We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,479)
Filter reviews
5,479 results
Traveller rating
3,292
1,596
408
119
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,292
1,596
408
119
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star friends howler monkeys specialty restaurants jungle atmosphere japanese restaurant swim up bar thomas cook sports pool dressel divers other resorts towel hut jungle feel ate at the japanese tenderloin main buffet main pool magic show
Filter
Updating list...
2,218 - 2,223 of 5,479 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This was such an amazing experience.
The hotel staff are so friendly and hard working. They act like every single person is special and try their best to do whatever the need to do to make you happy.

The hotel grounds are absolutly beautiful and clean. The jungle setting was so amazing. At night walking throught the resort lit paths, listening to all the wildlife (even monkeys) was unbelievable. We had so much fun venturing around after the sun set.

The beach was so amazing as well. The whitest and softest sand and clear turquiose water made this stretch of beach well worth the trip alone.

The rooms are more of a 3 star, in my opinion. Clean but the stucco walls and hard beds were a little disappointing. But, after a full day swimming and being in the sun we fell asleep as soon as our heads hit the pillow.

The swimming pools were cool, but under that hot sun, a treat. Everything was so well taken care of.

Please tip the servers and employees well. They are so hard working and truly deserve the extra cash. Nothing is expected. So, when you do tip, they are so appreciative.

The food was very good. We had the Japanese and Streakhouse a la carte. They were so yummy. The buffet was good but, after a few meals a day several days in a row, it got a little blan. The food could have been warmer at the buffets.

We travelled with our 4 year old daughter and she loved it here. Our first family vacation tropical and an amazing experience.

The night life and hotel entertainment were very entertaining. The kids hour at 8:30 pm was a treat for our daughter. She loved dancing under the disco lights.

Our second last day we were offered to stay at the LINDO for free as our last night. We gladly accepted the offer b/c it is a more upscale Iberostar. The Lindo was absolutly beautiful and you could definitly see the higher quality in things. The rooms at the Lindo are gorgous. The pools are huge. Cold. Our only complaint of the Lindo is that everything is way too spread out. The boardwalk to the beach is a little annoying.

Back to the Quetzal....our only complaint of this hotel was the buffet being luke warm and all of the drinks being very watered down. Even the juice is very watery.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kawaii3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We arrived at the Iberostar on November 11 after a fantastic flight on Jet Blue. Apple had reps meet us at the airport and after one stop we were at the resort. We had been in contact with "awesome" Wendy from Public Relations with out room request and were granted just what we asked for. It was early so we had a drink while we waited for our room to be ready. When it was "Mauricio" took us, along with our luggage to the room. It's so nice to see familiar faces and Mauricio has been great! We had the returning guest fruit basket and t-shirts and later in the week a bottle of champagne. Nine visits counts for something!!!!!
Our room was the same one we always get, ground floor, jungle facing, building #23. We had a wonderful housekeeper, Jessica, who outdid herself every day with our towel art and creative curtains!!! Our room was cleaned by noon time every day. Our refrig was well stocked and one request was enough to keep extra water and diet coke in it all eleven nights of our visit.
We ate at the Japanese which was ok. The food was good but our chef was probably new and not very entertaining. We ended up watching the activity at another table. The Steakhouse was our favorite and we ate there twice. One thing that made it special was our "singing waiter" Nataneal. He never stops smiling and is always so happy. He obviously loves his job. We also ate at the Italian and had a great meal there.
The beach was incredible. Although the weather wasn't great and we had some rainy days with the red flag out it was still so nice sitting there under the palapa with a good book. Leteicia would bring our drinks with a big smile on her face and was very concerned if one of us was there without the other There were always plenty of loungers available even if we got there after 9:00 AM but it was low season. There were also plenty of chairs at the pool. We ventured into the pool bar a few times but the water was cold and the air wasn't warm enough to entice us very often.
The shows were the same as always and if you go don't miss the Magic Show which is usually on Wednesdays. We are very early risers so we don't often stay up to watch the shows.
Everything was perfect from the flight, the transfers, the accomodations and especially the wonderful staff at the Iberostar. We have stayed at several other resorts in that area but since we discovered Iberostar we will always return there. One other person who made a tremendous impact on our vacation was Gloria at reception. She works so hard to make sure everything is perfect for your vacation. Thanks to all of our friends for making our stay special! (Daniel, Carlos, Jasmine, Oscar, Alahandro and anyone else whose names have temporarily slipped my mind!) If I can answer any questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolphin_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This resort location is perfect if you want to be close to Playa Del Carmen. It is on a gated private road where it is safe to walk into town and takes about 20min. There is even a Starbucks across the street if you need your coffee. The resort itself is gorgeous. It is in a jungle setting with monkeys, birds, turtles, etc everywhere. It was adventure daily. The beach was the best beach front I have seen in Mexico. White sand, little huts for shade, lots of beach chairs and drink service on the beach. The food was great, and the a la carte were amazng. The rooms are very clean and the air conditioner and safe were flawlessly. The only complaint was the hard beds...a typical thing in Mexico. The staff at this resort are first class. There are tons of activities and the shows at night were entertaining. There is even a doctor's office on site if you need medical assistance.
I would highly recommend this resort to couples, friends and families.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendostick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

My wife & I were a party of eight celebrating my soon to be 60th birthday. Our ages ranged from 54-60. We arrived on Wedesday and departed on Sunday. Our rooms were in buildings 21 & 22, excellent location for the beach area and not too long of a trek for the desk area activities. The rooms were nice and clean, marble floors throughout, large shower area. Daily we spent most of our time on the beach, during our stay there generally were no problems obtaining an excellent spot on the great, clean beach. Waitresses made there rounds frequently asking for drink orders. We all did take a pile of $1's for tipping purposes, they do remember who tipped, but it isn't mandatory, just polite. Plenty of pool & beach activities to take part in. Didn't make it to the pool bar, it was small and in a rather shady area, the water was cool.
We usually had the breakfast buffet mid morning & used the lunch buffet at the pool. In the evenings we reserved the special restaurants (steak, mexican, japanese & itallian). The restaurant food was 1st class! I think everyone in our group would rank the Japanese #1, great show & food and I don't go to Japanese restaurants. The later shows were okay. Five of our group went to Cozuemal one day and rented scooters, they had a great time, except the day they went over was a rough sea day and it was a rough trip over.
This was our first all inclusive trip and we throughly enjoyed our experience. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with any problem or request we had.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scottlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

This was our second time at this resort; this time we brought the kids ages 6 and 8. The resort is beautiful. The kids had a great time. No one wanted to leave.
The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The Mexican restaurant is fantastic, as is the buffet restaurant. The pool and beach are super clean. Lots of lounge chairs and palapas. The sand and the water are perfect. i can't think of one negative.
I read some people who complained about the food and I just don't know how anyone could think the food was anything but 5-star.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denver_Suburbanites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews