We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD, GREAT PEOPLE & REASONABLE PRICES”
Review of Panchos Grill

Panchos Grill
Ranked #252 of 400 Restaurants in Tulum
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, GREAT PEOPLE & REASONABLE PRICES”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had the Mayan & grilled fish and teh new owners were the chefs for 7 years at Copal before it recently stopped operations.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bailey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    12
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Soup, Delicious Drinks, Great People!”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We went for dinner at Panchos Grill two nights in a row! I had a hearty soup (Xchitul or something close), chicken broth and white meat chicken with rice and a small plate of diced tomatoes, onions, serrano peppers, and avocado to add as you wish both times. Absolutely delicious, and filling without leaving you bloated and stuffed...all good. My husband had fajitas the first night and the pastor camerones (shrimp) the second. Quite tasty. They have a liberal 2 x 1 drink policy on many popular cocktails. The food is decent even though the menu is limited (but not tiny).

The real magic here is the people: excellent, friendly, chatty, and fast service. English is spoken, but feel free to practice your fractured Spanish with the understanding and patient staff! We had a great time. It's not a fancy place, but it is clean, and they make you feel welcome and at home. Free wifi is a nice bonus, and they don't rush you at all.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in old town Tulum”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Pedro was one of the coolest waiters around, gave us the strongest and tastiest coffee in the region and the food topped it all off deliciously.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank actualman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely friendly”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Plato Mexicano for 2 people was definitely one of the best we tried all around the riviera maya!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chip432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food after a morning at the ruins”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Nice friendly owner. Spotlessly clean washrooms (which was often not the case in many of the establishments we visited). We arrived at 11am and I wanted breakfast, my husband and son wanted lunch and we were accommodated for both. Everything we ordered was very good and prices were reasonable. Definitely worth a visit. I think it is hilarious that someone complains about the atmosphere - you are in a small roadside restaurant away from the touristy feel of Playa and Cancun- and that is what you are getting.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stewnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panchos Grill also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Panchos Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing