We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveller rating
355
195
50
40
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
195
50
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews que fresco small beachfront live music every night beach front great live music laid back mosquito net road noise ocean view fish tacos playa del carmen beach road watch the sunrise no air conditioning guacamole sound of the waves tulum town
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 666 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Zamas is a really cozy place. We had a very big room, a topfloor ocean view, number 14. Quite simple but clean and practical and pleasant. You could easily fit in a family of 5. We have only one teen-ager and she loved the hammock on the huge veranda facing three directions including the sea. We were a bit unlucky with the weather.There was a cool breeze more or less during our 3 days stay, but we still enjoyed the scenery and walked along the beautiful beach att Tulum. The food is very good, though a little pricy at Zamas, but we loved the setting of the restaurant, sitting with you feet right on the sand.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MmeFalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

On our recent (and first) trip to Tulum, my husband and I originally booked a room at Cabanas Copal (just down the road), from where we ran away as fast as possible (sidenote: do not reserve there!!!). After visiting 4 neighboring hotels (and looked at all the rooms), we found Zamas and booked it for 4 nights immediately upon being shown the cabana for the price of $160/night. Although our room was across the street from the water, it had a fantastic ocean view. The room was very clean, well-kept, and spacious. It was also very private. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating (especially considering we just walked in off the street). The restaurant was amazing -- great food, lots of vegetarian options and the best fish tacos on the block. Live bands play Thursday-Saturday, all of which were fun and fantastic. My only complaint was the amount of wind at night that kept us from sitting on the front porch, although during the day it was tolerable and very relaxing to sit on the hammocks and read. GREAT experience, Zamas!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jem722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I just got back from Zamas and I had an amazing time. Our room was cute, clean and comfortable, with a wonderful king bed. We went to sleep and woke up every day listening to the waves outside our cabana on the beach. We ate several meals at the hotel and the food was consistently amazing. They had live music every night that was enjoyable and always over by 10pm, which was nice. We spent about half our vacation, which was six days, lounging on the beach and half our time exploring Tulum. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we were planning our day trips. I really enjoyed the salt water showers and while there was a brief period of stickiness afterwards, my skin then felt incredibly soft. I showered overlooking the ocean and never wanted to get out. Zamas is paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geekyfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We spent 3 lovely nights at Zamas and recommend it highly. A brief misunderstanding at check-in was managed easily and cheerfully by the staff, and after that glitch we had nothing but a positive experience here. Our room was spotlessly clean and kept that way throughout our stay; it had lovely views of the Caribbean and the tropical forest, even from the shower! Our meals were superb and well worth the $40 USD. The camarones and the pescado entire were to die for. And the nightly music was outstanding, with great musicians playing for an enthusiastic crowd.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tallmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed a portion of our trip in Tulum at Zamas. The hotel is very close to tiendas, restaurants (including one on-site), scooter/bike rentals, etc. The management was great and very helpful. The restaurant offered live music which was nice to listen to while lying in a hammack outside of your room. Additionally, the food was fabulous (service was so-so at the restaurant). The food/drinks made up for it though! Excellent choice for those who may not need all the bells and whistles...but more simple cabana life.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsfromaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews