We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petit Lafitte
Nearby Hotels
Panama Jack Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$293
US$235
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$517
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$605
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$397
US$337
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$271
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$2,204
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$682
US$541
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,001
US$536
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,474
US$1,080
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$453
US$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,704)
Filter reviews
1,704 results
Traveller rating
1,326
284
77
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,326
284
77
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnermega resortsocean view bungalowmayan dancerssmall hotelcevicherepeat guestsrental carbeach baryogurtinclusive resortsocean frontpalm treesrelaxing vacationgreat beachthe entire staffbottled water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,198 - 1,203 of 1,704 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

When we arrived at Petit Lafitte, we checked in to a slow-paced, calm atmosphere. Next, instead of having us stay in the main hotel portion, they upgraded us to one of their bungalows. The bungalow was perfect, just a few steps from the beach.

We had the half-inclusive package: Breakfast and dinner were included, lunch and drinks were not.

The food was the best part, ranging from Chicken Sopes to Ceviche and pablano pepper soup...delicious.

Davide made our stay a breeze. When we had an issue with renting a car, he acted as liason for us, solving our problems.

I would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Playa del Carmen is a short cab ride away or about a half hour walk down the beach.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hansfrue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Hansfrue2,

We are very glad to hear that you found your vacation with us to be an "Extreme Pleasure."
We appreciate your kind review and your collaboration in creating this experience with us.
After all, we are only one half of the equation.
Feel free to tell your friends about us and to return as many times as possible.
We will serve you Ceviche, Poblano Pepper soup and sopes as much as you want...
Hey, Ice-cold-beer and a hammock also.

Take care and thank you again.

Iván A. Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Quiet, friendly with great food. Lots of choice. Far enough away from the Playa Carmen crowd but close enough if you want it.

Room Tip: We loved the bugalows
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear William M,

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review, even if it was brief.
We are able to gather you enjoyed the simplicity and the quality of Petit Lafitte.
And yes, you are right, we are 15 minutes away (by car) from Playa del Carmen, still far enough that we dont have ambulant, beach vendors, boom boxes and the regular city beach elements.
It is as you say, quiet and friendly.

Thanks again for your review.

Truly,

Iván A. Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and i just came back from a wonderful holiday at petite Lafitte. If your looking for a more intimate experience in a beautiful part of Mexico then this small hotel would be the perfect choice. Our time spent here was second to none. The food was delicious and the service was personal in that we felt we really knew the staff by weeks end and they cater to your every need. Perhaps the nicest beach in the area and definitely the quietest with a cozy beach bar.We bumped into so many guests who were repeat customers. If your into the all-inclusive experience this is probably not for you. This place caters to those looking for an alternative experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good in this hotel. It only has 30 rooms and about 10 cabins.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Andrewm,

I hope your return to Edmonton, was a gentle process, after yout stay with us at Petit Lafitte, we are happy to hear your opions about us, and even happier that you decided to post a review on Trip Advisor.
As you point out, we cater to guests looking for an alternative, presonalized, experience, with great food, cozy enviroment on a very nice, beach and hard to find service. We have been awarded recently Tri Advisor's Travelers Choice Award for Service. So thank you for stressing that.
I hope you become one of those repeat costumers that you mention in your review.
We'd be happy to see that happen.

Thank you again,

Iván Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Petit Lafitte is a charming small hotel located in one of the most quiet beaches in Riviera Maya, excellent for kids or couples. The service by the Mayan staff is superb and meals delicious.

Room Tip: The Cabanas are the best option for families, it includes an extra bed.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hunabku2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear hunabku 2012,

Thank you very much for your visit and also for your brief, but very nice review.
We will continue working towards maintaining the quality of service and the charm of this little family operated resort.

We hope to see you and your family again.

Maybe we play some more music over an ice cold beer and ceviche !

Best Regards

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I visited Petit Lafitte Feb 12-18, 2012. We stayed in a Garden View room, second floor. Breakfast and dinner were included in the per day price (lunch and beverages, other than water, were extra). We chose PL given Trip Advisor reviews and because we were looking for a small resort with meals available. We were happy to learn that the prior reviews were accurate - the rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is good with adequate choices available and the service was really good (the employees at PL are almost all long term and they care about your experience). PL has a beautiful white sand beach although for swimming you need to walk up the beach a bit due to the rocky coast near PL (this is common with other resorts in the area as well though). We really like the breakfast - 5-6 different fruits and a menu of a dozen choices if the buffet was not enough. Taxi's into Playa del Carmen cost 160 Mexican Pesos and the trip back to Cancun airport was US$50 or MP600 (a 45 minute drive). We were impressed with the number of returning guests. Bring something to read and enjoy the beach. Side trips can be arranged by the front deack but we just took it easy at the resort. WiFi worked great and incoming calls were no problem.

Room Tip: Couples should reserve early if you want a king size bed.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WilliamLeslieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear William Leslie S,
Thank you for your visit to Petit Lafitte, it was very nice to have you and your wife during your recent veacation. We are happpy that you found your experience worth commenting about.
I'd like to add, for the sake of precision on your comment about beverages, that unliminted drinking water (other resorts charge a price for extra bottles) is included, but also the fresh coffee in the morning or evening meals, tea as well and fresh squeezed orange juice for brekfast are included. Soda pops, beer and alcoholic drinks or other juices are not included.
We are delighted to read your comment on the staff and their genuine care for guests and service.
I think as other reviewers have stated, that the staff and food are the best qualities (even when there ae more worth mentioning) about Lafitte.
Thanks for noticing.
We'd be happy to see you become one of those return costumers you mention in your review.
"Los Lafittistas"

Thanks again and Best Regards,

Iván A. Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews