We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice folks great food!!!”
Review of La Mission

La Mission
Reserve with OpenTable
La Mission is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The popular Cozumel Restaurants Casa Mission, La Mission and Parilla Mission have brought their concept to Playa del Carmen. La Mission offers generous portions of seafood, steaks and Mexican specialities at affordable prices. And their "If you don't like it, you don't pay it" slogan is hard to beat. Proof of this is the preference of locals and visitors.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice folks great food!!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Well we read all the reviews about La Mission so we said lets give it a try!!! My friend has lobster and my wife had coconut shrimp that she shared with me!!! The coconut shrimp came in half a coconut in some kind of sweet coconut milk!!! Well the coconut shrimp were great!!!! Mi amigo gary had the lobster and he said it was was very good and only cost him $23 dollars!!!! Well folks get off 5th and try some real good food at a great price!!! Yes folks we would go back again in a quick min!!!!! try it u will like it!!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazyeddie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    292
    72
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, VA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Lobster”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Lobster was good. Garlic sauce was super. Service could have been a little more organized but they are likley not used to be so busy. Bathrooms had no running water. Believe that the bathroom problem was likely temporary.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4Gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food of love!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

recently while visiting Playa a local suggested La Mission. we are so glad we found this little gem. The food was so great we decided to eat there a second night. A must try is the shrimp ceviche, so wonderful I had it as my entree the second night. The fish so fresh especially amazing with the crunchy garlic oil. service excellent and the prices were beyond reasonable. Cant wait to come back and visit next year.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice food / nice people”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We enjoyed having dinner there, the kitchen was open, not too much tables and off the main avenue so reasonable prices. They brought complimentary nachos, soup and garlic bread every time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tina_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Decent food at reasonable prices.”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have been there with my family a few times over the past couple of years. We have tried many dishes and my favorite is the seafood platter. The fresh fish is really nice as well.

The prices are very reasonable. However, the restaurant does not feel entirely clean as it is quite dark in the evenings and the bathrooms could be updated.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mission also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing