We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,473)
Filter reviews
3,474 results
Traveller rating
2,340
768
200
92
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,340
768
200
92
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shangri la caribe half board las olas fuego restaurant palapa style garden view breakfast and dinner las palapas palapa roof ocean front infinity pool ping pong fifth avenue grounds are beautiful yogurt palm trees the wait staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,086 - 2,091 of 3,474 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our third stay at Mahekal in four years. Once again it was truley "Magical" as the name states. My wife and I like typically like to go to different locations in the Caribbean. However, since we went to Mahekal 4 years ago, we have struggled to steer away from it to try something new. Mahekal feels so much like a second home during the long cold winters of Wisconsin, we can hardly imagine wanting to go anywhere else. The only other time we've ever stayed at a resort more than once is Sandals in Antigua.

Accommodations are very simple, which is just the way we want it. No TV, no radio, no clock. It may be low on frills but that is what makes it so quiet and relaxing. The rooms do have air conditioning, which is totally unnecessary because there was always a perfect breeze. Although we typically stay in an ocean view room and I can see how rooms farther from the beach, where the breeze may be blocked, may need to use the A/C. Otherwise the A/C only drowns out the rhythm of the waves at night, and the songs of the birds in the morning as the sun rises. I can’t understand why you would ever want to do that.

The location is really what you pay for at Mahekal. You will not find a better stretch of beach with rooms in such close proximity to the ocean for a better price. It is on the best stretch of beach in Playa Del Carmen, and is literally a 10 minute walk to the heart of 5th Ave shopping and eating.

The staff was very professional and friendly as always. By the third day the wait staff recognizes you and knows what you like. They were always more than eager to make you happy.

Meals there are delicious, especially breakfast. We typically like to go out to town for dinner to people watch. In our past stays the dinners left a lot to be desired. However during this most recent stay the dinners were much improved - so much so that we stayed at the resort for dinner more nights than we typically do.

The landscaping is meticulous. The pair of hammocks on your balcony are a perfect touch, making a late afternoon nap before happy hour almost ritual. My only complaint is that happy hour could be extended from one hour to two.

This is not an all-inclusive mega resort, so you will not have to get up before dawn to reserve a chair by the pool or ocean. You will never feel pressure to get up and dance to some cheesy 90's one hit wonder blasting at the pool, and there are no time share salesmen or beach vendors hounding or harassing you.

This resort has such a quaint and peaceful vibe that you can't help but succumb to it charm. It has a very private and intimate ambience. As your vacation comes to an end you will feel totally rested and rejuvenated; and probably a little depressed because you’re not all that ready to leave.

Jason and Jen Hagen - Barron, WI

Room Tip: Definately pay for at least ocean view room category.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was our family's 5th visit to Mahekal. It continues to be our favorite vacation place during February's school break. The location is wonderful. Contrary to some reviews, I LOVE being awakened by the birds so that I can go to the beach to watch the sunrise and look for coral pieces. Each time we manage to get great photos of the nature around us - beautiful flowers and coatis roaming around the palapas. The breakfast buffet is great (there is plenty of variety and absolutely no reason to have more food than what's being offered!) and the option to exchange dinner for lunch is a great convenience. Overall, Playa del Carmen is overly commercialized but Mahekal offers a quiet and peaceful respite from it all! Can't wait for visit #6

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElenaF963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for a week on our honeymoon in November 2011.
This was a great quiet hotel far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the 5th Avenue night clubs and bars but close enough to walk there (10 minutes).
On the beach, two pools (one right by the beach), friendly staff. (Hi Jose!!).
A must would be the beach front bungalows!
Only downside was that they only had wifi within 3 meters of the bar in the middle of the resort (not near the beach or your rooms), and the bar closes at 11pm...on the dot!! so not much to do at the hotel after this if you are one for a late night drink.
Would definitely stay here next time!

Room Tip: Beach Front bungalow. There were some rooms that are "deluxe" which had been renovated, and others had not. Definitely go the renovated rooms. All rooms seemed fine though (we stayed in an older room first 2 nights which was fine)
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FarahK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This resort is beautiful, with great service and a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. However I must admit that when we saw our room the first impression was one of disappointment. We stayed in one of the garden view Caribe casitas that were closest to the pool/bar. These rooms could use an update, and furthermore the location right next to the bar meant a lot of noise and people walking by all the time. A really noisy A/C also reduced the quality of sleep somewhat.

However, as soon as we walked out of room and took a walk around the resort and on the beach our initial disappointment faded - the situation and landscaping of the resort is truly wonderful, and the unfailingly friendly attitude and service mindedness of the staff helps create a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere.

The location of the resort is good - far enough from the tourist circus, but close enough to walk if one wants to - shame about the proximity to Mamita's beach club though. The blasting music was a nuisance,especially late evenings. Despite this drawback it's very likely I would choose Mahekal again if I were to return to PDC.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Caribe section, try to get an upper-level room away from the Casa Club bar and pool, for increased privacy and less noice.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arevan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Mahekal is a very special place and If you are looking for an all Americanized vacation with over crowded facilties and a party atmosphere ...do not go here as you will be dissappointed.
Mahekal is a very beautiful, low-key, personalized resort that caters to the traveler wanting an auethentic and memorable Mexican vacation. There are no crowds and you are free to do what you want, when you want. Exactly what a vacation should be.

The service is top notch! The entire staff is friendly, professional and extremely hard-working. Special Thanks go out to all staff for making our trip memorable and comfortable.

Meals are incredibly prepared and VERY delicious. Every night was of a different theme and was promoted very well. The onsite dining facilities are comfortable and magical, especially the evening dinners. Again, the waitstaff is top notch and treat the clientele like royality! Breakfasts are plentiful with a wide range of buffet items (The fresh fruit was so plentiful and delecious) and prepared to order dishes (try the egg burritos). During the afternoon, they have snack items at the Aventura pool. We fell in love with the nachos and were exactly what we needed with a few margaritas after spending some time in the sun. Chances are that you will develop a freindship with the waitstaff and will look for them at mealtime. Rogelio went out of his way for us and for that, A special Thank You to him!

The resort facilites are beautiful.The grounds, gardens, pools and common areas are all meticulously kept clean and are tropically landsaped. The abundance of palm trees on the property give it that special tropical and secluded feeling that cannot compare with the concrete all-inclusive resorts down the beach.

The rooms are your very own beach cabana. The beds were very comfortable in our opinion, unlike the many other reviews stated, and actually quite comfortable. Air conditioning and celing fans keep the room cool and comfortable even when the temperature was 90 F. Tiled showers with the rainshower heads are wonderful and we never had any problem with water pressure or water temperature. The bath amenities are fantastic, especially the cocoa soap. Bath towels are refreshed daily, if requested, and we always had enough towels and washcloths. Each day found new towel art on our bed. We opted for a refrigerator (extra charge) to keep our water and cervezas cold and also opted for a fruit basket which made it easy for a snack in between meals. Housekeeping was very thourough in the daily cleaning of our room and left it "smelling" clean.

The Beach is by far the best stretch of sand and blue water in Playa. Many locals also use this area which also gave it a special flavor as many families came and shared time together, especially during the weekend. Nice to see local parents engage in family activities with their children on the beach. Beach loungers and Palapas are plentiful as are beach towels. Resort Security does a nice job patroling the beach as well as the Lifegaurds.

Mahekal is truly a magical place and I hope it never loses it's charm, because they truly have retained something the other resorts lost a long time ago. Our vacation was a very special and memorable one which stemmed from making the choice of staying at Mahekal.....We will be back! I highly recommend Mahekal Beach Resort!

Viva Mahekal and Viva Mexico!

Room Tip: There are many different room types to choose from. We had an oceanview room on the Playa side and we enjoyed it immensely.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparkyspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews