We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,404)
Filter reviews
3,404 results
Traveller rating
2,285
759
196
91
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,285
759
196
91
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shangri la caribe half board palapa style fuego restaurant las olas garden view breakfast and dinner las palapas palapa roof ocean front ping pong fifth avenue the penthouse infinity pool yogurt palm trees the wait staff
Filter
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 3,404 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Great location - easy walk to 5th Ave shopping, bars and restaurants. Rooms are comfortable. Food is decent. Service is quite good and friendly.

The only drawback -- the hordes of 6-10 year old children screaming "Marco! Polo!" non-stop all day long -- in all 3 of the hotels pools.

The hotel should really designate one of the pools as child-friendly and reserve the other two for guests over the age of the 10.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Hedman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear Hedman88-

Thank you for taking your time to provide your thoughts about Mahekal Beach Resort. We appreciate your insight. We are pleased you liked our location, rooms, service and food.

This time of year we can have kids with their parents on Spring Break. It's what makes visiting Playa del Carmen special. Easy to get to and all the amenities parents love for a quick holiday with children. I have noted your request about an "adults only" pool and this option is under consideration. More information from the resort may follow about an adults only pool and section.

Thank you for the feedback. We do listen to our valued guests!

Warm Regards,

Karen Smith
Sales Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Spend long couples weekend, location was idea within walking distance of all the restaurants and shops on 5th ave. Pools very nice but became as bit small, looks like lots of erosion recently so may have been from storms. Food was great but service a bit slow at beach and pool, you have to flag people down especially around lunch and happy hour. Overall great weekend stay!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BorntoTravel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Chose this resort because we didn't want your standard built up hotels with overloading of people and wanted nice beach accommodation. Palapa's seem ideal.

So.... check in. When we arrived, there was no-one around to greet us so we walked around to reception the the lady at reception seemed surprised when I said I wanted to check-in. 11 hour flight, that's all I need. Anyway it was 8pm and we were pretty tired. She gave us our keys and the suspicion started. It was dark so had no idea if we had Ocean View as stated in our price, but what we did have was a Road view with lot's of noise from neighbouring restaurants out of complex.
We didn't unpack as this wasn't what we booked (We later found our an American family had been put in the room below and asked to move a day earlier). So next morning asked to move, which I would say were happy to help but it was more that they couldn't be bothered. I could see a list of disgruntled guests already on the move list. So... won't go into too much more of that but we did move and the Palapa was much better than we had. Albeit none of the properties come with tea/coffee making facilities or fridges (you can hire a fridge)

What we then realised is that no-one had given us a guide or map of the resort (I presumed as reception hadn't told us they'd be a welcome pack or something) so we had no idea of where the restaurant for breakfast was and how our "Half board" would work. On there website they have something for those early check outs pre 7am that a pre breakfast basket can be made up for you if you call 12 hours before. We was moving after a week to another location and had arranged a trip from 8am so needed to leave 7am.
I rang and asked about arranging a taxi and a breakfast basket, The guy on reception said we couldn't have a breakfast basket as the restaurant wasn't open til 7.... you can see where this is going.
I explained what his hotel offers on the website but he seemed confused and by this and i simply couldn't be bothered anymore.
So, if you are half board make sure you get your quota. We missed out on last morning breakfast and 1st night dinner because of incompetence by reception staff. No refund for that!

So we missed out on Breakfast and they forgot to order cab so got one 15 mins after and arrived late for our next trip at 8am.... they really are awful in reception

Apart from reception being dross and some rooms advertised as Ocean View and not really being it.... it is actually a lovely resort. The Palapa's are nice (apart from amenities at a cost) and the staff in the restaurants and around the gardens are nice and friendly if not a little robotic. By that I mean they are programmed to say the same thing to you every day even if you've spoken to them before. Still nice enough and the food in Fuego's and the breakfast area where the pool is (forgotten it's name) is very nice. Just be careful when signing off tips in happy hour, they don't reduce the happy hour 2 for 1's tip value so effectively can be paying 40% tip... cheeky
Angel and Elias were our waiters most times and they were the guys who left the biggest impression, so well done to them.

This place has so much potential but if the Front Desk is poor it kind of ruins it a bit.

Room Tip: Don't get Palapa's near the road side 80's to 90's
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Mr_Livers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear Mr_Livers-

Thank you for your comprehensive and constructive review of Mahekal Beach Resort.

The front desk is the first point of contact for our guests when they arrive. We should have had a different arrival experience which would have started your holiday on a much better note. We are in the process right now of completely retraining our front desk staff and adding new team members; your review will help to improve the services.

Please let me know personally if you would like to return to the resort. I realize it's a long haul vacation for you and you have other choices but we would like to have you return again.

Sincerely,

Karen Smith
karen@mahekalplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

A beautiful quiet and very quaint resort. Our 2 bedroom room had plenty of room for an 11 and 15 year old plus 2 adults. The hammocks and day beds on our deck were relaxing and cozy. Our room had a palapa roof and overlooked the infinity pool. It was a perfect spot as the kids could go to the beach or pool and we felt safe. There was always security patrolling the resort during the day and night.

The staff especially Angel our breakfast and dinner host was charming, friendly and always greeted us with a smile on his face.

Calle cinco is just around the coner if you wanted to go for a stroll and pick up some souvenirs.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chaps3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Our family of 4 (2 teenagers) stayed here for 4 days during spring break before heading to Chichen Itza and we all agreed that it was a fabulous stay. The grounds are beautiful with 2 pools, 3 restaurants, and a game area that we used every night to play pool. We stayed in a beach front room that was really nice and I also was very impressed with the decor of the lobby, game area, and grounds in general- a hotel aesthetic is very important to me. Our rate included breakfast and dinner and we enjoyed every meal. Be aware that if you eat at Fuego, there is a limit for each person, otherwise you will pay the difference and alcohol is not included. So, of course we went over our limit but it was worth it! But all the restaurants are very good. The staff is so awesome. I have to give a shout out to Angel who went above and beyond to look for our daughter's sunglasses when she left them at one of the restaurants. He actually found them and came to find us to return them. He remembered all of our names and always greeted us with a smile. We still talk about him. Boli, the concierge is also a gem. He organized excursions to Xplor Park and Rio Secreto and our car to Chichen Itza which made our lives so much simpler.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kriskhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews