We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, everything else meh!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
Ranked #106 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Room was beautiful and well equipped. Unfortunately it was located in very close proximity to an eternal, loud bistro with a limited play list. Very noisy. Lost my safe key, and it took two days to get the safe open. Free wifi practically non-existent and spotty.

Room Tip: Get the bottom floor.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocorio, Gerente at Coco Rio Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Hello and thank you for the comment, it´s a pleasure for us read it so we can count it and offer to our gusts a better service.

About the noise: next to us there is a hotel who plays a live music three nights per week, they finish at 11:00 pm, and it is being going for years already… , everyone who is coming to Hotel Coco Rio knows that we are located in between of the principal avenues in Playa del Carmen wich is also a plus, cause you have everything near to you it is normal because of our location the flow of the people and movement cause a little bit of noise, but inside our hotel we offer the most tranquility we can.

About the safe box: it was reported in the night around 09:00 p.m; it was impossible to fix it at that time in the night, but we fix it as soon as possible the next day when the shops are open and at 8.00 a.m the next morning we could get a worker to solve it.. maybe the gust confused the day…
Thank you so much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Coco Rio Playa del Carmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

This is a very small and very cute little hotel. The rooms are very clean y comfortable. It has no elevators and 3 floors, so be prepared. The location is fantastic, almost on 5th avenue and very near the most popular beach clubs (such as Mamitas). I higly recommend this hotel, it has style and great prices. Loved it there!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank veronicav419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

Nice little hotel, 5th street has grown and even the side streets are too. Use to be once past constitution it got quieter but restaurants and bars are just cranking music from 8am til 3am sometimes. Deep base that just pounds. Very difficult to sleep. WiFi was very weak. Best signal was outside room on bench. Staff seems put out by any requests. Did not go out of say to impress or even wish you back again.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank TXGoose23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

Firstly I will say the rooms are beautiful and in a very convenient place for both the beach( which has its own issues) and the centre including 5th avenue. Sadly there were several let downs in our stay. The first is that we didn't get given our beach towels for 3 days, we had assumed they didn't come with the room as it is fairly cheap here. Secondly the rooms lack basic stuff, no coffee facilities, although there is a machine in the lobby. It also lacks decent wifi in the rooms. Which isn't essential for a holiday of course, but with only 25 rooms approx it would be an easy fix. Thirdly the breakfast included is for a restaurant around the corner, the restaurant itself is lovely and we have eaten there for other meals, but the breakfast included is a "continent breakfast", this consists of 4-6 incredibly small pieces of sometimes warm bread sometimes burned toast. 9 slices of fruit 3 pineapple 3 melon and 3 watermelon, these slices are 2 cm by 6cm max. This is accompanied by a small ramekin of yoghurt, coffee and juice. Needless to say it barely touches the sides and whilst presented well is not worth the price on the room you pay as you could use money to buy a proper breakfast.
These things are all minor our biggest disappointment came from the member of staff angelo who, upon our arrival, said "he was the man for tourist info and tours. We had already booked xplor so wanted to know the cheapest way to get there, he said he would get us a taxi for 150 pesos each way and said it would pick us up at 8am on the day. Come 8:15 we flagged our own taxi and managed to negotiate the price down to only 30 pesos more the. We would have paid through angelos "friend". We gave him the benefit of the doubt however and booked a dolphin swim through him. Again after being told he will get us a great deal we give him the cash to collect our tickets. We collected them on the 8th of November ready for our trip on the 11th. On the 10th of November angelo gives us a second ticket saying the times had changed with no real explanation why but it was all the same. When we got to the dolphin discovery we had only got the encounter package which had no swimming with the Dolphins. Baring in mind we specifically asked for this we checked the price of the encounter online. It was 20us dollars cheaper per person than we had paid angelo. I feel ripped off by the experience and it ruined the last bit of our holiday. Only stay here if you are looking to be on cheap hotel budget, but most importantly book any experiences through anywhere else than here.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank jondell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Excellent. Excellent. Excellent.
Good variety of food, fantastic service, spacious rooms, mouth quenching beverages. Only area for improvement would be the entertainment pretty repetitive after you've watched one you've watched them all!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AgapeWins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 km away
El Patio Hotel & Suites
El Patio Hotel & Suites
#141 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
37 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#116 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
519 reviews
0.0 km away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#98 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#102 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
465 reviews
0.1 km away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#47 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
505 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#94 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Rio Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Rio Playa del Carmen

Address: Calle 26 no 125 | Entre 5ta y 10a Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €39 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Rio Playa del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Rio Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Rio Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Coco Rio
Coco Rio Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing