We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6th Trip to RPM!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Ranked #29 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“6th Trip to RPM!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We are in our thirties and travelled to RPM in February with Delta Vacations out of Detroit, MI. Our flight to Cancun was 20 minutes early as was our departure home. As it's our sixth visit to the RPM that in itself is telling of how much we enjoy the resort and its exceptional staff. The gorgeous beach is endlesss and clean with much shade to be found in the way of palm trees and hammocks. The pool and grounds will be getting a remodel this fall. Watching Luis Riu and his team brainstorming at the resort was evident of how big these changes are going to be. Service at this resort is absolutely amazing from the wait staff to the managers and is what sets this hotel apart from others that we have frequented. Manager Maria Jose, Director Francesca and Sub-Director Fermin made personal efforts to make us as return guests feel very welcome ~ as well as the entire Riu staff who couldn't do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. We found the strength of the drinks perfect, and never had to ask for one~ RPM is amazing with this...
We rated the specialty restaurants as 1. the Fusion Krystal 2. the Japanese, Miyagi 3. the steakhouse. We didn't try their Brazillian restaurant. We found the buffet to be full of variety and flavour with great presentation each night and our favourite place to eat. The chocolate sushi was surprisingly wonderful as was the new coffee/cappuccino machine in the lobby. Entertainment was the usual nightly shows, but in addition to this some very fun nights of salsa and games in the courtyard creating a fun, lively atmosphere ~ a little different from years past. For some added livelier entertainment, the Riu Tequila was just across the street to mix things up, with the Yucatan next door a close second to the Tequila.
We took some nice walks into Playa and found the vendors to be fun and pretty laid back. Had a great stay despite all the rain and can't wait to see all the amazing changes to come ~ one thing that won't change thankfully, will be the amazing Riu staff...

Room Tip: South side rooms quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fllipflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,691
    1,214
    325
    130
    84
See reviews for
1,298
2,602
53
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (942)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Couldn't fault the place ( smelly lobby though! ) until our last day. Went to Mexico to attend our daughters wedding further up the coast. Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel although we only ate there twice in ten days as we went out to eat & meet up with daughter and future Mexican husband. On our last day we didn't have time to go into town to meet them so arranged to meet on the beach outside the hotel. I have to stay in the shade as a MS sufferer so daughter had to come and find us but did not encroach on land owned by Riu. Within minutes a very rude and loud security guard demanded that they leave or more security would arrive. Would not listen to what we had to say. Was very embarassing and ruined the end of the holiday. At no time did they pass the signs saying 'guests only' and had no food or drink from the hotel. NOT HAPPY!

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the courtyard should be quieter. Entertainment in the courtyard every night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just returned from the Riu Palace Mexico and had an absolutely fantastic holiday. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the fountain which was great. We ate at all of the speciality restaurants and really enjoyed them all however, I do think the Japanese and the Fusion are the best ones, we also ate in the buffet where the food was great we ate later so there was music playing whilst eating outside which was really nice to listen to.
The staff are just amazing they work so hard to make your holiday and they certainly do that you never have to wait for a drink whilst sitting at the bar they even top them up without you having to ask!!!.
They are refurbishing the rooms at the end of August and room 1 has already been refurbished so we went to have a look at it and it looked fantastic done in black and white but looked really great. Please don't take notice of the negative reviews if you are thinking of booking some people just like to moan!!!
We had a truly fantastic time and can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Room facing either fountain or courtyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We visited the Riu for a week over mid-winter school break with our 8 & 10 year olds. Overall, very enjoyable vacation - very nice employees, facilities are nice (albeit a bit dated), great beach, and the food was for the most part really good. Please tip - we brought 100 - $1 bills - they don't make a lot and many don't.

The Good
*beautiful beach, good waves for boogey boarding, and palm trees in the sand so you had your choice of sun or shade. We found that we could always find a lounger at any time so no need to get there early. Our kids loved playing in waves and digging in the sand.
*The lobby bar was great. Very relaxing, enjoyed banana martinis and the kids could get virgin cocktails. Super service
*Courtyard seating - a great place for after dinner cocktails, listen to music, and we met a lot of great people. They bring the drinks quickly. They do have Don Julio here (but not at pool)
*Pool bar (Ernesto was great)- occassionally busy but they keep them coming. We will bring large mugs next time - drinks are weak but you ask them to top it off with coconut rum or tequilla. They had volleyball games going & the pool was plenty big. The deep ends were a bit deep for our 8 year old but he was fine with 3 foot section near bar. Kids enjoyed the kiddie cocktails. Poolbar is in the shade late afternoon which is a nice break from son.
*Restaurants - Japanese was very good and our kids liked it which is saying something. Brazilian had some nice skewers. Fusion had a couple interesting options like pumpkin scallop soup which we liked. Steak house - we loved the bake alaska (see more under the bad section). Buffet - a ton of choices, you can pour yourself a mamosa/blood mary and choices of omelletes, occassional good sea food (giant shrimp, crab, sushi,) extensive fruit selections, etc. We didn't get bored.
*Room - loved the sitting area, cigar on the balcony (small balcony), and towel decorations (swan was great) . More on room under ok/bad. We were fortunate to have 2nd floor toward the pool so nice view of courtyard and quieter.
*Hotel - fountains are very beautiful - nice facility.
*Staff - 99% were super friendly. We kept running into a maitrede who rememembered our kids and joked with them.
*not related to hotel, but check Edventure Tours if you want a great day outing of Tulum/Coba, zip lines, cenotes, and swimming with the turtles. Highly recommend.

The O.K.
*workout room was basic, served its purpose.
*mini bar - liquor dispensors were full and fridge replenished but without proper mixers, you really wouldn't drink the vodka or tequilla. Tip - bring mug, fill it up from your dispenser, and then take to beach to make your drinks stronger.
*Steakhouse - meat was so so. Not sure if beef is just bad in Mexico, edible but nothing exciting. Almost "bad" but saved by the baked alaska.
*lunch at restaurants near pool - didn't ever change options. Fun to build your own taquitos or other stuff to a point but got repititious. Italian didn't have much of interest except when kids wanted pizza.
*evening shows. After a few cocktails, the lip synched reenactment of movies hits was kind of funny, with no cocktails, you may not be so impressed. You can tell they really try hard to put on fun shows but you just can't have too high of expectations.

The Bad
*some Europeans just shouldn't be wearing speedos or going topless on the beach
*beach bar - nice location, but I was watching them "wave" the bottle over the top of the blender without putting much in. Order a straight shot to go with your margarita and dump it in to make it a drink.
*Kids club - tiny and not suited for those over 5-6. Fortunately, my kids (8 and 10) finally made friends with other kids on beach to hang out with during evening shows and swimming. They did enjoy the beach activities like soccer which was open to all ages. There is not much for kids 7+ at this resort. The evening kids shows were totally hokey but my kids went anyway and kind of had fun (and gave us a chance to sit outside, have a relaxing cocktail, and socialize).
*men should be able to wear long shorts in the restaurants at night.

The Ugly
*beds with plastic under sheets and hard pillows are hot and not super comfortable. I would prefer to be more than 6 inches from my kids in the next bed.
*our toilet didn't flush completely ever. We had to resort to multiple flushes.
*small balcony. I could enjoy my cigar and brandy but it was a tight fit.

Overall, we had a great time and would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor courtyard toward pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gocougsNorthBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My Wife and I spent 2 fabulous weeks at the Riu Palace Mexico for our Honeymoon back in January and we had the best time ever!
After a pleasant transfer from the airport we were greeted at the hotel with a warm welcome and a cold cocktail and allocated a room on the first floor facing the Riu hotel next door. The room was lovely, plenty of space and an absolutely massive bed! Others have mentioned that the bed was hard but it was perfectly fine for us and we never noticed any join where the 2 normal beds had been put together to form one. We did mention to reception that it was out honeymoon and that our travel agent had advised to ask about the free fruit basket for honeymooners and were told that they would sort something out for us, later that day they called us over as we were passing and told us that they had upgraded our room! we were now in a similar room but with an inward facing balcony overlooking the internal grounds and fountains, even though we were perfectly happy with the original room, having that view really did make quite an improvement to our stay!

The hotel is kept spotlessly clean, one morning when still suffering from jet lag I popped to the bar to get coffees at about 6 am and I counted 15 staff members cleaning and polishing just in the 50 yards from the reception area to the bar!

The food was excellent! The buffet for breakfast in particular was magnificent, My wife was particularly enamoured with the Omelette station whereas I always found myself in a battle to resist visiting the waffle and pancake area after picking up my bacon and scrambled eggs. With chocolate milk and champagne (hey, we were on honeymoon!) to wash it down we were like pigs in muck!
As with all the staff we encountered, the guys at breakfast were great, really friendly and accommodating and able to find us a table in the outside area even when the hotel was apparently at capacity during our second week.
We didn’t visit the buffet much for evening meals, preferring to use the speciality restaurants most nights, we never had any problem getting a table for these for either the early or late sitting. With the jet lag we tended to go for the late sitting first week (giving time for a nap!) and then the late sitting the second week.
We visited Fusion 3 times, this was our favourite and managed to have at least 1 different course each time, The Japanese we visited twice which again lovely.
The Brazilian & Steakhouse we visited once each, not ideal for my vegetarian wife but she managed to find something nice to eat as she does eat fish. The other nights we ate at the buffet or in PDC as we had a couple of days/nights on the town.

We did visit the other Rius apart from Lupita during our stay and although they all seemed lovely we came away feeling Glad that we chose the one we did as it just seemed to have everything exactly as we wanted it. I used the Sports bar at the Tequila a couple of mornings to catch the Manchester united games but as it was only a 5 minute walk from door to door I didn’t mind the Riu Palace not having a sports bar at all.
We loved loved loved the Cubana bar, trying all the different cocktails and martinis. We liked that it was quite elegant and made us feel like getting dressed up before our meals rather than going casual, not that you would be made to feel uncomfortable if you did but it just made it feel all that more special and exclusive for us.

We are beachy people and spent most days there rather than at the pool, the beach area is fantastic whether you want shade or full exposure to the sunshine you can always grab a bed and pretty much pick your spot. You can either walk up to the beach bar if you fancy a drink or wait for one of the guys to come round with their tray of ready made cocktails.
We tended to stop off at the pool on our way back to the room for a few drinks at the swim up bar or sat around the pool, the sun doesn’t seem to reach much of the pool area in the late afternoon, but we had usually had enough of it for the day by then anyway.

Now to the hotel’s main asset and best feature, Its wonderful staff! They really could not be faulted, always friendly and eager to help, we have never experienced that level of service before.
Coming from England I am usually quite daunted by the etiquette of when and how much to tip when in countries where it is the norm, especially when doing it face to face when you are not paying a bill after a meal. I think we muddled through even though we never felt like the staff were looking for a tip, or were annoyed if you didn’t. We would normally give 50 pesos at meals and 20 pesos to the drinks guys but not every time, Don’t worry too much as you soon get an idea of how to approach it and a feel for when & how much to tip.

The resort of Playa Del Carmen is definitely worth a visit, its about 30 mins walk or 70 pesos in a taxi, there are some lovely bars and places to eat, worth going for a few drinks in the day or night if you like that sort of thing.
Also I would recommend Coco Bongos if you like a bit of a party night out and I would definitely recommend the VIP as you get drinks to your table and a better view and its good to have seats at is a pretty long show. A tip if you are coming from the UK maybe leave it until the 2nd week so that the Jet lag has worn off as the show starts at 11 and goes on till 2 (we got home about 4.30am) so you will need plenty of energy!

We also caught the bus to Cancun one day and had a day there, it was really cheap getting the bus and we also used the 2 Rius there for a swim and drinks as they are close to Hard Rock and the other bars that are open in the day. Just don’t miss the last bus home(about 9pm I think) as we almost did!!

Also Xel Ha is a great place to visit for the day with drinks and food included and great snorkelling around the massive lagoon, it is great that you can wander wherever you like around the lagoon (within reason) and get in and out at lots of different points. You really feel as though are exploring the area rather than in park and doing lots of queuing.

Anyway thanks for Reading and thanks to the Riu Palace Hotel and their staff for an amazing, unforgettable Honeymoon!!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the fountains are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank RustyBamf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
3.0 km away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#56 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,392 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
35.5 km away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,937 reviews
4.7 km away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing