We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$371
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$361
US$297
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$944
US$417
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$622
US$608
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
US$338
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$467
US$436
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$424
US$342
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$504
US$320
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$172
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,042
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveller rating
1,098
280
75
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,098
280
75
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubfishing boatscondo hotelhot tubindigo restaurantwasher and dryerthe penthousefull kitchenrooftop terracebeautiful condothree bedroomrecommend elliving roomwater coolerlight sleeperrestaurants and shopsprivate balcony
Filter
Updating list...
1,218 - 1,223 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Brand new condohotel in the very centre of Playa. Minutes away from the main pedestrianised street - 5th Ave with loads of great restaurants, bars and clubs. Quite a young vibe around the hotel and families with young children may find the late night music from nearby clubs disturbing but we were not bothered. Hotel has its own private beach with lovely sunbeds, waiter service and a FANTASTIC restaurant, Indigo. Shame it was not yet open for dinner as well. Not the best bit of sea on the coast due to the boat and ferry activity but 2 pools to choose from as well. Great photo opportunities in the jaccuzi above the main pool!!!
We had paid a little extra for a penthouse apartment with private rooftop hottub, BBQ and social area. Worth every penny, the place was huge and really well equiped with all kitchen stuff. Made us wish we were staying for longer so we could actually cook!!! Loads of towels and place was serviced everyday, washing machine and tumble dryer too.
Recommendations to the hotel....we were shown to our room by a security guard who spoke very little English. So he didn't show us our private roof area, how to lock the door and no local info. Shame. The pillows are awful, huge, bouncy foam things. We all used the cushions from the lounge, there were no others available. But minor things, we had a great stay and have all said we will return.....soon.
Bonus tip...we got the hotel to organise a private taxi for a day so we could go sightseeing without being stuck on a coach with an agenda. The best thing ever, we went to local places, power walked round Tulum and finished with a late, lazy lunch with our toes in the white sand, cold beer and blue, blue sea at El Paraiso just south of Tulum. Hipolito was our driver and so much fun, book him and say that the 3 English girls sent you and he'll give you a great price. Cell 984 142 32 14.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

My wife and I travel the Caribbean extensively and with out hesitation can say that the El Taj is the best we have stayed at. The rooms are actually condos and are appointed with details you would find in any luxury designer home...high end stainless appliances, fine linens and Henckles cutlery are nice touches.

The house keeping staff was beyond belief....how anyone can clean a complete 2 bedroom 2 bath condo to like new condition each day is beyond me.

The front desk staff Daniel and Hector would complement any Four Seasons Hotel. The bell captain Daniel was also top shelf, as was Carlos at the Indigo beach club...which was a Zen like experience.

We stayed in unit 329. The views from our oversized balcony of the pool, Jacuzzi, beach club and ocean were breath taking.

The location of the hotel to the all of the restaurants, shopping and night clubs was perfect...never had to rent a car or even take a cab. We could walk to anywhere we wanted to go easily.

A side note; to those apprehensive to travel to Mexico.....Playa Del Carmen is as safe as any ivy league college town in the U.S.... my wife and i eat late and on many occasions we returned well after 1:00 am and walked just about ever side street and was never met with anything but a hello. It was a little surreal. There was always someone to meet you at the front door and security guards were highly visible and friendly 24/7.

I would never think about staying anywhere else but the El Taj and cant wait to return to visit my new friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TequliaSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We were staying at "another" hotel in Playa, one with good reviews and nice pictures on their web site. But the first day walking on the beach we came across El Taj and immediately knew we needed to stay here for the remainder of our trip ! We asked the front desk if we could see what the rooms looked like and they were very happy to do so .... SIMPLY INCREDIBLE !!!

Not only is it a fantastic place in a fantastic location ... the staff is the best I have ever seen ... Especially Teresa at the reception desk and Daniel who helped us up to the room.

The worst part about our stay here was the day we had to leave and go back home !

When looking for a place to stay in Playa ... this is THE Place !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTinRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I was at the El Taj in early November for a friends birthday and it was one of the best experiences I've ever had. The rooms were GORGEOUS and SPACIOUS., the SERVICE was top notch. I, unfortunately cant remember the name of the person that took care of us on the beach, but he was stellar, he was attentive and always had a smile on his face. If there was a problem it was dealt with immediately. I really can't say enough good things about this place. I think my friends are going back in February and I can't wait. YIPEEEE!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauralie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We just came back from the most amazing holiday at El Taj. The condos are in the best location in Playa, right on the beach with beautiful white crystal sand and all the beach activities you could wish for next door. We had the best restaurants, bars and shopping along 5th Ave at our doorstep! The beautifully designed rooms are very modern and stylish with a lovely ambiance and the king size bed was so comfortable we didn't want to leave! Thanks to all the friendly and extremely helpful staff who made our holiday so enjoyable. We haven't stopped talking about El Taj and cannot wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicoleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews