We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fairy Tale Wedding Come True!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #29 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

On April 14,2012 My son had his wedding at Mahekal Beach Resort. The Wedding planner at the hotel, Dulce Pazos, was so helpful and guided them through each detail. The ceremony took place at the hotel's private beach, which was sooo romantic, with a beautiful canopy with tropical flowers, and Rose petels in the sand. Music played in the background. The cocktail hour, after the ceremony, was poolside with great appitizers, and Mariachi music!!! The reception dinner was steak & lobster, it was delicious!!! The Wedding cake was very pretty, but it also tasted delicious!!! Everthing Dulce promised me, was taken care of, and beyond my expectations!!
I rate the hotel & Dulce a 10+++++ It made "OUR SPECIAL WEDDING" a day we will cherish forever!! All the guest's were equally impressed!!

Room Tip: The Bride & Groom had a private oceanfront beach house selected by Dulce, that was the perfect w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindyk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Cindyk_11,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Mahékal on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to hear that we made your sons wedding a magical and memorable experience! We will share your comments and praise with Dulce who delights in pleasing all of our wedding and group guests. She understands as does all of our staff that when you select us for such a special ocassion we want it to be a lifelong memory. A wedding is a unique moment in all of our live's and Mahékal is known for creating and delivering Magical Moments!

We now look forward to celebrating your sons first anniversary or an earlier visit if possible.Come back with your friends and enjoy again!

Best regards,

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales & Marketing
Mahékal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,685 - 1,689 of 2,927 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our third stay at Mahekal in four years. Once again it was truley "Magical" as the name states. My wife and I like typically like to go to different locations in the Caribbean. However, since we went to Mahekal 4 years ago, we have struggled to steer away from it to try something new. Mahekal feels so much like a second home during the long cold winters of Wisconsin, we can hardly imagine wanting to go anywhere else. The only other time we've ever stayed at a resort more than once is Sandals in Antigua.

Accommodations are very simple, which is just the way we want it. No TV, no radio, no clock. It may be low on frills but that is what makes it so quiet and relaxing. The rooms do have air conditioning, which is totally unnecessary because there was always a perfect breeze. Although we typically stay in an ocean view room and I can see how rooms farther from the beach, where the breeze may be blocked, may need to use the A/C. Otherwise the A/C only drowns out the rhythm of the waves at night, and the songs of the birds in the morning as the sun rises. I can’t understand why you would ever want to do that.

The location is really what you pay for at Mahekal. You will not find a better stretch of beach with rooms in such close proximity to the ocean for a better price. It is on the best stretch of beach in Playa Del Carmen, and is literally a 10 minute walk to the heart of 5th Ave shopping and eating.

The staff was very professional and friendly as always. By the third day the wait staff recognizes you and knows what you like. They were always more than eager to make you happy.

Meals there are delicious, especially breakfast. We typically like to go out to town for dinner to people watch. In our past stays the dinners left a lot to be desired. However during this most recent stay the dinners were much improved - so much so that we stayed at the resort for dinner more nights than we typically do.

The landscaping is meticulous. The pair of hammocks on your balcony are a perfect touch, making a late afternoon nap before happy hour almost ritual. My only complaint is that happy hour could be extended from one hour to two.

This is not an all-inclusive mega resort, so you will not have to get up before dawn to reserve a chair by the pool or ocean. You will never feel pressure to get up and dance to some cheesy 90's one hit wonder blasting at the pool, and there are no time share salesmen or beach vendors hounding or harassing you.

This resort has such a quaint and peaceful vibe that you can't help but succumb to it charm. It has a very private and intimate ambience. As your vacation comes to an end you will feel totally rested and rejuvenated; and probably a little depressed because you’re not all that ready to leave.

Jason and Jen Hagen - Barron, WI

Room Tip: Definately pay for at least ocean view room category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was our family's 5th visit to Mahekal. It continues to be our favorite vacation place during February's school break. The location is wonderful. Contrary to some reviews, I LOVE being awakened by the birds so that I can go to the beach to watch the sunrise and look for coral pieces. Each time we manage to get great photos of the nature around us - beautiful flowers and coatis roaming around the palapas. The breakfast buffet is great (there is plenty of variety and absolutely no reason to have more food than what's being offered!) and the option to exchange dinner for lunch is a great convenience. Overall, Playa del Carmen is overly commercialized but Mahekal offers a quiet and peaceful respite from it all! Can't wait for visit #6

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElenaF963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for a week on our honeymoon in November 2011.
This was a great quiet hotel far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the 5th Avenue night clubs and bars but close enough to walk there (10 minutes).
On the beach, two pools (one right by the beach), friendly staff. (Hi Jose!!).
A must would be the beach front bungalows!
Only downside was that they only had wifi within 3 meters of the bar in the middle of the resort (not near the beach or your rooms), and the bar closes at 11pm...on the dot!! so not much to do at the hotel after this if you are one for a late night drink.
Would definitely stay here next time!

Room Tip: Beach Front bungalow. There were some rooms that are "deluxe" which had been renovated, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FarahK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This resort is beautiful, with great service and a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. However I must admit that when we saw our room the first impression was one of disappointment. We stayed in one of the garden view Caribe casitas that were closest to the pool/bar. These rooms could use an update, and furthermore the location right next to the bar meant a lot of noise and people walking by all the time. A really noisy A/C also reduced the quality of sleep somewhat.

However, as soon as we walked out of room and took a walk around the resort and on the beach our initial disappointment faded - the situation and landscaping of the resort is truly wonderful, and the unfailingly friendly attitude and service mindedness of the staff helps create a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere.

The location of the resort is good - far enough from the tourist circus, but close enough to walk if one wants to - shame about the proximity to Mamita's beach club though. The blasting music was a nuisance,especially late evenings. Despite this drawback it's very likely I would choose Mahekal again if I were to return to PDC.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Caribe section, try to get an upper-level room away from the Casa Club bar and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arevan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
7 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,369 reviews
1.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#20 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,669 reviews
0.9 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#42 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#40 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,118 reviews
0.3 km away
Live Aqua Boutique Resort Playa del Carmen
Live Aqua Boutique Resort Playa ...
#25 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
609 reviews
1.3 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €197 - €414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing