We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem in Playa del Carmen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #20 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Visited on a business trip with over 100 of my co-working friends and spouses. We had several meetings during the day but ample time to enjoy the food, the pools, and spa in-between.

We enjoyed our One Bedroom Swim-up Suite directly across from the main pool bar. If you have the option, swim-up is certainly the way to go. So nice to change into your suit, step out to your patio and down into the pool. Not all swim-up rooms have access to the main pool, but ours did. Be sure to ask if you want access.

Jacuzzi tub on the patio was nice. It does take 15-20 minutes to fill and will empty just as quickly if you leave it not running. So, plan accordingly if you're wanting to enjoy the tub.

We were part of a very large group, at least 200 of us in total. I'm over 40, but it felt like a high school trip or spring break - we already knew just about everyone in the pool.

The restaurants were fine. Probably not places I would go out of my way for, but considering they were all-inclusive the quantity more than made up for the average quality.

Regardless if you have reservations for services or not, do take advantage of the Yhi Spa. On our last day, we had to check out at noon but our bus didn't pick us up until 2PM. So, my wife and I had lunch by the pool, then visited the spa to swim in the bubble pool and relax in the hot tubs. After an hour or so of relaxing, we were able to shower in the comfortable changing rooms and change into clean clothes for the trip home. A great ending to a wonderful stay.

If you need a tourist-fix to feel like you're actually spending time in Mexico, we also highly recommend the Selvatica zip-line / cenote trip, and taking a $10 taxi ride down to 5th Ave and Constitution in Playa del Carmen. There you'll find all the shops and nightspots in town, as well as the public beaches that have an amazing view of Cozumel and the Caribbean Sea.

Folks complaining about the road in probably haven't been to Mexico before. The neighborhood is not the same standard of living that guests at La Perla are accustomed to, but they are not horrible slums either. It's a working-class area that's actually showing signs of growth and improvement with new residences being built surrounding the resort.

Room Tip: Swim-up suites make getting to the pool a snap. Be sure to ask if your suite will access the main po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KraemerInDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,150 - 6,154 of 9,019 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Do not recommend . Staff very friendly but not helpful. beautiful building

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dw2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Certainly, as you may note, we are working on the beach due there are seasons when the tides brings kelp to the beach. This is a natural process but we are working on it.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Our second visit to Playa del Carmen and first to La Perla did not disappoint. From arrival and an offering of Cava to departure, everyone at the resort went out of their way to accommodate us. We had an Oceanview Royal Service Suite with Edwin as our butler. He was wonderful, and no request was too much, down to bringing me milk for my morning Nespresso. Yes, the rooms have their own Nespresso machines. The Royal Service Lounge, is so beautiful and comfortable. It is stocked throughout the day with snacks and drinks.
Poolside with Arturo was also such a treat. He brought water and drinks throughout the day (it must be 5 o'clock somewhere!). On a couple of days we even had lunch brought poolside. Delicious. Also, check out Jose's poolside concoctions. He was so much fun to watch and obviously loves what he's doing.
We didn't eat at any of the buffets, but they did look plentiful and good. The Royal Service restaurant, La Palapa was a treat for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The waitstaff all work hard to please and by the end of the week know you by name. We had dinner twice at Fuego. Don't miss their different ceviche's and great veal chop. Wonderful servers there. Also had dinner once each at Mole and Vento. Men, don't forget a long pair of pants, a few of the restaurants require them. Last night there we ate at Passion. Very nice presentation of a tasting menu. All in all, you will not go hungry or thirsty!
Had a couples massage in the spa. Great experience and very relaxing. The spa is beautiful.

Overall, this is a high class, decorated to the nines resort. There a few rough edges, but nothing to keep you from thoroughly enjoying your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NancyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from 10 days at Paradisus La Perla. We stayed from February 3rd - February 12th. We are in our early 30's & 40's and think of ourselves as a relaxed, but like to have fun couple. This trip was to celebrate our 12th anniversary.

The hotel is gorgeous! A lot of extra detail was involved, and you can tell they spared no cost. Everything is top notch.

Here are a few things we wanted to share as other reviewers have helped us with what to expect on our trip. First off, We are not complainers or high maintenance, but we do expect what we pay for, which is why we only stay at 41/2 and 5 star hotels. I will say that 95% of the reviews we read before the trip were spot on. There are dogs barking, mosquitoes (alot of trees), and children on premises at times (Adults only section) For the ones who wrote on their reviews that this was not the case, they probably didn't walk around much, and more than likely their rooms were not at the back of the hotel, which is where you will experience this issue. We personally did not hear anything because our room was centrally located, but while out for an evening walk around the hotel, you can hear dogs barking from the homes across the street so unfortunately for those who had a room on that end of the resort could have been justifiably annoyed by this.


Check in: The check in was frustrating. It wasn't a good way to begin vacation. We continually had to mention or ask about amenities we were supposed to receive for booking in December, like our resort credits, which to us were pretty useless. Then they tried to up-sell us to a one-bedroom suite. We respectfully declined. The front desk attendant kept going back to talk to his boss about the price. We mentioned that we did not need the larger room since it was only the 2 of us and were hardly going to make use of the room. After 3 different prices, starting at $1200 and us declining, they basically begged us to take it for FREE! This is the part where both my husband and I (both very mild tempered people) lost it! We figured out that the original Jr Ocean view Suite we originally booked were taken and the only 1 room left was overlooking the mangrove trees and some run down house across the street-Not a pretty site, So we ended up accepting the pool view-one bedroom. Just very tacky and unprofessional how they tried to first SELL it to us, then decide to give it to us for free. Very poorly handled and a huge waste of time. Needless to say the day pretty much remained sour. The trip was to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary and prior to our departure, I emailed the manager of Melia hotels to see if he can add a note to our account noting the occasion, maybe a cake or something just to acknowledge our special day, and that too was not noted after he said they would, So it was a very poor start. Eventually after mentioning this as one of the many reasons we wanted to cancel and go somewhere else, did they decide to send a bottle of champagne to our room, which gave us the impression that it was only because we mentioned it, and we didn't even appreciate it then.

Room: The one bedroom suite was nice and spacious but our room wasn't cleaned properly from the previous guest (not that big of deal). The shower knob was broken and our AC wasn't working properly so add this to already went wrong!! By now, we were just pretty sad and wanted to leave. Keep in mind this was not a 5 day trip; we were stuck here for 10! We discretely contacted a manger to check into the cancellation policy. The guest service rep apologized and wanted to try to make us happy. We were always calm, respectful and hopeful, but they just didn't seem organized. He told us he would get back to us in 2 hours with an answer. We waited… No answer. The next day we contacted someone else, and they too assured us they would get back to us, still no answer! On day 3 we had to re-explain everything to a different person. Our travel agent stepped in and she spoke to yet another person. We felt bad because we did not want to come off as a problem. Even when speaking to other guest we met, we never complained or spoke badly of the resort. We didn't even mention the issues we were experiencing. Eventually someone did get back to us on day 4 to explain that their cancellation policy would be the whole stay. Obviously we weren’t going to take that loss, so we stayed and made the best of it. We met some really nice people and tried to have a good time and put it all behind us.

Staff: ALL excellent. We never came across a rude person. Maybe busy, or not as attentive in some places, but on certain days, they had large groups to tend to so we were mindful of that. Everyone always asked how our vacation was, and if there was anything we needed or wanted.

Pool: The pools are COLD! However, the temp's were pretty high when the sun was out in full blast so the water is refreshing then, and it warms up later in the day. The pool is gorgeous, and have cool beds you can sunbath or relax on while in the water. The swim up bar doesn't get overly crowded but depends much on groups. “Miguel” from the pool bar was amazing!! Such a sweet person, and the service around the pool area in general was excellent! These people really go out of their way to make sure you are happy. They certainly made up for a lot of the bad experiences we had at first.

Pool/Activities/Music: There are basically no pool activities. They have water aerobics everyday around noon (with “Ivan”, who is energetic and fun), and salsa lessons at 4pm. The music for aerobics and salsa is fun and “upbeat", however, the music at the hotel and pool in general are very relaxing, but by noon they should change it up. It is pretty boring and dreary. Cheesy remakes of Madonna songs and other artists. Everyone complained about this. On Friday’s they have a pool party. Music is good for the pool crowd and was pretty fun. There are plenty of bars inside the hotel too. You can always get a drink or relax in the lobby area where they have nice/clean sofa’s and beds. “Mauro” at South Avenue bar makes awesome drinks. When we wanted to try different drinks, he always created something nice and tasty for us.

Royal Service: We did not upgrade because we didn't think it was necessary. While booking this trip, it was offered to us for $400 dollars extra but just thought it would have been a bit much having a butler especially since we wouldn't know what to ask for aside from dinner reservations? What we did not like about this “Exclusive section” was the class distinction. Some of us who paid the same money to stay at this resort (which was not cheap) were treated differently. Everyone had to wear bracelets. The color of your bracelet tells the waiter and hotel concierge when you arrived, and what “classification” you are in. We noticed a few times that royal service guest were approached by restaurant managers and waiters first, and checked how food/service was and if they needed anything. They have a heated pool also, which is nice but most of the royal service crowd was by the main pool during the day. They do have a secluded section, so the fact that some reviewers wrote they didn't see things such as children on premises, was probably due to the fact that they stayed in their section. Just really hit or miss with this place. But can respect why some may have not had any issues at all. Too many inconsistencies.

General info: The lighting is very dim throughout the hallways, and it is easy to get lost first 2 days there. It is humongous. The marble floors are slippery. We met a lady who sprained her ankle walking back to her room from the pool. The beach isn’t much to be desired whether you’re in royal section or not. It’s very short, rocky and dangerous if not careful but nice to lie out and enjoy some quiet time away from the pool.

Food: food was great! We are not foodies, so we really can’t judge some of the restaurants we did not like, but tried all of them. Our personal fave was BANA. They have 3 sections. One of them is a hibachi style dinner. Awesome and entertaining, a must try. We ate there 4 times. The buffet at breakfast is great too. They have plenty for all types of people, even the health conscious. For lunch the “Market or Grill” are great. They have a nice salad bar and plenty of options for lunch.

Gym: nice sized gym. Have about 3 elliptical trainers, a few treadmills, free weights, and spin bikes. They have classes in morning, and evening (yoga & Spin). Did not use spa but heard good things from others who did.

Tips: We know it is all-inclusive, but these people work HARD, and take home in a month what some in the states make in a few days work. It doesn't hurt to tip a few dollars, and they appreciate it so much. For every 2-3 drinks, we always left a few bucks to say thank you. Regardless of this fact, the service never wavered for those who did not tip. If it did, maybe that is because some were rude to them, which we even noticed at times.

Overall we had a relaxing time. We will not be returning to Paradisus. We get one good vacation a year and there are plenty of great hotels to chose from.

Don't pay attention to the weather reports, it will drive you crazy! It did rain more than usual (for Mexico), but overall sunny most days! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a top floor room. The soundproofing in the rooms are pretty bad, especially if you get a noisy p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Irizarry316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Paradisis La Perla resort is an excellent all inclusive resort. The layout is very efficient and everything is an easy walk. Staff is great, especially Jesus, a waiter at The Grill restaurant. He remembered our names and what we drank from 3 days earlier. Ask for him!!! The food is beyond excellent!! All restaurants will please and there is no waiting!! Although they are particular that you make reservations even though no one seems to be sitting in the place??? Don't get it, but not a problem.
The beach is small but very nice. Rooms are great (and should be since it's a new place) but we had a problem with our card not working on the door lock. Tried to fix a couple of times and they finally moved us to a different room. We also didn't have a stocked mini bar at first, but they corrected that as well.
Location is great, only a $10 cab ride into downtown Playa Del Carmen. Great shopping and restaurants. The ferry to Cozumel is also downtown. A $25 ferry fee each way gets you to San Miguel, the main town on Cozumel. We rented cars and drove around the island one day. Great side trip if you're interested in seeing some undeveloped areas of Mexico that are only visited by locals. Especially the east side of Cozumel.
In all I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,481 reviews
5.5 km away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#37 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,332 reviews
17.5 km away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,946 reviews
4.5 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,245 reviews
1.9 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €276 - €680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing