We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“3 nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carmen Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carmen Hotel
Ranked #141 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Brooks, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“3 nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed 3 in a room facing the street and it was great. Everything is very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food and beach service is great. The location is ideal being on the beach and in the middle of 5th ave only one short block away. Super Mario at the desk is amazing. He even phoned friends to help us move furniture. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The owners come on the weekend and are very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: We looked at the ocean front rooms and they looked great. We were happy with our second floor room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oilboyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra R, Director de Recepción at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Hello

Thanks, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    69
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
36
90
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Our stay here was great. Mario on the front desk was very helpful throughout our stay. He offered us a charger, rang places where we left items and was always kind. The rooms were clean and serviced everyday, great to also have breakfast included, which you eat near the beach. They are in a perfect location on the beach away from the loud night clubs. They also have sun lounges which are free to guests which otherwise cost you 150 pesos each. We'd stay there again. Thanks, Hugo & Annabel (Aus).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hugosampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra R, Director de Recepción at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thanks for your complements, it was a pleasure to assist and guide you,
live a happy life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay at Alhambra. We stayed in the standard room which was incredible value for the great breakfast, wonderful beach spot, perfect room, and proximity to all the action.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollywoodwp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
The Alhambra Hotel is now The Carmen Hotel featuring Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 our Pool and Sky Bar 5 floors above the Beach! We are getting great reviews please visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I would and have recommended this hotel to anyone looking to vacation in Playa. The staff is super friendly and helpful, the rooms are really clean and affordable, and all of the food in the hotel restaurant is delicious. Alhambra is reasonably priced, especially for the location. I love that it's right on the beach, near to 5th ave for shopping, and close (but not too close) to 12th street for the 'fiesta'. The view of the sea from the solarium at sunrise and sunset is breathtaking. Everyone at the Alhambra helped make my vacation truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Consuelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
The Alhambra Hotel is now The Carmen Hotel featuring Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 our Pool and Sky Bar 5 floors above the Beach! We are getting great reviews please visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Alhambra very much. Superb location. Amazing view from rooftop terrace. Excellent restaurant, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pillows were too big, a bit uncomfortable for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YasminaOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra R, Director de Recepción at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
thank you for your coments. We will do something abaut the pillows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 km away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#138 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.0 km away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#90 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.0 km away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#80 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#119 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#120 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 km away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#131 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carmen Hotel

Property: The Carmen Hotel
Address: Calle 8 con playa MZ 4 N 876 | Beach Front, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Alhambra)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open the door to the Harmonies and Healing energies of earth, sunlight and ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alhambra Playa Del Carmen
The Carmen Hotel Riviera Maya, Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing