We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food”

Cocina de Autor - Grand Velas Rivera Maya
Ranked #186 of 1,428 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1,500 - US$2,000
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: "Cooking with thoughts, eating with feelings" Through a constant search of tastes, smells and textures in our environment, we offer a sensorial, playful and creative experience, in which we draw a single route to demonstrate the purity and essence of new flavors, created based on our experiences. The Author Cuisine requires thoroughness research and imagination to capture our environment and translate it into each dish. The restaurant Cocina de Autor offers a free and relaxed gastronomic tour that reflects the culture and the life around us.
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Amazing food for a resort...would definitely come back 100 times more. There is also a wine pairing and mojito pairing!! Prepare to eat a lot 12 courses... Worth it

Thank Valentina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecAccount, EXECUTIVE CHEF at Cocina de Autor - Grand Velas Rivera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Valentina, I wish to express my appreciation for sharing with us your kind comments regarding your visit the Riviera Maya and our “Amazing” cuisine. I am especially pleased to know you consider our food “incredible”, and that you perceive it all to be “worth it”.

We will be looking forward to serving you again soon. Thank you!

MARIO LÓPEZ
EXECUTIVE CHEF
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

We went for the tasting menu with the tasting wines. I’m not really a foodie and wasn’t sure about it but all of the courses were unusual and tasty.

Quite a lot of alcohol but nobody was forcing us to drain every glass! The wines were interesting including some good Mexican reds.

We also are at Piaf, Sen Lin and Lucca which were all excellent. Overall the food at Grand Velas was probably the best we’ve had at a resort.

Thank Aghinagh1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecAccount, EXECUTIVE CHEF at Cocina de Autor - Grand Velas Rivera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Your comments regarding your culinary experience at Cocina de Autor, Grand Velas Riviera Maya, tell us there is some detail we may have missed. However, we are very grateful for your time invested in reviewing your visit to our restaurant. We hope to count on your preference during your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Thank you for choosing us for your dining preferences. We send you our best wishes all the way to Cork, Ireland.

MARIO LÓPEZ
EXECUTIVE CHEF
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

I don’t drink wine and also don’t eat mushrooms but I did tonight. And it was great. You don’t place an order they serve you eleven course’s. They explain what they are serving and pair it with wine. A great experience,

Thank kelleysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecAccount, EXECUTIVE CHEF at Cocina de Autor - Grand Velas Rivera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you, so much, for such a splendid rating and for sharing your experience with us. It definitely sounds like this was a unique and memorable occasion.

We are proud to have been instrumental in adding to your culinary experience, the treats that we so much enjoy preparing. We plan every meal to achieve just that and a bit more.

We look forward to thrilling your taste buds even further. Until next time, bon appetit!.

MARIO LÓPEZ
EXECUTIVE CHEF
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Very Interesting food can see why they have won so many prize's out standing your taste buds will be wowed

Thank DEGALR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecAccount, EXECUTIVE CHEF at Cocina de Autor - Grand Velas Rivera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

It was a real honor to have served you, providing you a “very interesting” culinary experience in Cocina de Autor, our AAA certified, 5 Diamond, dining venue. And I wish to thank you for sharing with us your kind opinion and special mention of our achievements.

In behalf of our entire team, I look forward to your next visit to the beautiful beaches of Riviera Maya, where we will pamper you with our extraordinary dining, and the detailed service that characterize us. Best wishes.

MARIO LÓPEZ
EXECUTIVE CHEF
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

A very complete tasting menu, with interesting flavors and textures. A must try at the hotel, specially if you have the All Inclusive package.

Thank Roberto N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecAccount, EXECUTIVE CHEF at Cocina de Autor - Grand Velas Rivera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Thank you very much, Sr. Roberto, for sharing with us your kind impressions about our five-diamond restaurant Cocina de Autor, where you enjoyed the interesting mix of flavors and textures of our tasting menu.

As Executive Chef, I am very proud to know of your satisfaction with our all-inclusive package, and on behalf our entire staff, we look forward to serving you again on your next holiday trip to the beautiful beaches of México. Saludos to all our good friends in the beautiful city of Bogotá, Colombia.

MARIO LÓPEZ
EXECUTIVE CHEF
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocina de Autor - Grand Velas Rivera Maya also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cocina de Autor - Grand Velas Rivera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing