We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip & wedding at the Playacar Palace”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #29 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We originally booked our wedding at the Cozumel Palace for September 10th, but due to MANY flight cancellations resulting from travelling outside peak tourist season, we ended up at the Playacar Palace. It didn’t take long for us to realize it was a blessing in disguise. Flights to Cancun were more plentiful and affordable than Cozumel and the resort was immaculate. Every one of our guests told us that the Playacar Palace exceeded their expectations.

The rooms and grounds were kept spotless and the service was unbeatable. The staff engaged guests through activities such as: volleyball, water polo, water aerobics, and other competitions. The nightly entertainment was also enjoyable to most and included: Casino night, Break dancing, Salsa dancing, a Fire show, a Circus, karaoke night, and Michael Jackson Tribute show. Professional pictures were taken of guests during such events and activities in which could later be purchased with your resort credits. Guests also used the resort credits to enjoy the spa (was absolutely amazing), golf (beautiful grounds), the dolphin swim (fun time!), lobster dinner (was ok), and wine upgrades (in which can be taken home).

Our guests also enjoyed being so close to Carlos & Charlies, Senior Frogs, the Ferry to Cozumel, and 5th Avenue shopping district. Several of us ventured to Cozumel and visited the Cozumel Palace. Although the Cozumel Palace was equally as beautiful and also had great food and activity options, it doesn’t have a beach, in which we loved about the Playacar Palace. Some said that shopping in Cozumel was also better. However, being on the mainland gave us so many more off-resort options. We went deep sea fishing, which was only about a mile out. Our boat caught a 45lb Wahoo and the resort cooked it for our group. They made ceviche, soup and filets. Each one was better than the next. They didn’t charge anything either. This was a great experience and an excellent addition to our already great dinner in the Asian restaurant. On Sunday afternoon, the Luna Lounge was closed, yet, we were able to set watch the Redskins game while servers brought us beers every 10 minutes, along with wings and anything else that we could possibly want. During the trip, we tipped here and there to show our appreciation, although it was certainly not expected.

More about the Playacar Palace:
Breakfast buffet was standard, but good as expected. The sushi was excellent and they even brought you things you didn’t order. The Italian restaurant was amazing, especially the pizza. In the Italian restaurant, we had a wonderful apple dessert, while other guests had a banana one that was made right in front of us.

Now, about the wedding experience…Marlyn Tobon was our wedding sales rep and in the beginning, we feared that she was not responsive enough, but we later understood that our wedding was planned 10 months in advance and there were many weddings occurring much sooner with less time to plan. We also had some initial glitches with the booking website, but it was cleared up in a reasonable timeframe. So remember to be patient. As mentioned earlier, our wedding was all set for the Cozumel Palace, but as flight options disappeared only 3 months before the big day, Marlyn acted quickly and aided us in transferring everyone and all of our details to the Playacar Palace. She was also very accommodating, patient, and professional towards all of our guests, including our “rookie travelers”.

Wilma was our wedding coordinator in which we did not begin correspondence with until about 60 days before the wedding. The bride-to-be was a little nervous about the time constraints, but Wilma ensured that everything would go smoothly, and she was right. She was very professional and responsive to all needs. The wedding was on the 3rd floor terrace since we wanted the privacy and if necessary, protection from any weather related issues. The space is small and isn’t very attractive leading up to it, but once everything is in place, it’s astounding. Originally, the reception was going to be held at the South Solarium (by the pool), but last minute was changed (thankfully!) to the North Solarium in which is a larger space towards the opposite side of the resort (closer to the 3rd floor terrace). The North Solarium is more secluded than the South Solarium. We decided to go with the complimentary wedding package and would supply our own decorations and/or purchase a la carte. We had a violinist, in which did pretty well and was able to play a wide variety of music, including one song that wasn’t on her list. We brought our own alter arrangements and centerpieces, but Wilma along with the wedding party made certain that they were in place and returned following the event. The bouquet (orange, yellow, and red lilies) and boutonniere (yellow lily) supplied in the complimentary package was beautiful. We also used this bouquet as the toss bouquet.

The staff, especially Wilma, is willing to do anything to make your day the most memorable event of your life. Overall, this resort was great and going in off-season really made our group feel special. The only negative thing is the elevators are really slow, but after all the good food, taking the stairs will help.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kinoxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,272 - 3,276 of 4,755 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

We took a gamble and booked with the Holiday Place ( I had never heard of them before ) we did a 2 centre stay - 4 nights in Barcelo Cancun and 10 in Playacar Palace. I thank my lucky stars that we stayed in Playacar after Cancun.
The Holiday Place really did us proud. The service was amazing. Personal transfers from hotels and the airport - on time and making us feel like VIP's. Brilliant company
We also had 2000 hotel credits to use, which we tried and failed to use all the credits. In our opinion, the credits are brilliant, but not the best trips if i am honest like you would get if you had paid with an operator. We used credits for the spa - amazing, credits for the dolphins - again brilliant. We used credits also for Tulum and for the Isla Mujeries, both were ok (ish) but not the best - Tulum is only small and is done within 2 hours, but then you get the usual speel about visiting a local "shop" ( swear the guide has shares in the shop ) then you go to the other palace hotel which is just round the corner for 3 hours to eat? Isla Mujeries is the same - 45 mins to the port, then another hour to wait for the other hotel residents to arrive - While photos are taken and sold to you (again )off to Isla Mujeries where you either buy a trip or stay bored at the pool. You then visit "the shops" in town on the way home.
We used as many credits as we could for wine upgrades during the meals.
The hotel - AMAZING lovely VIP checkin. At first it looked like no one was at the hotel, but this is just because the hotel is small so if not many are there, it can feel empty.
From the moment you wake up to the last thing at night, you are treated like royalty - drinks always landing in your hand, nothing too much trouble - pool drinks coming round all the time ( you get a bit fed up of being asked if you want another drink sometimes)
Food - the best I have ever had ! top quality. Breakfast is buffet - they sit you at a table and write your name down so they can refer to you personally by name. Lunch is the same. DInner is not buffet but you choose either to eat at the Oriental / Italian / Mexican or outside BBQ - brilliant service and brilliant food - best ever ! y
Not much entertainment at night, but this is due to small numbers staying at the hotel. Town is right on your doorstep, lovely stroll at night and bars if you want them,
Our room was unreal ! huge sea view and massive double Jacuzzi - mini bar always full and 4 optics always full in the room.
Nice touch with slippers and robes - however one of our robes kept being taken by the maids when she took the towels.
There is only one tiny issue - not many English stay at the hotel - seems to cater for Americans ( unfortunatly large groups of Girls (drunk ) or packs of loud American groups ) i suppose you get use to the whooping after a while
Loved the hotel - would stay again but we dont visit the same place twice. If you want more entertainment and family times with kids being entertained - go to the Iberostar Tucancan - 5 star but more like a tiny village.
Forgot to say the beach is amazing !

Room Tip: Ask for a high room or use your credits to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank staffscasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My 3 sons arranged a 60th birthday treat for me at the Playacar Palace. It was heaven on earth for me. The Presidential Suite was beautiful and had a large terrace. The service throughout was impeccable...whether at the bar, the pool, the ocean, room service, turn down bed etc. The staff were friendly and professional..no language problems at all.

The Japanese and Italian restaurants were what fine dining should be....great food and service..the wines may not have been up to par, but if were dissatisfied with a choice, they were eager to change for something more to our liking.

The beach was clean except for Sunday....it is not maintained by the hotel...otherwise I would tend to believe Sunday would be the same as every other day!

The proximity to the actual shopping area and city is a plus...just step out of the grounds, turn right, and there you are. The ferry to Cozumel too is just steps away.

I look forward to going back. I have been to other all inclusives before, in Mexico and Dominican Republic, but what attracts me to this one more is the smaller size. It feels friendlier! And all the rooms have ocean views!

Room Tip: Can only talk about how wonderful Presidential Suite was for 4 people...for a VIP treatment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank leetanMontreal_Quebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Playacar Palace is a great choice if you want to goto an all inclusive hotel near the action of Playa Del Carmen. If not being close to the action in playa del Carmen is something you are looking for, there is no reason to stay here. If it is important for you, (and you like all inclusives) , then it is a good choice. The hotel is pretty modern and nice. The pool is excellent and the bars, food, and food service is better than average. The beach is sometimes there and sometimes not there, depending on the time of month and year. My only real negative is the front desk office management. I found them not willing to go out of the way to try and make the guest happy (Something that I think is crucial). The rooms are all basically the same and nice. Some have a slightly better view of the ocean which is worth while if you can get. Overall, there are so many restaurants to eat at in playa del carmen that I don't really see the need to stay in an all inclusive. If you want an all inclusive experience, there are better choices in the Riveria Maya.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor directly on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Conde_brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Spent a week from Aug 27th. We had a free $1500 resort credit so upgraded to a sea view, a photo session with 15 photo's on a CD, plus two upgrade bottles of wine. Also a beach romantic dinner, just as we sat down the skies opened up and ruined it. Not the hotels fault, but the the romantics got lost as they sat us in the buffet restaurant. Now bear in mind we had dressed the part but were seated in one half of the restaurant with folks in bathing suits. We had our own waiters so my comment would be WHY could they not have taken us to the empty part, separate from all the others it was empty??? with room enough to separate the four couples even, I would have requested a refund had I actually paid cash.
I am not a buffet person but pleasantly surprised at what was available, and the willingness to provide additional items.
Both the Italian & Asian were very good, no complaints accept dress code which is non existent. I enjoy dressing for dinner, I do not consider myself a snob but some people have no idea. Had we not just about finished our dinner in the Asian one evening there could have been a problem, either for the head waiter or ourselves, as we do not appreciate looking at the crack of someones rear end as we dine. I will attempt to post a shot of it.
The greatest asset's of the resort is in it's people, I never came across one that I could be negative about, ALL were appreciated, thanks. The other asset, LOCATION, LOCATION, so easy to go out on the town.
One other observation why is it so difficult to get a good Anjeo Tequila in a Mexican hotel. I appreciate not at the pool bar, but it would be nice to sip one after dinner.
Would I return ? you bet if the price is right. Left feeling happy but still recommend Royal Hideaway which we visited for our second week.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank britex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,980 reviews
9 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,479 reviews
1 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#47 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,715 reviews
3.7 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,597 reviews
1.4 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €368 - €656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya, Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing