We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREATEST EXPERIENCE EVER!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #11 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our family's first time to visit The Royal Playa del Carmen and it far exceeded our expectations. The entire staff was beyond incredible! They all made this a very memorable vacation and one of our best trips ever! We have never experienced an entire staff like this staff that was extremely friendly, very professional, very hard working and very good at what they do! The food, service, entertainment and accommodations were exceptional, never a disappointment the whole time! Special thanks to Jose, Omar, Maria and the whole staff at the Spice Restaurant, the phenomenal dancers Ricardo, Esteban, Hector, Francisco, Juan, Sheila , Stacy, Patty, Maribel, Marisol, Alina, Juan Carlos, and Carlos. Also special thanks to Carla, Daniel, Sergio, Jazmin, Victor and Elvis, you guys are amazing! ALL of the waiters at the pool, restaurants and entertainment areas are the best we've ever seen! Also thank you to the amazing ladies in the Real club office, you were the first ones we encountered upon arrival and the last ones we saw at departure, and the way you take care of members is the perfect start and finish to a perfect vacation! The rooms are extraordinary and the room attendants do an awesome job! There are so many things the resort offers for guests to do right at the resort and excursions to do outside of the resort, all of them spectacular! We highly, highly recommend The Royal Playa del Carmen, you will not be disappointed and it is worth every dime. They treat you like royalty, take care of every little detail for you, and make you feel very secure your entire stay.We look forward to enjoying many, many trips there in the future!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank edkeezaceth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear edkeezaceth,

On behalf of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen staff and myself we want to take this opportunity to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such a positive review.
We will make sure to tell our staff members that you have mentioned what a great job they are doing so they can keep up the good work!
Once again, thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you at THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16,202)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Playa del Carmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 138 of 16,202 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you so much for the excellent service we had such a great experience and a special thanks to Bere Diaz Who gave us an excellent and professional service she was all the time friendly in the spa and Willing to help.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Eduardo S,

On behalf of all the staff at The Royal Playa del Carmen, we would like to express our gratitude for staying at our hotel and providing us the privilege to serve you. We are extremely pleased to know that you really enjoyed your recent stay at our resort.
We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Paya del Carmen and we had a blast at The Royal as it surpassed our expectations. Staff is amazingly friendly and super respectful. They made us feel welcomed and pampered all the time during our stay. Furthermore, the food is so tasteful. Given that there are five restaurants to choose from, each of them has its own taste and will not leave you disappointed, but "Spice and Maria Marie" are our favorite ones. The resort also offers lots of entertainment. During the day pool activities and at night broadway like shows, circus like shows as well as Karaoke. They also offer packages not part of the "all inclusive". We reserved the romantic package which includes lots of petals, champagne and strawberries and it went beyond expectations. Similarly, the private romantic dinner at the beach which left us speechless. I would say this is a must do.
Security- I feel very secure during our stay as every time we would go out with a tour company, they would make note of the pates as well as the tour company name we were going with. Similarly, when getting back, they would check us up like acknowledging our return. If you plan going outside and need a taxi, ask your concierge as they can book a taxi designated for the hotel.
The only thing we regret is not having enough time to enjoy the resort as we only went during the weekend and the resort itself has tons to offer. Therefore, I would recommend staying for at least a week as once you step in you feel like not wanting to get out.
Anyways, we feel very pleased overall and are already looking forward to returning as this resort is worth every single penny. Yes, I would definitely recommend it!!! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ana M,

On behalf of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your great review. It makes us very happy to know that you have enjoyed our restaurants, services, staff and our property in general. It is our biggest joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we truly hope to have the pleasure of doing it once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our butler was fantastic Juan Jose the best ever
In the spice restaurant we had a waiter renando excellent
By the main pool we had a waitress Sylvia so was great
In the restaurant Mediterranean Ivan was the best
Also the Matre D in spice was great
The people who worked in lobby were great
Overall all your staff were fantastic the above staff needed to be mentioned

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Antoinette M,

We would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your recent visit to THE Royal Playa del Carmen and also would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It really makes us feel good when we learn that we have been successful in accomplishing our mission of making your vacation unforgettable.
We are not surprised to know about the wonderful service provided from the people mentioned, to whom we will let them know your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Royal is my favorite all-inclusive that I have stayed at. I've reviewed the resort before, but wanted to put in a new review to give credit to one of the resort staff: Carla from Sports & Entertainment spent well over an hour with me making bracelets to take back to my 3 little girls. She was awesome, stayed long after she was supposed to have closed up shop, but wanted to make sure I got all 3 bracelets done; it's people like her that are the reason why I've been back to this resort multiple times.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Harry__Hood95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Harry__Hood95,

Thank you very much for sharing with us and all others your ROYAL experience.
It is always so rewarding to know that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay memorable
We look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
7.7 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,079 reviews
0.6 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,773 reviews
2.4 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#36 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,281 reviews
6.8 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,218 reviews
19.9 km away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €252 - €636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing