We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,473)
Filter reviews
5,474 results
Traveller rating
3,290
1,594
408
119
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,290
1,594
408
119
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star friends howler monkeys specialty restaurants jungle atmosphere japanese restaurant swim up bar thomas cook sports pool dressel divers other resorts towel hut jungle feel ate at the japanese main buffet tenderloin main pool magic show
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 5,474 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Iberostar Tucan and Iberostar Quetzal are two hotels that are connected and share many common areas. Excellent organized, this resort is good for all ages. Beautiful pool, ocean, beach, receptions. Nice vegetation and animals. Great food and service. Impressed about the service at restaurant buffet Cozumel. Many thanks to CARLOS!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for allowing us to host you on your first visit to the Rivera Maya.

It gives us great pleasure to read that your experience at our facilities was a memorable one on all aspects.

We appreciate your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Cordially,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Went here with a group of friends. Overall, the resort was decent and the pool was nice. The food was pretty brutal, one of the people in our group described it as prison food and another said it tasted like our food was dredged out of yesterdays trash. If you are looking for a good deal this was priced pretty low but you do get what you pay for. The rooms were fairly outdated too, but if you're going to Mexico to hangout in your room there are other issues.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MattD1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We are sorry to read your impression regarding the culinary experience at our hotel. Our Chefs are always working to create new dishes in order to please all tastes and palates, however, they are also always happy to hear our guests’ opinions to look for improvement.

We hope in a close future we can have the opportunity to host you again at our resort.

Attentively,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Second time to Iberostar Quetzal. Without exception every employee at the resort was professional, friendly, and helpful. Couldn't ask for better customer service. Everyone tries very hard to make you feel welcome and ensure you have a good time. Rooms are a little tired, but very quite and comfortable. Grounds are always spotless. Buffet food is great and you can get fed nearly 24 hours a day somewhere on the resort property. 45 minute easy walk to Playa Del Carmen via sidewalk or 30 minutes by beach. $7 cab ride each way if you would rather ride.

One thing I want to mention is that during this trip, the resort tries to set you up to get a 90 minute presentation. They promote this as showing you some of the new things the resort is offering. We declined initially but after the 3rd day of getting flyers under our door we went ahead and did it. Big mistake. 90 minutes turned into 2 1/2 hours of hard core sale. What it really is, is a time share pitch disguised as an Iberostar travel club. I really resent that Iberostar took some of my valuable vacation time for this purpose although I agreed to it. I was mislead though as to it's purpose.

For this reason, I won't be back to Iberostar. This property or any other.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravisOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for recently returning to IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

It was a pleasure to host you again and to hear that you greatly enjoyed your vacations at our facilities. We are also grateful for your kind recognition towards our amazing staff who truly strives into bringing our guests the most memorable experiences.

On the other hand, we are sorry to read that you felt mislead regarding our IBEROSTAR Club invitation. We understand this program might not be of all our guests’ preferences and your feedback will help us improve our invitation approaching.

We sincerely hope you give us the pleasure to welcome you again at our resort.

Kindly,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We stayed at the Quetzal section from October 30th to November 6th and absolutely loved this Iberostar resort. Thank you to all the staff for a great customer service. Reception, Restaurant/Bar and Star Friends employees were all very helpful and nice.
The best part for us was the jungle and all the animals and birds. Monkeys were active that week and we have seen them many times. Very unique hotel with such a big variety of all the local flora and fauna made it very entertaining to walk around and explore.
The beach and pool area were fantastic. We had a great weather all week and loved to spend the days on the beach playing in the waives enjoying turquoise water and hot sun. Sunrises are amazing here – come early to the beach and enjoy.
Food and drinks were great for us. We did not go to any a-la-carte restaurants – but the menus looked good and settings in Mediterranean and Italian are very pretty. Buffet was more than enough for us with a lot of choices. Never had issues with food temperature –everything was hot and well prepared. Drinks menu was very good and bartenders can make you anything you ask and will gladly customize any drink for you. We loved their coffee. A lot of options and all are good.
We were in block 23 which is right in the middle and close to everything. We did not experience any issues with the room keys and everything was working in the room. Room was a good size for 2 adults and a child. Maids did a great job cleaning and mini bar was always full.
Entertainment here was awesome. We loved the pool games and zumba on the beach. Halloween show was very good and decorations around the resort were fun. “Haunted house” was very cool and scary!
Overall, it is a great choice for a family vacation, especially with younger children. Truly tropical atmosphere is so relaxed and resort is designed so everything is conveniently located and easy to find. We loved it a lot and would love to visit again. Thank you Iberostar team for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dina_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for your recent Caribbean vacation.

We could not be more pleased to read that you had a truly memorable stay at our resort and that your family enjoyed all aspects of the experience, grounds, service and entertainment. It is our main goal to achieve our guests’ satisfaction by providing unique surroundings and accommodating facilities.

We would be honored to host you again any time.

Attentively,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Great fun, loved our stay with a large group of friends they were able to host our dinners and show reservations perfectos! Rainforest is very cool, Beach was awesome. I would recommend this resort for all ages. Staff and entertainment was the best we have had in 20 years of traveling Mexico.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank dougyanecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear guest,

We are grateful for having recently hosted you at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

It is wonderful to read that all in your party enjoyed a fun and pleasant vacation with our beautiful environment and natural grounds. We appreciate your kind recommendation and your special mention to our amazing entertainment team, who strives to provide the most memorable time to our guests.

We hope we can have the pleasure of your soon return to our hotel!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews