We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Playa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #42 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2010

El Taj is, in my opinion, now the best place to stay in Playa. The location is perfect, right on the beach between 12-14, the rooms are spacious, gorgeous, and very well appointed, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the beautiful beach is just steps away.

Rooms: Simply put, I've never stayed in a better room. Our unit (#356) was a one-bedroom condo with a stove, fridge, cooking/eating utensils, HUGE couch, two flat screens with digital cable, floor to ceiling window in bedroom, big lovely bathroom, shower, big King Bed. The decor is a fusion of contemporary and tropical Balinese that blends really well.
*nicks: bed is REALLY firm and pillows are huge a clunky. This didn't bother me but my girlfriend had to use a couch pillow.
* notes: I would recommend asking for square footage when requesting available rooms. We learned that there was a 300 sq ft difference between equally priced one-bedroom units that you can't really discern from the pictures. So naturally we choose the largest one (#356 - 860 sq foot).

Beach (Indigo Beach Club): The beach is beautiful, the day beds are heavenly and the food/drinks are overall good.
*nicks: There are boats directly in front the resort so you need to stroll down the beach a bit or swim in between them. The chicken satay from Indigo was tiny. Not enough food for a single person appetizer.

Pool/Jacuzzi: Well they look beautiful. But they are not heated and get no sunshine after noon, so we never stepped foot in. But we are beach people anyway.

Service/Staff: Excellent. Everyone is so friendly! We had a few issues with our door lock and phone, and the staff fixed both in a timely manner. Security was very prevalent and premises were secure 24 hours.

The only drawbacks: cool pools, no ice machine, fishing boats on beach, no room service or food for dinner.

The positives: EVERYTHING ELSE.

Love this place! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Playa.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,154 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

Brand new condohotel in the very centre of Playa. Minutes away from the main pedestrianised street - 5th Ave with loads of great restaurants, bars and clubs. Quite a young vibe around the hotel and families with young children may find the late night music from nearby clubs disturbing but we were not bothered. Hotel has its own private beach with lovely sunbeds, waiter service and a FANTASTIC restaurant, Indigo. Shame it was not yet open for dinner as well. Not the best bit of sea on the coast due to the boat and ferry activity but 2 pools to choose from as well. Great photo opportunities in the jaccuzi above the main pool!!!
We had paid a little extra for a penthouse apartment with private rooftop hottub, BBQ and social area. Worth every penny, the place was huge and really well equiped with all kitchen stuff. Made us wish we were staying for longer so we could actually cook!!! Loads of towels and place was serviced everyday, washing machine and tumble dryer too.
Recommendations to the hotel....we were shown to our room by a security guard who spoke very little English. So he didn't show us our private roof area, how to lock the door and no local info. Shame. The pillows are awful, huge, bouncy foam things. We all used the cushions from the lounge, there were no others available. But minor things, we had a great stay and have all said we will return.....soon.
Bonus tip...we got the hotel to organise a private taxi for a day so we could go sightseeing without being stuck on a coach with an agenda. The best thing ever, we went to local places, power walked round Tulum and finished with a late, lazy lunch with our toes in the white sand, cold beer and blue, blue sea at El Paraiso just south of Tulum. Hipolito was our driver and so much fun, book him and say that the 3 English girls sent you and he'll give you a great price. Cell 984 142 32 14.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

My wife and I travel the Caribbean extensively and with out hesitation can say that the El Taj is the best we have stayed at. The rooms are actually condos and are appointed with details you would find in any luxury designer home...high end stainless appliances, fine linens and Henckles cutlery are nice touches.

The house keeping staff was beyond belief....how anyone can clean a complete 2 bedroom 2 bath condo to like new condition each day is beyond me.

The front desk staff Daniel and Hector would complement any Four Seasons Hotel. The bell captain Daniel was also top shelf, as was Carlos at the Indigo beach club...which was a Zen like experience.

We stayed in unit 329. The views from our oversized balcony of the pool, Jacuzzi, beach club and ocean were breath taking.

The location of the hotel to the all of the restaurants, shopping and night clubs was perfect...never had to rent a car or even take a cab. We could walk to anywhere we wanted to go easily.

A side note; to those apprehensive to travel to Mexico.....Playa Del Carmen is as safe as any ivy league college town in the U.S.... my wife and i eat late and on many occasions we returned well after 1:00 am and walked just about ever side street and was never met with anything but a hello. It was a little surreal. There was always someone to meet you at the front door and security guards were highly visible and friendly 24/7.

I would never think about staying anywhere else but the El Taj and cant wait to return to visit my new friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TequliaSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We were staying at "another" hotel in Playa, one with good reviews and nice pictures on their web site. But the first day walking on the beach we came across El Taj and immediately knew we needed to stay here for the remainder of our trip ! We asked the front desk if we could see what the rooms looked like and they were very happy to do so .... SIMPLY INCREDIBLE !!!

Not only is it a fantastic place in a fantastic location ... the staff is the best I have ever seen ... Especially Teresa at the reception desk and Daniel who helped us up to the room.

The worst part about our stay here was the day we had to leave and go back home !

When looking for a place to stay in Playa ... this is THE Place !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTinRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I was at the El Taj in early November for a friends birthday and it was one of the best experiences I've ever had. The rooms were GORGEOUS and SPACIOUS., the SERVICE was top notch. I, unfortunately cant remember the name of the person that took care of us on the beach, but he was stellar, he was attentive and always had a smile on his face. If there was a problem it was dealt with immediately. I really can't say enough good things about this place. I think my friends are going back in February and I can't wait. YIPEEEE!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauralie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 km away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#60 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
472 reviews
0.2 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
659 reviews
0.9 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#20 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,675 reviews
0.3 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#11 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
532 reviews
0.2 km away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#18 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €166 - €373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Riviera Maya, Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing