We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveller rating
735
186
39
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
735
186
39
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location full kitchen continental breakfast great boutique bedroom penthouse rooftop deck kool beach club restaurants and shops home away from home i highly recommend this hotel two blocks fifth avenue wonderful stay yogurt small pool beach towels lounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 975 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We were fortunate enough to spend 2 months at the Acanto Hotel in February/March of 2016 with our new baby boy and we have nothing but good things to say about the hotel, area and staff. Our entire stay was amazing.

The Acanto is a gorgeous quaint little boutique hotel located in the heart of Playa Del Carmen seconds away from 5th Avenue and minutes from the turquoise warm waters of the Caribbean. What else could you ask for??

We have stayed all over the world and this hotel is one of the nicest and most reasonably priced that we have ever experienced. We also, while in Playa Del Carmen for 2 months, investigated many other hotels for next year and nothing compared to the Acanto! Don’t miss an opportunity to stay here!

The hotel grounds are immaculately kept with a lush tropical courtyard that is highlighted by a refreshing little pool that is perfect for cooling off. There are chairs for soaking up the sun and a charming area to enjoy your continental breakfast in the morning. Since the hotel is small it is never busy and half the time you seem to have the hotel to yourself.

The rooms themselves are very spacious, tastefully decorated and basically exactly as seen in the pictures online. We had a room that faced the small pedestrian only street and the balcony was perfect to relax in the evening with the little one and enjoy the tropical breezes.

An added bonus was the rooftop patio where the views and tropical breezes were fabulous! There was a common area which had a BBQ, lounge chairs and a dining table. We cooked and enjoyed our wine up there half a dozen times during our stay and it was perfect! The hotel is so small that we basically had the rooftop to ourselves every time as most people just headed to 5th Avenue. There are some private terraces up there too that are great so if interested ask when booking.

The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly providing 5 star service with Andreas and team always going over and above the call of duty to help out with any request. They were even short staffed at one point but still the service was exceptional. Andres basically slept there and did everything 

With a new baby we needed a crib and kettle and they rushed out and bought both items for us immediately without charge. One day, the room was a bit warm and again they immediately responded and had it fixed in an hour! The service was unbelievable.

The cleaning staff always made sure the place was perfect every day after they were done tiding up. They even came around in the evening to turn the living room accent lights on and to restock the bottle water. They were always quick to accommodate any of our requests no matter how demanding 

We did our booking through Matt, who is the property manager, and he was extremely accommodating and helped us every step of the way with setting up our awesome stay. We will come again one day for sure… likely again in 2017!!!

Again, I can’t say enough about this hotel and would absolutely recommend it to anyone from retirees to new families with infants! It has something for everyone.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any other questions about this hotel or the area in general.

Thanks.

Room Tip: Take one that has a private terrace and/or facing the quiet side street.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bala_U2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Thank you solo much for the 5 star review. We are so glad you loved your stay at Acanto and in Playa del Carmen..

We hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

This hotel was wonderful!!! We stayed 7 nights. Our room was spacious and lovely. Looks just like the pictures on their website. The staff were so very helpful. When we arrived, they helped us to our room and explained the climate control, safe, pool towels, etc. They serve a continental breakfast every day with fresh fruit, boiled eggs, toast, coffee, muffins, and cereals. The rooms and building in general is very very clean and bed was comfortable. Kitchen was fully equipped. They even provided us with two bathrobes. The only thing we needed was bottled water, but there are plenty of places in walking distance 8-12 blocks that carry water (Mega, Walmart). Staff left us two 24 oz bottles of water each day, usually in the evening. The building is so quiet. We never heard the guests next door to us. They have a small parking garage below the hotel, which was empty for the most part. Most visitors either walk or get a taxi. The building is locked at 8 pm and there is a security guard posted at the door from 8 pm to 8 am to let guest in and out. We felt very safe there. Make sure you go up to terrace. There are BBQ grills and GREAT VIEWS. Enjoy the cool breeze in the evening. Only one thing, most of the TV channels, HBO are in Spanish, so download some movies before you go and take your HDMI cable. TVs in living room and bedroom. Many places to eat and shop are within 1-2 blocks. Beach is 2 blocks away. I really enjoyed the fish at La Vagabunda, shrimp tacos at Mi Pueblo and pastor tacos at Don Sirloin. Delicious! The concierge (Lester & Barbara) were very helpful. They helped us with a snorkel trip to Cozamel and gave us ideas for where to go. Our favorite trip was to Akumal – to swim with the turtles, which is free by the way. When you arrive there, many “guides” will try to tell you that you them to find the turtles…but that is not true. It’s free! All you need is snorkel equipment and they rent it there too ($15). And while you are there, stop at the bakery / café in the little shopping area. The breakfast was very good! Akumal is about 35 miles away. You can take the bus but it is a long walk from the highway to the beach. I would recommend you rent a car for the day ($20 / Hertz or Avis) or take a Taxi. Driving is a bit crazy so make sure you get car insurance if you rent a car. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dgalleg0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Thank you solo much for the 5 star review. We are so glad you loved your stay at Acanto and in Playa del Carmen..

We hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited Playa Del Carmen for our anniversary and had the best most relaxing time. As usual the staff at Acanto was wonderful and accommodating and so friendly. We always enjoy staying here because it is so conveniently located to the beach and 5th avenue.
Thanks again for a great stay!!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DebbyN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Thank you solo much for the 5 star review. We are so glad you loved your stay at Acanto and in Playa del Carmen..

We hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Acanto is a great small-mid size hotel/condo right off 5th. Everything you need is within a few steps, shopping mall 2 minutes, pizza 1 minute, Mexican food 3 minutes and convenience store 30 seconds. I absolutely loved the location and did not have any issues with the music. If you are a very light sleeper this is not the place for you however if you can deal with a little sound then you will be fine. We stayed in the 2 bedroom/2 bathroom #4. The front room overlooked the pool area and the back room had a nice little patio with a hammock. The size of the place was huge, I was so amazed by how up to date and clean everything was. The staff was wonderful and calls to the US are free! There was always a security guard on at night who lets you in after 10p I believe. Breakfast was more like a morning snack with fruits, breads and cold cereal. Since free breakfast is always a bonus to me I was okay with that selection. Staff was nice enough to allow (no fee) us a couple hours extra for late check out as we waited for our shuttle. The only downs were spotty internet and no elevator neither of which interfered with my high rating of Acanto. This place was exactly what I was looking for for our ladies extended weekend. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 4 is on the second floor overlooking the pool with a large patio area
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank atxgrl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thank you very much for the positive comments and we are glad to hear what a great time you had at our hotel. That is weird that you had issues with the internet we never have complaints in regards to the internet but we have already taken matters into this. We really hope to have you back again soon so you can take more great memories with you. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

From all staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

We arrived at the Acanto Boutique hotel and had a one bedroom suite/villa on the first floor by the pool. The pictures are very true to how the room looks, but it was much larger than expected! There was a full kitchen, dining area, den, hallway to the bedroom, and en suite bathroom. We also had access to our own private outside area with a hammock which was a sweet surprise and a good area to dry our swimsuits.

The hotel was walking distance to the famous 5th avenue. Although the beach is accessible one block away from our hotel, we walked a few blocks down to a beach lounge recommended by the concierge.

There was daily turn down service, good fresh fruit for breakfast daily, and the staff was professional and courteous. I highly recommend this gem.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Public Relations Manager at Acanto Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Thank you for your positive comments and we really appreciate that you can admire the great things out hotel has to offer all of our guests. We hope that you can come back to this beautiful paradise and enjoy another great stay! have a beautiful day!

Best regards,

From all staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews