We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,468)
Filter reviews
5,468 results
Traveller rating
3,285
1,593
408
119
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,285
1,593
408
119
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star friends howler monkeys specialty restaurants jungle atmosphere japanese restaurant swim up bar thomas cook sports pool dressel divers other resorts towel hut jungle feel ate at the japanese main buffet tenderloin main pool magic show
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 5,468 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great holiday in Mexico, second time in an iberostar hotel. Good points, food amazing in buffet restaurant, really well looked after. staff amazing, hotel gorgeous, a wee paradise, wildlife everywhere. Bad points rooms could do with an update, got pestered over a week about a meet-up to join iberostar club not nice. Beach a big disappointment was covered in sea weed but think that was due to the storm. Mexican speciality restaurant a big disappointment service wasn’t great put us off going back. All in all great holiday but lots of wee things that could have been improved.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank stephenmcghee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We are thankful for your preference and for having chosen Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for your recent vacation.

It is great to read the highlights on your experience, from our attentive staff to our lovely natural surroundings and delicious gastronomy.

We appreciate your valuable feedback which will gladly be forwarded to the corresponding departments and our Management as well, to look for improvement, as we strive to achieve our guests’ complete satisfaction.

We hope to serve you again soon at any of our Iberostar Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just spent 11 nights at this resort. Staff absolutely fantastic helpful friendly. Food plenty of choice well cooked and the desserts were lovely. From start to finish of holiday was wonderful and we cant wait to go back. Ophelia in the lobby bar was fantastic top class customer service as was Jose at the a la carte steak restaurant. Beach plenty of sunbeds and Gema kept us well supplied with drinks. Animation team provided great evening entertainment. My husband celebrated a significant birthday whilst we there and the hotel put a bottle of champagne and glasses in our room and at our evening meal at the steak restaurant brought him a cake and sang happy birthday just shows the personal attention to detail at this hotel. Highly recommend this hotel and resort.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank j0ymell0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We are grateful for having recently hosted you at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for such special occasion.

It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your vacation at our facilities and that our staff attentions were the highlight of your stay. We truly seek to make unique experiences to our guests and your kind recognition to our staff is of great motivation, and will gladly be shared.


Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Not sure where to begin… Iberostar remains a wonderful place to vacation – this is our second stay at an Iberostar Resort and it never disappointed. We loved the beautiful grounds of Questzal – it is as if the architects took a piece of jungle and carefully decided where each building and feature would work best without spoiling its superb surroundings. Wonderful views of water-features, tropical vegetation, and beautiful Mexican colours are a feast for the eyes.

Wildlife such as the comical, and sometime cheeky, coatimundi; agouti, grey squirrel, and black iguana abound in every exquisite area, howler monkeys shout noisily in the tree-tops, while the eagles fly high overhead scanning for prey.

Exotic birds move freely in and out of the resort; colourful parrots, majestic pink flamingos, swans, grey crowned cranes. heron as well as many smaller species. The beautiful walks that meander through the resort are alive with the pleasant sound of waterfalls, and babbling streams – If you love nature you will love this place.

While this resort has all the modern amenities one comes to expect of a five-star hotel, it delivers even more with its setting. Just minutes from the warm Caribbean Sea and a wide flat beach with white powder-soft sand, it has an illusion of being in the rain-forest. Very clever on the part of the designers!

The meals were scrumptious, I have to commend the skill and artistry of the pastry chef – Alejandro – He is world class and his amazing creations have to be seen to be believed - Truly amazing and mouth-watering.

Our room was kept spotless by the inconspicuous housekeeping team who left rose petal adorned towel creation on our comfortable king-size bed. The evenings were whiled away with lovely restaurants and entertainment of a high standard. From reception to grounds-keepers, all the staff were friendly and polite.

Having raved on about how much we enjoyed our stay there is one person I need to single out. Upon arrival at the airport there was a miscommunication between Iberoservice and the Sunwing agents and we were left without a shuttle service to the hotel. After waiting in the hot sun for 2 hours we decided to grab a taxi.

At the concierge desk an exceptionally helpful YOUSEF took us under his wing and went above and beyond his duty to sort out the issue. He made several phone calls, walked us to the Iberoservice desk where we received little assistance and then took us to the Sunwing representative, Antonio, who without hesitation refunded our taxi fare in full.

I know that it is this kind of service that gives a business a good reputation, turns a bad situation into an opportunity to shine, and keeps customers coming back. YOUSAF – you are an amazing compliment to Iberostar, you are passionate to serve your customers and care only about their satisfaction. Because of you, we will continue to come back to Iberostar Resorts. Thank you for a great holiday!

Stayed: September 2018
8  Thank Barbi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal on your recent visit to the Riviera Maya.

It is gratifying to read that our stunning grounds, wildlife, beautiful facilities, natural atmosphere, the beach, entertainment activities and gastronomic venues were of your liking.

Furthermore, we would like to thank you for highlighting the attentive and personalized service of Yousef, we will congratulate him, as his service is a perfect example of our brands’ values.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at any of our Iberostar Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Honestly the worst hotel ever, first off the staff not so friendly, not much variety of food. You have the restaurants but we prefer buffet with the kids and it was limited same thing everyday. Food is good atleast but no variety. Also a lot of mosquitoes had to get my room fumigated, killed a large mosquito which had blood in it. When I first arrived my bed was full of dirt had to have the room cleaned and sheets changed. Rooms are very old style and it smells like mold all over. Don’t waste your time or money. Many more beautiful resorts.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Suky908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for having stayed at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We deeply regret to read that your experience did not live up to our usual guest satisfaction. Our staff is committed to provide the quality of our services by assisting and accommodating our guests’ preferences.

Allow us to inform you that our hotel performs a daily fumigation around our rooms and facilities, however, being immersed in a tropical environment it becomes a challenge to reduce them entirely. We are sorry for the lived inconveniences and we will continue improving to ensure our guests enjoy their vacation with us.

We hope we will have the opportunity to restore your trust, on a second visit to our resort.

Kindly,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We have been to this resort 3 times with a 4th visit coming up this March 2019. The resort is not huge but just the right size. The staff are always friendly and very helpful.

Rooms: Perfect. We have been in all areas: ocean front and anywhere in between. We have not had a bad location or a bad room. Beds are always comfortable. The rooms away from the ocean have monkeys that come to your balcony so be aware not to leave your door open.

The walk from your room to the restaurants includes a jungle where you will see monkeys, peacocks, iguana's, coati's, etc. Very exciting and great photos.

Restaurants: Food is excellent. The buffet and the al a carts are all excellent. We have never had any bad food.

Beach: 5/5. Perfect white soft sand and no rocks in the ocean. Massage huts right on the beach. The Star Friends are always around trying to get you involved. You can be as involved as you wish. They do not hassle. They work really hard and they always have a smile on their faces.

Entertainment: Always excellent. Every evening show we attend is great to watch.

I would recommend this resort to anyone - couples or families. It is approx. 1 hour from the airport and you can walk up the street to a market, starbucks etc. Very safe area.

Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank travelobsessedOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying once again at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal on your recent vacations, we truly appreciate your preference.

It is rewarding to read that you had such an amazing experience thanks to our natural environment, attentive staff and tasty gastronomic offer.

We are looking forward to host you again at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews