We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first trip to Riviera Maya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #40 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our first trip to Riviera Maya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We spent 4 nights (Feb 29-Mar 4) at the Iberostar Tucan. This was our first trip to Riviera Maya and also our first all-inclusive. I had read many reviews of the hotel, and we were not disappointed. We requested a king bed and topper and both requests were granted. Our room was in building 1600 which was an ideal location, halfway between lobby and beach. We loved the jungle walkways, and were like kids looking at the various animals. Only disappointment was we didn't see any of the monkeys. The pool was large and very nice. Our room was very clean and well appointed. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The beach is beautiful, there was a lot of seaweed, as noted in most reviews, but they did their best to keep it cleaned up. The water was a little rough for most of our stay but still beautiful and warm. We took a cab to the 5th Ave shops and walked back, nice long walk on the beach. Also walked to the smaller shopping area nearby, only about 5 minutes, and this was a very nice shopping area as well. It felt very safe walking in both directions from the resort, both on the beach and on the road. We also took a half-day tour to Tulum, which we both enjoyed. Because our stay was short, we could only reserve one restaurant in advance, but each day you can go to the reservation desk and see if anything is open for that night, which we did on 2 days so we did get to try 3 restaurants, the Italian, Japanese and Tropical. Would definitely recommend Italian and Japanese, Tropical was not bad. The buffet was excellent for breakfast, lunch and also dinner. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel, and although we traveled as a couple, I would especially recommend the resort to families with school-age children, they will love the animals and the many activities at the resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about Iberostar Tucan.

We are delighted to hear such positive comments and to know that you enjoyed your holidays among us so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Tucan again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Quality manager, Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,905
    1,732
    447
    152
    94
See reviews for
2,242
2,277
72
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taylorville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Just returned March 3, 2012 from a week's stay at the Iberostar Tucan in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. I read all the reviews and most of them said the same thing about the Tucan, and they were right on target. It is a wonderful place for a vacation. The scenery from the deep blue waters of the Caribbean to the jungle setting all around the resort property are breath taking. Wild creatures run rampant throughout, but don't be alarmed they seem almost like guests themselves. Peacocks, agrouti, mear cats, monkeys,parrots, tucans, several other species of birds make their home on the property. The standard rooms are like most hotels, plenty of room with a small sitting area and a decent size bathroom. I have to say the showers inour room were fantastic with plenty of hot water. The mini fridge was well stocked with bottled water, coke, coke light, sprite and two varieties of bottled beer. Our room was spotless each day, as the maid service was quick and prompt. The pool area is also very nice, lots of beach chairs and plenty of places to catch some sun. The beverage service is very good, lots of selections on tropical drinks, both alcoholic and non-alcoholic. Also several options for soft drinks at a self-service bar between the pool and the beach. The beach front is very spacious and the sand is white and rockless. I had previously stayed in Puerto Morales and the beaches there were rocky. No rocks on the beach at the Tucan or its neighbor Iberostar the Quetsal. The ala carte restaurants we dined in the LaGondola, the Steakhouse and the Uxmal were fabulous. Great entrees, average salad bar, but wonderful service. Make your reservations early, I suggest as soon as you get finished checking in, especially if you like to eat between 6:30 and 7 p.m. The evening buffet "Cozumel" left a little to be desired, but I am not a fancy type eater. There were lots of selections and you never left hungry. Breakfast at the buffet was great.....No complaints whatsoever, the food was top notch. One thing I really enjoyed about the Tucan was the buffet restaurant was open early in the morning, 4 a.m. to 6:45 a.m. for early coffee drinkers. There is some types of food available that early, but wasn't interest in eating at the early hour, just a good cup of coffee. Went on a couple of trips through Apple Vacations, Chichen Itza (the Mayan city) which was very informative. If you take that trip they say do not take much money, well if you want to buy souvenirs take some cash, the bus stops at a nice Mayan village and they wheel and deal for cash and charge more for credit cards. Also went to Explor, a zip line, water type park that just wasn't that spectacular. If you enjoy a good shopping excursions, take the $7 taxi ride to Play Del Carmen's 5th Avenue. About seven or eight city blocks of shops, vendors, bars, restaurants and convenience stores. You are just two blocks from the beach and the Ferry to Cozumel. I hope this helps with your vacation. We are already planning our next visit to the Iberostar Tucan. One more bit of advice, do not travel on a Saturday, the Cancun Airport was packed and it was a nightmare, both entering Mexico and going home. It was a two hour adventure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jeff1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review on Tripadvisor about your experience during your holidays at the Iberostar Tucan. I am incredibly pleased that your experience lived up to your expectations.
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Quality manager, Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Riviera Maya area and unfortunately not our best experience. The hotel and grounds are very pretty, but we all found it lacking in many ways. To start the trip off we had issues with getting the correct rooms (there were 3 rooms of family in total with small children). We had to ask 4 times on 3 days (somehow it never got into the computer system) after we got there to get adjoining rooms since they somehow missed the 2 requests for it prior to arriving. When we got to our rooms we had to call to get cribs, again this was requested when making the reservations and when we checked in. This was after we had to fight to get the 3 rooms even in the same building.

They did offer sitters for an extra charge, which were great, just the process of booking one was very difficult. Out of the 6 days we requested one we were only confident ahead of time for 3 days that we actually had one coming. The communication portion was greatly lacking.

The pools were very pretty, the only issue was that they were too deep to touch unless on the very edge where you enter, thus you had to swim the length of the pool which is difficult, even more so trying to hold any sort of a drink and or push a baby in a floatie. The children's pool was warm and shallow which was a plus, but it lacked any sort of interest. It was just a round pool, which works, it just would have been nice to have some sort of a fountain or interest. The swim up bar was in a separate adults only area (which I understand), but it was at least 8-10 degrees colder than the regular pool and we really couldn't stand to be in unless you were sitting in full sun. Oh yeah the pool was completely surrounded by tall lush greenery, beautiful, but the sun was gone by 3 at the latest.

Our last issue was with the food. Somehow we all missed in the reviews that there were limited reservations available for the A la carte restaurants. We stayed 7 nights and were allotted 3 reservations. We were able to visit all 5 of the restaurants, but out of the 6 of us the most that really enjoyed any 1 given meal was 2. I personally did not love any of it. It is sad when all of us stated that the buffet the last 2 nights was the best food we had eaten for dinner. The breakfast buffets were very nice, a lot to choose from. Lunches up by the main lobby were the same, but the pool side locations were greatly lacking and pretty much the same everyday. Overall I would give the food a C.

I don't want it to sound like the trip was all bad, it wasn't. The servers were very friendly and beaches were great. We just did not think that this was as impressive as we had hoped and would not recommend this location with so many others to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Iberostar Tucan.

We deeply regret the incident you experienced in your room, we always do our best to fulfill our guest requests. However, rooms location highly depend on availiability upon check in. I can assure you that we will do our utmost and work to improve your next experience with us.

Furthermore, it is important to let you know that we really appreciate your comments since they will help us to improve our services and facilities. We would like to apologize for any of the circumstances or expectations we had not been able to meet during your stay.

Finally, we are glad to hear that you felt comfortable with our team. It is very important that our staff has a good contact with our guests and welcomes them with open arms. I will be sure to pass your kind comments along to the servers.

We stay at your disposal for any further information.

Best Regards,

Quality manager, Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I had a great holiday at the Tucan. The staff were amazing, they couldnt do enough for you and were always happy! The food was lovely, I was there for 3 weeks and only used the speciality restaurants a couple of times. The entertainment was really good, much better than expected. The rooms were good and the maid service was very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan for your recent stay with us and for recommending our property to other travelers. We appreciate that you took the time to specify the highlights of your visit.
We therefore hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay. It is located directly on a large sandy beach (reconstructed a couple of years ago), which slopes gently into the sea. It is possible to walk for at least 30 minutes along the beach both north towards Playa del Carmen, which can be reached via the beach in about 40 minutes, and south away from the hotel zone. The hotel (both the grounds, common areas and rooms) is immaculately clean and well maintained. The food is plentiful and although the choice is sometimes a little repetative we always found something that we liked. The pastries served in the morning are particularly good. The staff are both professional, friendly and happy to chat if you wish to speak with them. The reception staff were particularly helpful this year, spending a good 20 minutes helping to relocate us from our allocated room when we were unhappy with its location. Excellent service and definitely greatly appreciated. We like a quiet room and the one we were initially allocated was in a location that we found too noisy for our tastes. In January / February this hotel the clientele is a mixture of families, couples, pairs/small groups of friends and some solo travellers. It is a relaxed resort, which does have a hard working entertainment team, but is not a 'wild party' hotel. We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and return for the reasons noted above. A special mention goes to Francisco who is usually on duty in the casual beach restaurant in a morning, friendly and provides an excellent level of sevice, not only did he remember us, he remembered our breakfast order, both welcome and very impressive! We are biased, we love this hotel,can't recommend it highly enough and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Alwaystravelling67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico. at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing your comments about Iberostar Tucan and for recommending our hotel so intensively.
Your point of view is very appreciated and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure for us to read such a detailed and positive review. Thank you for mentioning our cuisine, our location and for praising our staff.

We assure you that we will continue working to enhance our services.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Cancun, your home awy from home.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
19.9 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
22.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,187 reviews
20.1 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,178 reviews
31.2 km away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
19.9 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Property: Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya, Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing