We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi in Tulum!”
Review of Ukami

Ukami
Ranked #28 of 425 Restaurants in Tulum
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Description: KONNICHIWA! Ukami is a jungle sushi bar and the only sushi restaurant on Tulum´s beach road. Our Mayapanese Kitchen is a mexican-japanese fusion. You'll find rolls and sashimis with a mexican twists, as well as tacos and tostadas with japanese flavours. WE HAVE DELVIERY SERVICE!
Restaurant details
Description: KONNICHIWA! Ukami is a jungle sushi bar and the only sushi restaurant on Tulum´s beach road. Our Mayapanese Kitchen is a mexican-japanese fusion. You'll find rolls and sashimis with a mexican twists, as well as tacos and tostadas with japanese flavours. WE HAVE DELVIERY SERVICE!
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Went to dinner with my boyfriend for a night in Tulum. The man who seemed like he was in charge was extremely friendly and helpful. Gave us great recommendations for cocktails at the bar and sushi rolls. The cocktails were very fresh and yummy, they use fruit that is in season. Sushi was also very good! Music was amazing!!!! Some tips, wear bug spray and do not try to come here on Tuesday, as it is closed. Otherwise, would definitely recommend for sushi in the jungle in Tulum.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rkelllsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukami s, Owner at Ukami, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hola Rkllsss,

First of all, thanks for coming to our sushi jungle bar in Tulum and for writing this review.
It was a pleasure hosting you and sorry again for the mosquitos, in this season they get crazy.

Come back soon, Konnichiwa!

Ukami - sushi jungle bar in Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

We loved this place! Our server Maria was very nice and recommended an excellent cocktail consisting of tequila and guava. The atmosphere was very tropical jungle-esque with great ambiance and low lighting. Good for couples or large groups which were there. The food was amazing and beautifully presented with the perfect portions we were looking for as it was 10pm when we went there, so was not looking for something too heavy to eat. I got the tuna sashimi, tuna roll and my wife got the #3 noodle special both were to die for and packed with tons of flavor. The teriyaki sauce on the noodles was light and very flavorful.

The staff was very friendly and seemed to only want to help. The only caveat is that be sure to wear long pants or wear mosquito repellant, Maria was kind enough to offer us some as well but unfortunately my wife is allergic so we did get quite a few bites.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chelseap26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukami s, Owner at Ukami, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hola Chelsea,

First of all, thanks for coming to our sushi jungle bar in Tulum and for writing this review. It´s amazing to read that you love our mayapanese sushi bar.

Sorry for the mosquitos, in this time of the year they go crazy.

Konnichiwa!

Ukami - sushi jungle bar in Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Great avocato entree, the tuna rice is my favorite!! Nice environment, good service and the cucumber gin was the best!

Thank Jazoo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukami s, Owner at Ukami, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hola Jazoo,

First of all, thanks for coming to our sushi jungle bar in Tulum and for writing this review.
It´s great to read yhat you liked our tuna rice and the cucumber gin.

We hope to see you again soon. Konnichiwa!

Ukami - sushi jungle bar in Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Everything from the drinks to the food was delicious!! Ordered tostadas a roll and some drinks, enjoyed it all! Also the service was amazing, highly recommend this place!

Thank Daniela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukami s, Owner at Ukami, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hola HannahRosa,

First of all, thanks for coming to our sushi jungle bar in Tulum and for writing this review.
We love to read happy clients that liked our mayapanese kitchen, thanks :)

Come back soon, Konnichiwa!

Ukami - sushi jungle bar in Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This is one of the best sushis I ever had. We started with the omakase sashimi that was so tasteful. As a second we order two rolls that were just amazing, one with octopus and another with tuna. for third we had some noodles with rib eye, and for dessert a mind-blowing drink called carajillo (coffee with 43 liquor. If you are in Tulum, stop by Ukami, you`ll thank me later.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ukami also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ukami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing