but all the staff responded in a very calm way so we were not at all worried. The staff were really helpful as far as advising us of things we could do in the bad weather and it only really lasted a day so wasn't a problem. The beach was a huge mess after the storm had hit and they arranged for extra staff to clear it up as quickly as possible, so the holiday makers staying there weren't inconvenienced at all.

A few of our favourite things to do in Tulum (apart from just staying put at Zama's) were - happy hour at the Sunset Lounge at Mateos, ice-cream at La Campanella in Tulum town and dinner at Kitchen Table.

Thank you to everyone at Zama's for helping make it a memorable holiday for us. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Ocean facing room was perfect for a family of four
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVER1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews