We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will vacation here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #44 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our second Riu Palace experience, this time Riviera Maya. We wanted a relaxing, plan our day when we get up each day, vacation. Riu Palace Riviera Maya was the perfect place for us. Plenty to do at the resort, lots of lounge chairs both at the pool and on the beach, and close enough to town to walk over and enjoy the shopping and restaurants.Many excursions available to enjoy the local culture and history. We went in January and were a bit worried how the weather would cooperate, but no worries, weather was 80's every day. Riu Palace service is excellent, bar service and quality very good. We enjoyed the food, dinners at the buffet were good, not outstanding. Overall, had a really fun time at a beautiful resort and will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ksmits20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,496 - 2,500 of 5,571 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

The property is beautiful, but you could almost forget that you are in Mexico. That was not quite what I was looking for. The food was excellent and the service in the restaurants and bars mostly very attentive and friendly. Proximity to Playa del Carmen was a big plus for our adult children. They very much enjoyed the nightlife there. Nice pool, beautiful beach with lots of palm trees for shade
My one big complaint, however, is the lack of maintenance of the rooms and other areas of the hotel. My husband and I had booked a handicapped room and it was the worst room we had in a long time in a comparable property. The shower was build improperly and flooded the whole bathroom. When I complained, I was told to put towels on the floor. The toilet seat was crooked. Somebody came to fix it, but the repair lasted not even a day. The seat should really have beeen replaced. The room opened up onto a very noisy staircase which was used by everybody going to their rooms. The connecting door to the corridor leading to the other rooms had a very loud squeak. None of the hotel employees using that door dozens of times every day seemed to notice it or care.The room was right next to the service elevator. Starting early in the morning hotel employees were moving things in and out of that elevator while chatting. This all took place just a few feet from our room all day long. I had asked for another room, but was told that the hotel was fully booked. Maybe in a few days...nothing happened. The furniture in the room was chipped and looked well used. The balcony was practically useless, because of the noise from the street and some construction next door.
I did not feel that the management makes a real effort to keep up the place or make its guests feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 790elsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This all-inclusive resort is the perfect size...not too small and not too big. The beach and pool areas are beautiful and clean. Families are friendly. This is NOT a party hotel. If you want to relax and be well taken care of, this staff is amazing at making sure you get the best experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JC_Reyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was our first "all inclusive" getaway. Loved every minute of it. Staff was wonderful and service beyond our expectaions. The grounds are beautiful and the location is close enough to town that you can walk. Even the meals were great. We booked our trip and got a wonderful deal through Book-it.com. Not sure I'd want to bring my young children here, but there appeared to be plenty for them to do. Be prepared to see some topless gals sunning themselves. Nobody was ever asked to cover themselves, but they weren't flaunting their "goods" either. Great area with hammocks and chairs with plenty of shade as well as a beach area for full sun. More than enough room to sprawl out and relax. Be sure to sign up for a couple of excursions while there to places like Tulum or the area nature parks.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TCMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Well sorry Riu ..not 5 star. Definitely 5 star property and staff but the food was nowhere near. Actually my best meal was at the Cancun airport before going home. This may seem a bit whiney but when you read something and expect something its nice if they are true.
First of all I must warn you that if you get a room near an ice machine go right back to the front desk. Why they didn’t put this in its own room I don’t know but they decided to put it a tiled echo chamber which just loves the sound of the door slamming shut at 3 am. Not to mention the bar staff emptying it two to three times a day. Beer lovers beware!! Only DosXX as there is no other choice. Another flaw for families with kids is that you have to walk through the beach bar to get to the beach. Some may not like to expose their kids to this. If you want a spot in the pool get there early or have a designated pool grabber in your group that get up really early. For the food ..Stick with the buffet as I was not too impressed with the specialty restaurants. I didn’t try the fusion or the Japanese but after the others I just went straight back to the buffet. Room service..don’t do it either. Take a 5 minute walk to Starbucks for some real coffee.

There are a lot of positives to this property. This is very safe area and walking downtown is a breeze and a nice change. You will get haggled to go into shops so be prepared. As I said earlier, the property is beautiful and the staff is excellent. It almost semed to me that they wanted to do more but were not allowed. The beach is large, clean and in a perfect spot but don’t expect drink service. I know that all the drinks are free but don’t be stingy..Tip!!! You will get your drinks faster and they deserve it. Would I go there again….Yes because I know what to expect and what to avoid but would definitely look at other options. If this is 5 star then I need to look for the 7 star

Room Tip: Beware the Ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Schmootz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.3 km away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
687 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#30 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,650 reviews
18.6 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
28.3 km away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €217 - €524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located directly on the white, sandy beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Playacar, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels. The 400 spacious and elegant junior suites are set in the 3-storey main building, with its delightful architectural style and surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. * Next Village / Location Playa del Carmen 2.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 60.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International Airport (CUN) 55.0 km approx. * Main Building 3 floors 400 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing