We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at your fingertips.”
Review of Extreme Control

Extreme Control
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Kiteboarding Class in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Extreme Control Adventure Kitesurfing, Kiteboarding, Paddleboarding and Scuba Diving School located in Tulum has been the first Professional Kiteboard School in the Riviera Maya and Yucatan operating since 2004 and offering top quality service to students from all over the globe about kiteboarding, paddleboarding and scuba diving. The worm winds and warm Caribbean water create an ideal environment to learn or improve your kitesurfing, diving or paddleboarding skills. Their team of instructors are expert kiteboarders, IKO Certified and multilingual with over 5/10 years experience teaching and riding. Extreme Control is the first school in Tulum teaching kiteboarding with the Short Line Method and Radio Helmet, where the use of 7/10 meter lines helps students learn how to pilot the kite without full power and the Radio Helmets helps the student to receive a feedback real time from the instructor all the time, making the learning process safer, faster and more fun! With this method, the majority of the students are able to independently fly the kite in 6 hours! The goal is to create responsible and independent kiters so everyone can continue to enjoy this sport throughout the world. Summer and Fall are great months to go Stand Up Paddleboarding in Tulum where you can enjoy an amazing snorkeling cenotes tour.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Extreme Control is a super fun, well organized kiteboarding school at the most beautiful location I've ever seen. Step out of the jungle onto the beach and the SE Caribbean trade winds deliver you to super fun wave riding.

Thank litewavedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Owner at Extreme Control, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hey Dave,

Better late than never...I am writing to thank everyone for the reviews they have written over the years. Thanks for the support. Hope all is well!

Saludos,
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

It’s a dream spot to kitesurf with warm water and clear blue sea. The instructors are relay good and go though the basics and the safety really well. They have you in radio contact when you are out on the water and they are on the land so you get ‘realtime’ correction and instruction. If you’re on for a down winder Marco and the team will organize a great location.

Thank Loopsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Owner at Extreme Control, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Better late than never! Just wanted to thank you for writing a review about us. I hope you have continued with the sport and we can meet up again in the future for a downwinder!

Saludos,
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Extreme Control's kite school in Tulum was the ultimate! As a sailor I thought I new all there is to know about the wind and waves.... Extreme control set things straight for me. I brought my own equipment but was clueless to how it all came together and worked. Within the first hour of arriving they had my kites inflated and all of my gear inspected! Their revolutionary teaching methods made learning to kite fun and easy - even with little to know wind (the saddest part of my vacation) they had me getting up on my board and cruising down wind in a matter of hours.

The entire staff was extremely professional and went out of their way to make sure I experienced all there was to offer in Tulum! Can't wait to return! Thanks for everything Marco - see you in Brazil amigo!

Thank ncabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Owner at Extreme Control, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hey Dude,

Better late than never. I am writing to thank you for your review. I'll be heading to Brazil again this year. Hope all is well.

Saludos,
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Tough to ask for better! The beach is perfectfor launching, not too crowded, powdery sand, gentle shore break, if you can even call it that. And most importantly, its a fun crowd, the instructors are really helpful -- it's a reassurance to know they are watching, even when there is nothing at all to fear in the water or on land. And there is yummy pizza and gelato just a short walk down the beach for after a great kite session!

Thank Surfcoast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Owner at Extreme Control, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hey,

I am just writing to thank you for writing a review a while ago. Hope you are still enjoying kiting. Hopefully, we can meet in the water again.

Saludos,
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I met marco 3 years ago in Tulum and re-connected with him in Cumbuco this year. Not only is he a great kiter, but he knows everything about the locations he is in and simply a great dude. If more people in the world were like Marco, it would truly be a better place. If you are going to tulum or Brazil and are either new to kiting or looking for someone to give you the lay of the land, he is your guy! Brazil will be an annual trip for me!!!

Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Owner at Extreme Control, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hey thanks man,

I know this review is from awhile ago but wanted to thank you for writng it. See you Brazil!

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Extreme Control also viewed

 

Been to Extreme Control? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing