We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Nearby Hotels
US$315
US$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$536
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$536
US$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$277
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Reve Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$733
US$436
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$483/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$396
US$332
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$380/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
US$790
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$579
US$456
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$825
US$771
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
160
130
33
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
130
33
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstay there againperfect locationhotel is locatedstaff was very friendly and helpfulfifth avenuewe've stayedfridgemamitasacpartyingsoapearplugsquintabalconiesavenidataxischichen
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

This is a very small and very cute little hotel. The rooms are very clean y comfortable. It has no elevators and 3 floors, so be prepared. The location is fantastic, almost on 5th avenue and very near the most popular beach clubs (such as Mamitas). I higly recommend this hotel, it has style and great prices. Loved it there!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank veronicav419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

Nice little hotel, 5th street has grown and even the side streets are too. Use to be once past constitution it got quieter but restaurants and bars are just cranking music from 8am til 3am sometimes. Deep base that just pounds. Very difficult to sleep. WiFi was very weak. Best signal was outside room on bench. Staff seems put out by any requests. Did not go out of say to impress or even wish you back again.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank TXGoose23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

Firstly I will say the rooms are beautiful and in a very convenient place for both the beach( which has its own issues) and the centre including 5th avenue. Sadly there were several let downs in our stay. The first is that we didn't get given our beach towels for 3 days, we had assumed they didn't come with the room as it is fairly cheap here. Secondly the rooms lack basic stuff, no coffee facilities, although there is a machine in the lobby. It also lacks decent wifi in the rooms. Which isn't essential for a holiday of course, but with only 25 rooms approx it would be an easy fix. Thirdly the breakfast included is for a restaurant around the corner, the restaurant itself is lovely and we have eaten there for other meals, but the breakfast included is a "continent breakfast", this consists of 4-6 incredibly small pieces of sometimes warm bread sometimes burned toast. 9 slices of fruit 3 pineapple 3 melon and 3 watermelon, these slices are 2 cm by 6cm max. This is accompanied by a small ramekin of yoghurt, coffee and juice. Needless to say it barely touches the sides and whilst presented well is not worth the price on the room you pay as you could use money to buy a proper breakfast.
These things are all minor our biggest disappointment came from the member of staff angelo who, upon our arrival, said "he was the man for tourist info and tours. We had already booked xplor so wanted to know the cheapest way to get there, he said he would get us a taxi for 150 pesos each way and said it would pick us up at 8am on the day. Come 8:15 we flagged our own taxi and managed to negotiate the price down to only 30 pesos more the. We would have paid through angelos "friend". We gave him the benefit of the doubt however and booked a dolphin swim through him. Again after being told he will get us a great deal we give him the cash to collect our tickets. We collected them on the 8th of November ready for our trip on the 11th. On the 10th of November angelo gives us a second ticket saying the times had changed with no real explanation why but it was all the same. When we got to the dolphin discovery we had only got the encounter package which had no swimming with the Dolphins. Baring in mind we specifically asked for this we checked the price of the encounter online. It was 20us dollars cheaper per person than we had paid angelo. I feel ripped off by the experience and it ruined the last bit of our holiday. Only stay here if you are looking to be on cheap hotel budget, but most importantly book any experiences through anywhere else than here.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank jondell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Excellent. Excellent. Excellent.
Good variety of food, fantastic service, spacious rooms, mouth quenching beverages. Only area for improvement would be the entertainment pretty repetitive after you've watched one you've watched them all!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MasterLewis88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

We had a great experience at the Coco Rio (our 11th year staying there)! The hotel is small, clean, attractive, and, for the most part, quiet. The staff is outstanding. Juan Carlos responds promptly to requests for info or reservations. His English is excellent and he is always pleasant and helpful. Angel is friendly and equally helpful. We look forward to another year!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith_SCanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews