We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third spectacular stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Ranked #13 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I just returned from our third stay at this beautiful and small resort to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. Each visit has been equally impressive despite the fact that this year’s trip was the rainiest vacation of our lives!
We love the small, quiet and private nature of this property. The service is as good as anything we have experienced around the world. The food is excellent and the property is always in excellent shape.
We didn’t use the spa facilities this trip but have loved it in the past. I used the gym most mornings and we enjoyed long walks along the beach.
The management group is very attentive and always trying to ensure you are happy. They create some interesting activities without creating a circus. We love this spot and will return next year to celebrate our 25th with their special staff, namely; Edgar, Francisco, Pepe, Guadeloupe and many other warm and friendly staff! Amazing management job Pedro Lara!!

Gracias Viceroy Mayan Riviera!

Peter & Lara

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICEROYRM, Director General at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Peter & Lara,

I am delighted by your reviews . Thank you for taking the time to write to me and thank you for your continuous preference throughout these years celebrating such an important date with us.

It gives me an immense sense of satisfaction to learn your feelings about our jungle retreat and that you undoubtedly enjoyed your time and service provided by my dedicated members.

Thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to your home away from home soon.

Pedro Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After two very nice experiences at Nizuc, Cancun & Casa Malca, Tulum we expected to have a super finish (2 days) to our great holiday in Mexico at Viceroy Riviera Maya. The Viceroy brand has for my wife & I been a guarantee for top class after spending several vacations on Viceroy Anguilla and we thought that we were in a special place and safe hands in Playa del Carmen, but we were very much wrong taking this for granted!

The first challenge we faced was the fact that we booked an Ocean View Room (600 GBP per night), which basically was a Pool View Room where you had to focus hard in order to get a sight of the ocean! Secondly, at arrival my wife went to the 1st floor restaurant in order to secure a table with Seaview which she secured for dinner. When we arrived 20 min too late in the evening because of unexpected rain shower they had sold our table and put us at the very back of the restaurant. When I challenged why they did they not call us, they started lying that booking a specific table was not possible and after my wife challenged big time back because we could do it in the afternoon, we basically did not see any staff other than when the plates arrived at the table. Furthermore, below on the ground floor (open surroundings) they played techno at very high level, at dinner time with no guests at all, and when I asked what the basis for the set up was they told me that if we paid 25 USD we could drink all the tequila we wanted! The biggest joke ever looking at the elderly couples looking for a quite nice evening. It continued to be a nightmare with the loud teenage style music next to our villa until 11pm where it fortunately stopped!

Next morning we wanted to have breakfast at the beach restaurant and the fact that I did not have a t-shirt was a major issue and I had to go back and change and at the same time three hours later watching people with no shirts as you normally have at beach bars & restaurants! The price level at the hotel exact the same base as the other two in Cancun and Tulum except two factors, the tax of 16% to be added and tips of 15% automatically added to your bill, being absolut ridiculous offering the very low service at the hotel! During day two I was approached by two so called hotel coordinators - one after the other - who wanted the same story on what happened in the restaurant and that management would be briefed, but absolute nothing happened and my mistake was obviously that we did not shout for one hotel manager to take action and reimburse! On the evening of day 2, Sunday we had the pleasure of basically joining a disco night at the outdoor club (neighbor) which basically, meant you felt like being in a night club which was not what the purpose with your wife for a Sunday dinner and evening evening in what they called a quite jungle!

In all fairness to the hotel they did not charge for 40 minutes extra late check out as the coordinator mentioned! The 1* overall rating for Viceroy Riviera Maya given to the two great guys, Omar & Edgar who did a fantastic job supporting us at the pool during day time and they deserve all the positive appreciation we can give...

PS: The quality of the sea and beach cannot even be compared to any of the two other places we were visiting in Mexico and it was not even considered to have a swim in the sea because of the quality.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICEROYRM, Director General at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear mhb2017

I would like to personally thank you for your recent stay, valuable feedback and continuous preference to our brand. All feedback from our guests is highly appreciated as it assists us in monitoring customer satisfaction. I hope you will accept my apologies for the difficulties you experienced and the inconveniences that these may have caused you. We strive for excellent accommodation and we will do out outmost to improve when situations like these may ever reoccur. I do regret to learn that we did not meet your expectations in regards to the room category as the great majority of our guests enjoy its view immensely. About your restaurant experience please rest assured that this is not indicative of the service in which we pride ourselves in and I thank you understand that sometimes mistakes do happen despite the numerous checks and measures. Your experience has lead me to take immediate actions and corrective training when situations like these may ever reoccur and I appreciate your patience very much.

Please know that we are committed in providing excellent customer service and are genuinely concerned with each guest’s experience. Comments such as yours assist us in maintaining our commitment to our guests and help us improve every day.

I truly appreciate your kind patience and we look forward in welcoming you soon to have a taste of our Resort with better expectations.

Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We flew to the Viceroy Riviera Maya for a one-week vacation with friends. We were looking for a top notch, small, quiet resort where we could find rest & relaxation ... to recharge from a hectic season at our hospitality business. Though the drive to the Viceroy wasn't memorable, we were wide eyed with wonder as we stepped out of the taxi to the circular open-air lobby. We were greeted warmly, offered a refreshing coconut & lemon grass drink, along with a chilled washcloth for our hands. We were escorted through the tropical vegetation to our Villa. It was absolutely beautiful: spacious and clean with a comfortable king bed, double vanity, indoor and outdoor showers, thatched roof, private "plunging pool", hammock, flat screen tv with Bose sound system. The resort with its two pools is sandwiched between the rain forest and the ocean. The majority of our meals were onsite; food quality and variety were excellent. Service throughout the resort was unsurpassed anywhere. Exemplary service around the pools was provided by Pepe & Edgar; breakfasts were served by William, Israel, & Roger. Jacqueline arranged for all our transportation needs, plus a 4-hour catamaran cruise, and a day trip to Isla Mujeres. I cannot praise the Viceroy Rivera Maya and its staff enough! Our trip was memorable for its comfort and luxury. It was outstanding for its dedication and commitment to "over the top" hospitality. We are already planning our return trip in November 2018.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 850thomasn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICEROYRM, Director General at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 850thomasn

Thank you for contributing with a review of your recent stay at the Viceroy Riviera Maya. I have shared this note with my entire team who is very satisfying to hear about such a detail experience; we always strive to provide a personalized and unique service to our guests and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel service and facilities met your expectations.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 5 nights at Viceroy Riviera Maya earlier this month and were delighted with the experience. The villa was fabulous, and although dining costs were high, the quality of food and drink was superb.

The real standout experience, though, was the thoughtful and kind attentiveness of the staff, without it ever feeling overbearing or put-on. The team there seem to love their work, and it shows in everything they do. Let me give a couple of examples - I'd taken a nap in our room and later wandered down to the pool, where I thought my husband was. Since I didn't see him anywhere, I asked Francisco if he'd seen him. Oh yes, he said. He went for a walk up the beach but had come back 10 minutes ago and walked back up toward our villa. I said he wasn't there either, but never mind I'll take a lounger and enjoy the beach breezes. A few short minutes later, Francisco came over and said he'd called around and my husband was at the spa, and would I like them to get him on the phone for me. Most folks would not have taken that extra step, and the willingness to do so without being asked, was refreshing. How about this one: I went to the reception area to ask for another copy of the Conde Nast magazine that I'd mis-placed. I was happy enough to be given the copy off the coffee table with a smile, and headed back down to my villa. As I was leaving, the gentleman called to me, saying that he'd given me the November issue but if it was the October one I was after, he'd investigate and have it sent to my room....Are you kidding me?! Without even being asked, he'd taken that extra step just to be sure I was happy. I told my husband the story over dinner that night, and we joked that it may be impossible to adjust to being back home after we left. I commend the team for their warm, thoughtful service, the local management for instilling that sense and standard of service, and the Viceroy organization for creating a place where customers feel special and welcome. This was my first Viceroy experience, and I will be going out of my way to stay at this and any other Viceroy property in the future. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Noelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICEROYRM, Director General at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Noelle L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at Viceroy Riviera Maya, we are delighted and overwhelmed with your heartwarming review. It gives us an immense sense of satisfaction to learn your feelings about our jungle retreat and that you undoubtedly enjoyed your time and service provided by my dedicated members. The reward my staff feels when our guests share praises, believe me is their greatest pleasure. Your words will not only motivate us, but inspire the entire team to continue providing the best service experience.

We look forward to welcoming you in your next visit to the Riviera Maya.

Warmest regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the greeting by Eduardo to our Mayan Blessing, to the magical landscape they have created in the rainforest, to our unbelievable villa with a private plunge pool, the Viceroy is beyond our wildest dreams of a vacation experience. The guest service by Pepe, Roger, Edgar, Jaqueline and Omar, as well as the rest of the staff, went above and beyond in every way. Thank you all for creating a perfectly magical week in paradise!
Rick & Tom

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacaptain539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICEROYRM, Director General at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear seacaptain539

Thank you for contributing a review of your recent stay at the Viceroy Riviera Maya. We value all feedback from our guests as it assists us in improving our services and understanding where we stand in the eyes of our dear guests. Eduardo, Pepe and the rest of the team thank you for your praises. I should say we enjoyed serving you as much as you enjoyed our service.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel service and facilities met your expectations. We look forward to host you again in your next visit to the Riviera Maya.

Warmest regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.2 km away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,177 reviews
2.6 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,271 reviews
3.1 km away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,323 reviews
11.2 km away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Playa Maroma
1,208 reviews
10.5 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Riviera Maya

Address: Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €412 - €1,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport and three miles from popular Playa del Carmen, Viceroy Riviera Maya is a serene hideaway set on the turquoise Caribbean amid a lush jungle ambiance. As Riviera Maya’s #1 resort in Conde Nast Traveler’s 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards, Viceroy offers world-class amenities, personalized pampering, exquisitely appointed villa accommodations with private patio and plunge pool, refined Mexican cuisine accented with international touches at La Marea and Mexican-Mediterranean fare at the seaside Coral Grill. Mayan influences abound, from the Mayan Blessing performed on arrival by the resort’s Shaman to the Mayan healing techniques offered at the award-winning spa. A Lagoon Pool, private pier, fitness center and traditional temazcal sweatlodge are among the resort’s many other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tides Riviera Maya Hotel
Tides Riviera Maya Resort
Ikal Del Mar
Viceroy Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing