We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveller rating
472
139
24
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
139
24
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh fruit full kitchen breakfast was delicious beautiful pool the main strip every morning short drive tropical paradise bottled water mini fridge small hotel tulum ruins pyk kitchenette bikes mexico beaches
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 642 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and loved it! Booked it 4 months ago and got an incredible rate of $170 for 3 nights for a HUGE room. King suite had kitchen. I chose this place for its authentic Mexican architecture and decor and was delighted with the charm and overall feel of the grounds. Excellent service from hotel staff, very clean, excellent full breakfast with eggs, fresh fruit and juices. Sit poolside for a great start to your day. Perfect choice for what we wanted. Want to address the taxi comment I saw on a recent review. We had staff call for a taxi 4-5 times and a cab always arrived in 5 or so minutes. Very attentive.
Now, the things to be aware of. It's 10-15 minute walk to town. The staircase we used was spiral and may be an issue for people with limited mobility or lots of suitcases. But that being said was a marvelous character feature that adds to overall ambiance. Also, the immediate surrounding area has lots of shacks, felt safe, but not a resort feel outside the hotel.
Would recommend to friends without hesitation. Great value

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mjhaugland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozári K, Front Office Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you so much for your amazing comment, we hope we will see you and your family soon :) Hope you enjoyed staying in Tulum and we wish you the best!

Krisztina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Extremely expensive for what you get. The four hundred dollars a night we were swindled into paying was outrageous.

Not close to the beach: 30 minute, 30$ taxi ride to the beach. Very hard to get a cab to the beach, they don’t want to come to the hotel. Lot’s of traffic getting to the beach. Manager only has a few cab phone numbers, then you’re on your own! An hour walk to the beach, treacherous narrow road for bike riding.

Breakfast starts at 8, too late for many tours. Great cinnamon coffee at breakfast.

Shower has no curtain, which makes the bathroom floor soaked. Bathroom door lock doesn’t work and even without locking the door (just closing it) we got stuck in the bathroom many times.

Pillows uncomfortable and air quality sketchy. Dogs bark all night long and roosters wake you at 3 am. Not a nice place to walk around the hotel. You’re in the hotel or in a taxi.

Amazing plants and decor. A unique and authentic paradise. But cons outweigh pros. Much better idea to get a hotel room on the beach.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank asher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan - Balvina B, Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Hola,

Thank you for your review, it helps us to be better in the future.

In the high season is much more difficult for all the hotels in town, to provide taxi outside the center because this time the traffic is always the same.

We hope, in all you enjoyed staying in Tulum, and have good memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

The hotel is a beautiful, relaxing oasis that was clean and comfortable during our 3 night stay. But what I appreciated the most was the outstanding service. We had rented a car that was somehow given to us on empty and by the time we made the short 5 minute drive from the center of town to the hotel, the car had completely run out of gas. The staff personally sent someone to buy gas for us and filled up the car, and this all happened at night when really they could have waited until morning. The next day, they helped us to book a tour for the sac actun cenote I had been dying to see and on the final day, they allowed us check out an hour late at no extra cost, being very accommodating as we had wanted to do a snorkeling tour in the morning. Lastly, upon carrying out my over sized suit case out of the room, in slippers and wet feet (wow that was very ill advised in hindsight) I slipped and fell down, scraping my knee. In a split second the staff had brought out a first aid kit and attended to my injury, personally cleaning and bandaging the wound. I was overwhelmed with gratitude as time and time again the staff came to our rescue. It was the best hotel stay I've had in all of Mexico.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Blaire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan - Balvina B, Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you so much! Hope see you soon , and wishing a Happy new Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

This review is late - but it has been on my mind since we left this local paradise.

We stayed at this wonderful gem of a hotel a few years back over the New Year's holiday with our adult kids and had an incredible time. Balvina and her top-notch staff have created an incredible escape, hidden away deep inside the town of Tulum.

The building is on the edge of the forest, and entering through the doorways of the protective walls is like entering a tropical wonderland; trees and plants everywhere, with beautiful stone pathways leading to each room, pool and dining area.

The hotel is small and that is a great thing - just a handful of eloquent suites; superbly outfitted with furniture crafted by local artisans. The rooms are large and impeccably clean, and a joy to return to after a busy day exploring the beach or fantastic nearby cenote's.

Balvina and her husband have created a beautiful setting for anyone looking to get away from the crowds of Tulum. The hotel is in town and not on the beach - just a short walk/drive from the center, which is a good thing: fantastic local restaurants away from the crowds.

Once inside the grounds, you're tempted to sit by the beautiful pool or outside your room in the comfortable furniture and forget the beach. It's that comfortable. And the food served is fresh and healthy.

Driving back to the beach for dinner at one of the many restaurants is very easy, & you can park anywhere, but you also have fantastic local choices in town. You don't want to miss Ginger or El Camello. Both so good.

Our trip home was delayed by a winter storm in the east, yet Balvina welcomed us back for a few more wonderful days and made us all very comfortable through her grace and understanding. The drive back to Tulum from Cancun was a joy, knowing we were headed back to Posada Yum Kin.

Our family still claims this as the best holiday ever - 4 years later - and cannot wait to return. We're looking forward to that. Thank you Balvina!

Room Tip: The hotel is organized like a small village, with trees and walkways separating the rooms beautifully. Every room is very private.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan - Balvina B, Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you so much for your beautiful review, we are really happy for that!
We are waiting to see you soon and wish all the best for the New Year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Large rooms (we could stay at 5 ), but you could literally hear your neighbor because of thin walls, which maybe acceptable for a $75-100 a night but charging $370/night (as we paid) is a rip off !
Breakfast is good.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank sboisset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan - Balvina B, Front Office Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Dear Sboisset, many thanks for your stay with us, I'm sorry for disappointing you, but really in terms of the size of the walls is the size that is used here generally everywhere, on the other hand we would have liked you to let us know your disagreement regarding the room and the price you paid , it is easy to help the guest when these situations occur and they let us know at the moment, because after having left it is complicated, because apparently everything is fine, but thank you very much for your valuable comments and happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews