We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,405)
Filter reviews
3,405 results
Traveller rating
2,286
759
196
91
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,286
759
196
91
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shangri la caribe half board palapa style fuego restaurant las olas garden view breakfast and dinner las palapas palapa roof ocean front ping pong fifth avenue the penthouse infinity pool yogurt palm trees the wait staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,027 - 2,032 of 3,405 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed here for a week in early May. We have been coming here since 1988 on a regular basis. Food, service and location continue to be outstanding. Friendliness and interaction with working staff (waiters and bar tenders) are what make Mahekal distinctive. Happy hour at the Casa Club is a great opportunity to meet folks from all over the world. Bolli, the concierge, is the person to go to for tour advice. He is always helpful and totally honest. Thanks all for another great vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a great value. Just make sure you really get an ocean view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madgolfer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Mahekal Beach Resort was exactly what we were looking for! Small, boutique size, in a great location within walking distance of everything in Playa. (Much better than the huge, self-contained all-inclusives imho.) We stayed in a Garden View Caribe palapa, which I think is one of their most economical rooms, and it was fantastic! Huge room with hammocks on the porch, great rainfall shower, room-cooling A/C, lovely organic toiletries, a ton of closet space, and of course, daily towel animals. The resort was located on the most gorgeous stretch of beach with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The hotel staff was friendly, from the bartenders to the waitstaff to the security guards to the ladies in the spa. The two pools were perfect. The food was just okay, but we were close to so many great restaurants (Sala Rosa, Aguachiles) that we didn't eat at the hotel that often, though the view from the breakfast/lunch restaurant was killer. We got a great deal on the resort through BookIt.com, though I would gladly pay more to return. A truly beautiful and relaxing beach resort--wish we had stayed longer!

Room Tip: I don't think you could find a bad room at this resort. We loved our Garden View Caribe room. Top floor rooms have the cool palapa-style ceiling/roof.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montoya84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Started with the typical - paid for sea view but rooms had barely any. Eventually got some first floor that had a nice view. rooms are quite dated and bathrooms greatly need some refreshing. Food is decent for a HB arrangement but they would not prepare any boxed lunch prior to restaurant opening for lunch....

Room Tip: ask for first/top floor rooms if you paid for sea view...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stefanv03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We just spent a week at Mahekal for our son's fabulous destination wedding the last week of April 2012.
From the minute I saw Mahekal online, I just new it was going to be perfect. The staff were phenomenal. Jose at the desk, Manuel and the wait staff, and everyone who's names I cannot remember,treated us like family. Having our breakfast there could not be better. I think everyone in our group of 40 will be sprouting fresh mangoes out of some part of their bodies we all ate so many ! The eggs to order were sensational and the fruit and pastry buffet with yogurt, granola and oatmeal with fresh juices was great ! It was wonderful to have a choice between lunch and dinner at Mahekal which gave us ample time to try other local restaurants.

The grounds of Mahekal are impeccable with beautiful garden, plants and walkways with thatched roof rooms with simple but very comfortable furnishings. Then there is the magical walk to the beach with the mushroom lit paths so you can relax in the sun and swim and snorkel in the beautiful water !

Happy hour was just that. A happy time for our group with great drinks with great company.

To top off the week, we had our son's wedding on Saturday April 28, under a beautiful flowing white gazebo on a private area of Mahekal's beach, followed by the reception at Mahekal's Aventura restaurant/pool area overlooking the beach. Again, phenomenal service, food, and drinks with a great DJ Bob. Dulce (?sp) was the best wedding coordinator. Even when we expressed our concern of having only 40 people in such a large room for the reception, she told us not to worry it would be fine. She was so right! It was a perfect size for our family and friend's comfort and fun evening!!! She really knows her business very well !!!

Memories will be cherished for a life time from our week at Mahekal. No other resort would have been able to compete with our experience there. Many friends and our son are already are planning for them to renew their vows at Mahekal, in maybe 6 months, just so we can return. And return we will.
Thank you everyone at Mahekal for one of the best weeks we have ever had !
And, Thank you G and A for choosing Mahekal for your wedding !! Awesome choice!!!

Room Tip: If you want a room near the Aventura restaurant/pool are, make sure there will not be a wedding. It will be noisy in that whole area. Of course, if you are attending that wedding, then go for the room you want. We stayed in a Garden Pueblito room and it was the quietest section of Mahekal. Mahekal's Location is fabulous !!! Away from the touristy part of PDC, but close enough to walk their if you wish.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funjione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This place is simply amazing. This was my second trip to this hotel. The first trip was in 2008 with my husband and now we came back with our 18 month daughter. We knew we were going to come back, the hotel just leaves that mark on you forever. We stayed in one of their ocean front rooms ( not the deluxe) and it was perfect with a toddler. We opened our doors and were literally on the beach so we could leave the baby sleeping for her naps while we were out on the beach right in front. The room surrounded the pool and had a huge deck so it was also nice to hang out at night while watching the ocean. There were a couple of weddings while we were here and the music and reception were at the pool so it was really loud in our room but luckily the hotel has a policy that the party has to be over by 11:30pm latest so it was not a problem for us. If you feel you will go to bed before that you might want to request the ocean front rooms on the other side of the property. Honestly if I was reading this review before going I would think it would bother our baby to sleep but she was so exhausted with all the beach running that falling asleep was not a problem.
The hotel staff is very friendly and always willing to help you. The food is very good but I suggest going into town at least one evening to check out some of the local spots. You can switch your dinner for lunch to make up for it. Breakfasts were the best! Lunch mole enchiladas were great and the dinner taco night was fun. Dinner menus are posted every morning so take a look before making plans.
A note about the hotel is that there is no phone and no TV in the room. This is on purpose so you can really unplug from the outside world. I like it but I would prefer if the rooms had a least a intercom system so we can call the front desk if we need something like towels, coffee or even just request a bell boy to pick up your luggage at departure. There were numerous times that I felt it could have been helpful. I am fine with no outside phone but an inside phone system would have been great! Just a though for the managers.

Hidden services: $5/day for a fridge in your room and coffee delivery service at a pre-requested time every day.( not sure how much that cost as I didn't use it)

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms surrounding pool are bigger but can be loud if there is a wedding going on. Standard rooms have a more authentic mexican feel than deluxe
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielawj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews