We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful cabanas and nice food”
Review of Zamas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zamas
Ranked #16 of 102 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and had the beachfront cabana closest to the restuarant which was gorgeous, beautifully decorated, and huge. I was worried it would be noisy, but it wasn't.
The rooms now have electricity but you can't use hairdryers etc so we had bad hair the whole time!
The food was pretty good for the area - we ate there every meal bar one, and the cocktails were great
If I'd done more research before I booked I would have preferred to stay further south where the beaches were better for swimming as this beach isn't good at all - it's weedy, rocky and very shallow.
Other than that it's in a good location and there's heaps of parking. One night they had a live band which was great. They have free wifi in the bar area. The shop across the road has excellent handcrafts!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingpantaloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 371 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

Zamas is a really cozy place. We had a very big room, a topfloor ocean view, number 14. Quite simple but clean and practical and pleasant. You could easily fit in a family of 5. We have only one teen-ager and she loved the hammock on the huge veranda facing three directions including the sea. We were a bit unlucky with the weather.There was a cool breeze more or less during our 3 days stay, but we still enjoyed the scenery and walked along the beautiful beach att Tulum. The food is very good, though a little pricy at Zamas, but we loved the setting of the restaurant, sitting with you feet right on the sand.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MmeFalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

On our recent (and first) trip to Tulum, my husband and I originally booked a room at Cabanas Copal (just down the road), from where we ran away as fast as possible (sidenote: do not reserve there!!!). After visiting 4 neighboring hotels (and looked at all the rooms), we found Zamas and booked it for 4 nights immediately upon being shown the cabana for the price of $160/night. Although our room was across the street from the water, it had a fantastic ocean view. The room was very clean, well-kept, and spacious. It was also very private. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating (especially considering we just walked in off the street). The restaurant was amazing -- great food, lots of vegetarian options and the best fish tacos on the block. Live bands play Thursday-Saturday, all of which were fun and fantastic. My only complaint was the amount of wind at night that kept us from sitting on the front porch, although during the day it was tolerable and very relaxing to sit on the hammocks and read. GREAT experience, Zamas!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jem722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I just got back from Zamas and I had an amazing time. Our room was cute, clean and comfortable, with a wonderful king bed. We went to sleep and woke up every day listening to the waves outside our cabana on the beach. We ate several meals at the hotel and the food was consistently amazing. They had live music every night that was enjoyable and always over by 10pm, which was nice. We spent about half our vacation, which was six days, lounging on the beach and half our time exploring Tulum. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we were planning our day trips. I really enjoyed the salt water showers and while there was a brief period of stickiness afterwards, my skin then felt incredibly soft. I showered overlooking the ocean and never wanted to get out. Zamas is paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geekyfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We spent 3 lovely nights at Zamas and recommend it highly. A brief misunderstanding at check-in was managed easily and cheerfully by the staff, and after that glitch we had nothing but a positive experience here. Our room was spotlessly clean and kept that way throughout our stay; it had lovely views of the Caribbean and the tropical forest, even from the shower! Our meals were superb and well worth the $40 USD. The camarones and the pescado entire were to die for. And the nightly music was outstanding, with great musicians playing for an enthusiastic crowd.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tallmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 102 in Tulum
478 reviews
3.4 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 102 in Tulum
924 reviews
2.5 km away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Azulik
Azulik
#24 of 102 in Tulum
1,418 reviews
10.8 km away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
5.2 km away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#23 of 102 in Tulum
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamas

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 5 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tulum
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: €94 - €324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zamas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZAMAS is a boutique beach hotel situated on a strip of the Caribbean coast in Tulum. Inviting accommodations reflect a locally-inspired, organic architecture. Thatch roofs, stucco walls in beach-worn hues, and vibrant decor exude tropical warmth. Since it opened in December 1993 ZAMAS, with its hip beachfront style, has enjoyed an eclectic and international clientele of honeymooners, fashion professionals, artists, families, techies, and everyone in between. It is a quintessential hangout, mixing colorful urban roots with laid back local vibes and jungle ambience. Come experience the Tulum we know- delightfully laid back and naturally beautiful. Welcome to ZAMAS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Zamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamas Hotel Tulum
Zamas Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing