We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #36 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My stay was one of the best. I was especially happy with the breakfast buffet and the service I received every morning by Chef Aurelio. My spinach omelette was always made to perfection. Oh did I mention always made with a smile.
I will always remember the service at this Hotel and highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chipotle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,906 - 4,910 of 10,177 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

While staying at the sister location Royal Playa del Carmen, my wife, myself and four friends decided to have enjoy a meal at Il Pescatore. What an excellent decision that was. We were treated with one of the best meals and service we received in the two weeks we stayed in Playa del Carmen. Special thanks to Chef Enrique Salgado, and our host/server Tony Ramivo, you made our evening one of the best.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoakingWet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Vacation=Feb18-25, 2012- 6th time coming back and will again.
True family hotel with style! came here with a family group of 11- 8 adults,3 children (13, 9, 21/2 ,toddler).
Staff was always attentif/helpful to make a memorable experience for every one of us, especially to the youngest one.
Great welcome at reception desk- 3 rooms (Junior Suite Ocean View), 1 Master Suite were ready, buffet restaurants and 24hrs lounge were plenty sufficient varied food for our appetites, El Pescatore italien restaurant has a very elegant menu and impeccable service, let alone the beach restaurant.
Beach is contantly being groomed every AM, the fishermen's boats add a quaint element to the atmosphere.
We all had our dreamed FAMILY REUNION TRIP and vacation.
We are thankful to every staff member. We had a grand time.

Room Tip: junior suite ocean VIEW looking out to the new pier and ROYAL street. Morning sun and afternoon sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamzgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I was hoping the reviews I read before going were going to be off from what I experienced but that was not the case. If you want to be in Playa Del Carmen close to the water and don't care about the little things then this is the resort for you. I have a hard time calling it a resort-it is very small, there are only two restaurants and a buffet, the beach is small, and there is only one pool. Technically there are two but the other one is on a roof top and in the shade 99% of the day.
The rooms need a remodel. The floor tiles are cracked or chipped. The showers are not modern. The room furnishings are dated.
The food in the buffet is at the most tolerable and the space for the buffet is cramped-hard to move from one station to the next and to see what is being served unless you butt in line.
The beach is crowded and a public beach with reserved seating for the guests. There is no shade except for some pergolas. The beach has nice sand but you have to go more than 50 yards into the water before you get more than waist deep.
The pool is crowded. We tried for three days to get 4 chairs together at the pool. People had staked a claim to chairs before 6am each day and never left.
The two restaurants were the only saving grace for the resort-excellent food with fairly knowledgeable wait staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addy_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

First make sure you are in the right "Il Pescatore." there are two. Da Ilena Il Pescatore offers the the most wonderful Italian food, from homemade pasta to the fresh catch of the day. You are made to feel like family when Ilena stops at your table to give her recommendations for dinner. You can never go wrong following her advise! Remember to take cash, they do not take credit cards.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bonitta211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,844 reviews
0.2 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,397 reviews
0.2 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,611 reviews
0.5 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#8 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
483 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €154 - €444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Porto Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing