We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
15 people are viewing this hotel
Iberostar.com
US$255
View deal
Booking.com
US$257
View deal
Trip.com
US$257
US$169
View deal
SAVE US$88
Free cancellation until 21/04/21
Hotels.comUS$255
travelup.comUS$237
PricelineUS$257
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,935)
Filter reviews
8,935 results
Traveller rating
5,831
2,172
604
190
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,831
2,172
604
190
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star friends howler monkeys tucan quetzal jungle area specialty restaurants swim up bar dressel divers japanese restaurant ate at the japanese towel hut pool beach other resorts gated community apple vacations magic show plenty of chairs buffet food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 8,935 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2021 via mobile

This was the perfect place to stay even in view of the pandemic. I felt safer and more comfortable here than anywhere since the pandemic began. For all of Cuomo's propaganda in NY state, it was only once we landed back in JFK that I began seeing workers without masks indoors. For the entire duration of our trip I have never seen a worker not following strict covid rules despite being outdoors almost 100% of the time. I had daily group lessons with Perla (pilates etc..) and it was so amazing to do so by the sea with such a great instructor. The diving center and teachers like Daniele and Marcello were wonderful. Every day we could choose from so many safe activities.. volleyball kayaking windsurfing.. just the perfect vacation spot. Of course if all you care about is eating (like some of the other reviewers) then maybe you should stay home and go to red lobster!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank silviafU6360GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Director General at Iberostar Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2021

Dear guest,

We would like to, first of all, thank you for your kind review of your recent holiday with us at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Such pleasant feedback of our hotel is, of course, a great pleasure to read and confirms for us that our daily actions are worthwhile and that we are on the right path with our numerous efforts.

Likewise, we are really glad to know that you felt safe at all times thanks to our How We Care philosophy. Our goal is for our customers, staff and collaborators to feel safer than ever and as good as always. That's why we are committed to providing them with strict health and safety measures, peace of mind, but also enjoyment. We have implemented more than 300 procedures in rooms, restaurants, pools and properties that offer an even more personalized and secure vacation experience.

Again we thank you for your positive review of our hotel and we hope that we will continue to provide you with excellent holiday experiences in the future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

As some other reviews mentioned, Tucan and Quetzal are two sides of one resort. All of Tucan is completely closed except for building 10 (the ocean-front rooms). Only the Japanese restaurant and the buffet are open on the Tucan side. The Tucan lobby is completely closed so you will be dropped off on the Quetzal side (even if you had rooms reserved for Tucan). I believe the reason for this is that the hotels are operating at such a small capacity (only 10-15% full) it makes no sense for them to staff both sides. We had ocean front rooms and we stayed on the Tucan side.

The Covid testing was scheduled out of the lobby. We scheduled this the second day of our stay. It was free and we booked through a tied party, Apple Vacations. We had a party of 3 families and all of us had evening appointments two days prior to departure. We arrived 30 min early, got in line outside the conference rooms on the Tucan lobby side, and were done in 20 min. Our results weren’t available until the following morning. They print you out a copy. We also had to fill out a CDC attestation form to return to the US, and asked the lobby to print a copy for each passenger.

To depart Mexico you also need to do the Traveler Risk Factor Questionnaire. It’s available 12 hours prior to departure. You create an account on a website and get a QR code to present at security in Cancun. You can add passengers to one account, but we couldn’t get the QR code to load for multiple passengers, so we just made a new account for each traveler. This took some time so allow for that while on wifi at the resort (we had great wifi service throughout the resort, even on the beach).

There is a star prestige reserved area on the beach with premium beach chairs and alcohol at a private bar. This costs $40 per person per day.

Our experience was overall positive. We booked a walkout room but were placed on a beach view room our first night due to overbooking by the hotel. Had to move rooms on day 2, which wasn’t ideal. Overall the food and drinks were good. The buffet got repetitive but you could always find something to eat. Book the restaurants ASAP on arrival. We found they book fast and operate on minimal capacity due to Covid.

We traveled with a kid and didn’t stay for the shows except the fire show, which they do on the beach. They keep the beach bar open late that day. The theater bar opens in the evening, which was nice. And the Quetzal lobby bar has live music in the evening too. The swim-up bar is closed but the pool itself is open. The kids play area and kiddy pool were completely closed.

Otherwise the animals and jungle are as beautiful as ever. Howler monkeys, flamingos, coatis, you name it. The beach was amazing. Sand was clean and great snorkeling if you walk to the Sandos House of Palmaii next door (to the south). You only swim a short distance out from the beach to some man-made reefs that are filled with fish and plant life.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Director General at Iberostar Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2021

Dear guest,

We are grateful to you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your latest holiday, and for sharing the experience with us.

Your enthusiastic comments about the prime pillars we set in place to ensure amazing holidays for our guests are great to receive.
Once again, we thank you for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2021

Recommend 100% best service, hotel, food, and beach. Best staff, one staff named yomi, excellent Member. So many activities to do here and outside of hotel. Nearby town where you can walk and buy things.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Randy2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Director General at Iberostar Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2021

Dear guest,

We would like to, first of all, thank you for your kind review of your recent holiday with us at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Such pleasant feedback of our hotel is, of course, a great pleasure to read and confirms for us that our daily actions are worthwhile and that we are on the right path with our numerous efforts.

Again we thank you for your positive review of our hotel and we hope that we will continue to provide you with excellent holiday experiences in the future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2021

Poor variety of food, always the same.
They changed the hotel reservation without prior notice, I had booked in Tucán and they transferred me to Quetzal, despite the fact that there were guests in the Tucan, They never offered to change me.
Rooms in poor condition and old
They don't have identified foods with a shellfish allergy
I definitely don't recommend the hotel

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fernandozh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Director General at Iberostar Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2021

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your review and say that it is through feedback such as yours that we can continue to maintain our excellent standards.

We truly regret to know that our gastronomy did not meet your expectations. Our Chefs are always in a continuous research to provide our guests with the ultimate culinary experience and it is with great concern that we read we were not able to achieve this during your stay. We have passed on your comments to our Executive Chef for their review. Also, it is important to mention that our guests’ safety is our number one priority and our Chefs have different options available for our guests with special dietary needs. We kindly ask our guests to notify our staff in case of having any allergy.

We sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in satisfying you completely.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

I wanted to take a minute to write about our experience at Tucan/Quetzal. We live right outside of Boston, we took a direct flight from Logan Airport. Going to Cancun it was a full flight with the middle seats blocked. On the return flight it was a full flight with no middle seats blocked.

Logan airport: no lines, felt pretty safe.

Cancun: arrival was smooth and quick. They had us fill out a form about covid but never collected. They have these temperature check machines but if you don’t pay attention you don’t even notice they are there. (I didn’t even see them until my daughter pointed out)

Cancun airport return: complete madness (it could also be because it was a holiday) we returned on January 2nd.

Resort: This was out first time staying at Tucan after hearing so many great things about this resort, we had to check it out. I’m so glad we did. The staff was amazing, the food was OK (we enjoy good quality food) so I wasn’t really impressed, I felt very safe. The workers wear masks and some even wear the visors.
Resort occupancy was very busy there were a lot of people, if felt like everything was back to normal again. I asked staff and they stated it was only busy because it was New Years but after the first week of January it would be very quiet again.

Room: we stayed in the Presidential suite, it was lovely. Very spacious, we really enjoying the jacuzzi outside and the outdoor space. We are a party of 6 (2 adults and kids are 19,14,14,9) the location of the room is perfect.

Staff: They were very pleasant! It made our experience even better.

Spa: Rayna is amazing! Her massage is the best.

Ocean: water was cold at first but you get used to it. Ocean wasn’t calm and the waves were a bit high. Beach is beautiful!
Pool: water was a bit cold

Overall: We can’t wait to go back. We liked how Tucan is smaller than Paraíso complex. The kids got around by themselves, and we loved the wild life.

If you are thinking about visiting I would say go. Even though it was very busy during our stay it was a great time. We really enjoyed.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank SandraD6723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Director General at Iberostar Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful impression of your stay with us at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

It is of major importance to us that our guests appreciate our well-thought-out holiday concept. Our day to day efforts is to guarantee our guests can experience the highest levels of comfort in a really pleasant atmosphere.

Again we thank you for sharing this fabulous review of our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews