We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Nearby Hotels
US$315
US$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$536
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$520
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$278
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$396
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$556
US$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$579
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
US$940
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$825
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$218
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$362/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (17,780)
Filter reviews
17,780 results
Traveller rating
14,055
2,420
736
322
247
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14,055
2,420
736
322
247
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaria mariechef's plateromance conciergecoffee housespice restaurantjose garciadanny boyfrozen grapeshour loungeocean viewturn down servicetequila barour honeymoonlobby barpresidential suitebeach butleril pescatore
Filter
Updating list...
1,433 - 1,438 of 17,780 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Thank you so much for the excellent service we had such a great experience and a special thanks to Bere Diaz Who gave us an excellent and professional service she was all the time friendly in the spa and Willing to help.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Eduardo S,

On behalf of all the staff at The Royal Playa del Carmen, we would like to express our gratitude for staying at our hotel and providing us the privilege to serve you. We are extremely pleased to know that you really enjoyed your recent stay at our resort.
We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Paya del Carmen and we had a blast at The Royal as it surpassed our expectations. Staff is amazingly friendly and super respectful. They made us feel welcomed and pampered all the time during our stay. Furthermore, the food is so tasteful. Given that there are five restaurants to choose from, each of them has its own taste and will not leave you disappointed, but "Spice and Maria Marie" are our favorite ones. The resort also offers lots of entertainment. During the day pool activities and at night broadway like shows, circus like shows as well as Karaoke. They also offer packages not part of the "all inclusive". We reserved the romantic package which includes lots of petals, champagne and strawberries and it went beyond expectations. Similarly, the private romantic dinner at the beach which left us speechless. I would say this is a must do.
Security- I feel very secure during our stay as every time we would go out with a tour company, they would make note of the pates as well as the tour company name we were going with. Similarly, when getting back, they would check us up like acknowledging our return. If you plan going outside and need a taxi, ask your concierge as they can book a taxi designated for the hotel.
The only thing we regret is not having enough time to enjoy the resort as we only went during the weekend and the resort itself has tons to offer. Therefore, I would recommend staying for at least a week as once you step in you feel like not wanting to get out.
Anyways, we feel very pleased overall and are already looking forward to returning as this resort is worth every single penny. Yes, I would definitely recommend it!!! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Ana M,

On behalf of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your great review. It makes us very happy to know that you have enjoyed our restaurants, services, staff and our property in general. It is our biggest joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we truly hope to have the pleasure of doing it once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Our butler was fantastic Juan Jose the best ever
In the spice restaurant we had a waiter renando excellent
By the main pool we had a waitress Sylvia so was great
In the restaurant Mediterranean Ivan was the best
Also the Matre D in spice was great
The people who worked in lobby were great
Overall all your staff were fantastic the above staff needed to be mentioned

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Antoinette M,

We would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your recent visit to THE Royal Playa del Carmen and also would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It really makes us feel good when we learn that we have been successful in accomplishing our mission of making your vacation unforgettable.
We are not surprised to know about the wonderful service provided from the people mentioned, to whom we will let them know your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The Royal is my favorite all-inclusive that I have stayed at. I've reviewed the resort before, but wanted to put in a new review to give credit to one of the resort staff: Carla from Sports & Entertainment spent well over an hour with me making bracelets to take back to my 3 little girls. She was awesome, stayed long after she was supposed to have closed up shop, but wanted to make sure I got all 3 bracelets done; it's people like her that are the reason why I've been back to this resort multiple times.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Harry__Hood95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Harry__Hood95,

Thank you very much for sharing with us and all others your ROYAL experience.
It is always so rewarding to know that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay memorable
We look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We returned to the Royal to stay for the second time after having an incredible experience the first and it was another amazing & wonderful anniversary spent here. We were greeted with some familiar faces from our first stay and some new faces. Our concierge was Adolfo and he was the best from the check in to our last day - the room we upgraded to was leaking due to the storm so he helped us out right away by switching our rooms for us as soon as possible. Also, the bellboy Hernando was extremely helpful as well with moving our luggage around to each room despite the rain. The next day, we noticed there was no DVD player in our room and Adolfo was extremely kind to have one requested and set up for us with no problem. For the 7 nights we stayed at the Royal, Adolfo also made sure our room was ready for us with the romantic turndown and some personalized decorations for my husband and I.

As usual, the food was amazing at each and every restaurant the resort has to offer with incredible staff from the managers, chefs, hostesses, to waiters. My husband and I's personal favorite, however, would have to be Maria Maria thanks to Diego, Chef Pasto, Vincenle, Diana, Vicky, Leo, Eulisa, and Marcos. The Grand Maniner Souffle is a must here and part of the reason why I come back.

Thank you to everyone at the Royal for making our stay pleasant and once again memorable. Even for a vacation, it felt like coming home with the welcome we got from all of the staff here. We will definitely be seeing everyone again next year.

Room Tip: ocean view upgrades are available at the front desk
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieunga N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Kieunga N,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are very happy to hear that it was a great experience for you, and that you found our staff to be very helpful and attentive, this will motivate us to keep doing our best job!
Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacation. Also we would like to mention that we really appreciate your great point of view!
We are looking forward to host you again very soon it will be an honor for us to pamper you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews