We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix of Thai & Mediterranean”
Review of Imprevist

Imprevist
Ranked #23 of 1,487 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Imprevist is a Catalan word which means the “Unexpected“. Dining here is experiencing these wonderful dishes that leaves you surprisingly unexpected everytime. The restaurant is situated in a quaint magical street in the Heart of a Playa del Carmen that will make the night, a night to wish would never end. After several years of experience and learning from European chefs; Chef Juan Diego Solombrino is well known for his incredible combination of Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine. Preparing dishes of unique flavor, creating art with in each presentation. He personally hand select the products focusing on the menu to provide a wide variety so that everyone can enjoy their meal, from vegetarian options to oriental, excellent seabass or steak ending with the delight of a chocolate fondant berry sorbet. “Cooking is an art, and for me it is the only art that stimulates all senses. The moment when you take your first bite, all your senses comes together to experience a delightful aroma, flavor and textures of food” - Chef Juan Diego Solombrino.
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The place is small and adorable.. located one block from the beach. The staff is friendly and attentive. Great drink menu, try the Imprevist Margherita.. Passion fruit & habenero... very spicy and refreshing, or the ginger martini.
One side of the menu is Mediterranean, the other is Asian... Our waiter, Andres, brought out an amuse bouche of rice paper wrapped veggies with mango & berry sauce... it was an explosion of flavors...
We ordered off of both sides including salad with gorgonzola & figs and Mahi Mahi sashimi. The fish of the day was grouper and it was served either in a poblano cream sauce or in a red curry.. both were great! With every course, they gave us new utensils & plates.
We stopped in a couple of times for a drink and they gave us little appetizers to enjoy as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Lisa V,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such great feedback following your culinary experience at Imprevist Resto & Wine.

It is greatly rewarding to hear that you enjoyed our International / Asian Fusion cuisine during the evening, delicious appetizers, refreshing cocktails and of course the service provide by our dedicated associates.

At Imprevist Resto & Wine we aim to make all of our guests feel at home, by providing a cozy and intimate atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon again during our fine dining or breakfast/brunch experience.

Warmest Regards,
Barbara Alvarez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Fresh ingredients, top-notch service and cozy interior made for an excellent evening. We had the duck breast and pad thai, both were amazing. Small menu, but everything seemed just a notch above its sister restaurant the Plank. Would recommend and would return; thanks for a great dinner. We did receive a discount on our meals for being guests at Porta Playa Condos.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PlanoCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear PlanoCW,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent culinary experience at Imprevist Resto & Wine.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed a remarkable culinary experience thanks to our exceptional International / Fine dining cuisine and excellent service provide by our dedicated associates.

At Imprevist Resto & Wine we aim to make all of our guests feel at home during our fine dining and brunch / breakfast services.

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such great feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon again.

Warmest Regards,
Barbara Alvarez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

They serve you a basket of different little breads to try with homemade papaya marmalade. Then they give you a fruit plate with yogurt, honey, and granola that you can add on top. They had a green juice and other juices to try. The dishes we ordered were incredible and had the best flavors. I got the chicken enchiladas with mole sauce. We couldn't believe how yummy it was. I would make sure I came here to eat if I came back. Not too expensive for excellent quality.

Thank Chadfrisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Chadfrisby,

Many thanks for your detailed and kind words after your recent culinary experience at Imprevist Resto & Wine.

It is so wonderful to hear that you were delighted by the diversity and high quality of all our breakfast and brunch specialties. It is also the excellent service provided by our dedicated associates what creates a memorable experience at both our evening and morning services.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Imprevist Resto & Wine again very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Barbara Alvarez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

We found this place by accident as it is not on the main "tourist" street. It was close to our hotel, the Hyatt, and is centrally located. The food is outstanding! The prices are reasonable. The staff is very friendly. We shared a bottle of wine which is maybe a little more expensive than other places but was still not bad. The food is median priced but the quality makes it well worth it. They have a nice outside patio or you can be inside with A/C. We had the Mongolian beef and the Salmon. Both were delicious and just the right portion size. They gave us each a small appetizer which was very tasty. I would highly recommend this place for a nice dinner.

Thank divergirl1Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Divergirl1Phoenix,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such great feedback following your culinary experience at Imprevist Resto & Wine.

It is greatly rewarding to hear that you enjoyed our International / Asian Fusion cuisine during the evening, delicious appetizers, high quality bottles of wine and of course the service provide by our dedicated associates.

At Imprevist Resto & Wine we aim to make all of our guests feel at home, by providing a cozy and intimate atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon again during our fine dining or breakfast/brunch experience.

Warmest Regards,
Barbara Alvarez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere. Reasonable prices for food. Wine was good but a little pricey. Food was very good. I had Mongolian beef and my wife had Salmon over asparagus. Bother very well done and tasty. I would definitely go back.

Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Owen B,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent culinary experience at Imprevist Resto & Wine.

We are very pleased to know that you and your wife enjoyed a remarkable culinary experience thanks to our exceptional International / Fine dining cuisine and excellent service provide by our dedicated associates.

At Imprevist Resto & Wine we aim to make all of our guests feel at home during our fine dining and brunch / breakfast services.

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such great feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon again.

Warmest Regards,
Barbara Alvarez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imprevist also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Imprevist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing