We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quetzal - a great place for #13. Thirteen is not unlucky for us!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Ranked #43 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We returned to the Iberostar Quetzal for yes...our 13th visit. Some people may think the number 13 is unlucky, but not for us. It was once again an amazing stay at the Iberostar Quetzal property.

Our check in went so smooth. We were greeted with smiles and a fabulous refreshing Congo drink. We were on the way to our room in less than 5 minutes. Thanks!!! This year we decided to book and ocean front room and it was worth the extra $. Our room was amazing with a beautiful view of the water. LOVED IT!

Our stay was so relaxing. We don't do excursion much anymore, because we have done them all in the past visits to the Quetzal/Tucan. We were on the beach every day. The beach at Quetzal/Tucan is amazing. There was little seaweed but that didn't stop us from playing in the water every day. That is part of nature.

Every morning the grounds staff cleaned up the trash on the beach left from the visitors the night before. Sad that people can't pick up after themselves. The grounds keepers did a great job of keeping the beach and the grounds clean. Thanks!!!

We had great weather for most of the week. We only had 1 day of rain which really didn't matter...hey you are in MEXICO!!! The staff still had plenty for us to do even though it was raining. If you didn’t feel like doing anything during the rain…It was Siesta time!!!

We enjoyed the Japanese, Mexican and Steak Specialty restaurants this year. The food was all great - cooked perfectly. The buffets and beach grill were good, we always found something to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner. No complaints here!

I want to thank the entire staff. They all work so hard to please all the visitors. They do an amazing job and always have a smile on their faces. No matter what job they did, they took the time to say hello when we walked by.

There are a few that I would like to THANK…

Daniel - the ZUMBA KING for keeping me moving

Karen - the HORSESHOE QUEEN for cheering me on when I finally got a RINGER!

Pasqual - for serving great drinks at the beach bar with a smile on his face every time I saw him

Hilario & William - for serving us amazing drinks in the theater

Raul - for the best ISLANDER drink ever in the Tucan lobby

Dahlia - for cleaning our room every day and leaving a few extra waters on request

Isabel - for serving ice cream on the beach and serving us in the beach restaurant

Alberto - for treating us like VIPs every time he saw us coming to the restaurant

We are looking forward to our return to the Quetzal in June 2018. This time we are celebrating our Anniversary. What a great place for us to celebrate…in PARADISE with our Quetzal/Tucan family!

This truly is our home away from home.

nuestro hogar lejos del hogar
mi segunda casa

GRACIAS!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WSCo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear guest,

On behalf of our Management, we would like to express our gratitude for your preference towards IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal all over the years.

It has been an honor to welcome you every time and to hear that our charming nature, lovely surroundings and the attentiveness from our staff have been the highlights of your stays. Please know that your kind mentions will be passed along to our staff members for their outstanding service.

We will be gladly looking forward for your next stay at your second home, we will be honored to celebrate your Anniversary with you.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 5,090 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017

Iberostar Tucan and Iberostar Quetzal are two hotels that are connected and share many common areas. Excellent organized, this resort is good for all ages. Beautiful pool, ocean, beach, receptions. Nice vegetation and animals. Great food and service. Impressed about the service at restaurant buffet Cozumel. Many thanks to CARLOS!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for allowing us to host you on your first visit to the Rivera Maya.

It gives us great pleasure to read that your experience at our facilities was a memorable one on all aspects.

We appreciate your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Cordially,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Went here with a group of friends. Overall, the resort was decent and the pool was nice. The food was pretty brutal, one of the people in our group described it as prison food and another said it tasted like our food was dredged out of yesterdays trash. If you are looking for a good deal this was priced pretty low but you do get what you pay for. The rooms were fairly outdated too, but if you're going to Mexico to hangout in your room there are other issues.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MattD1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We are sorry to read your impression regarding the culinary experience at our hotel. Our Chefs are always working to create new dishes in order to please all tastes and palates, however, they are also always happy to hear our guests’ opinions to look for improvement.

We hope in a close future we can have the opportunity to host you again at our resort.

Attentively,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Second time to Iberostar Quetzal. Without exception every employee at the resort was professional, friendly, and helpful. Couldn't ask for better customer service. Everyone tries very hard to make you feel welcome and ensure you have a good time. Rooms are a little tired, but very quite and comfortable. Grounds are always spotless. Buffet food is great and you can get fed nearly 24 hours a day somewhere on the resort property. 45 minute easy walk to Playa Del Carmen via sidewalk or 30 minutes by beach. $7 cab ride each way if you would rather ride.

One thing I want to mention is that during this trip, the resort tries to set you up to get a 90 minute presentation. They promote this as showing you some of the new things the resort is offering. We declined initially but after the 3rd day of getting flyers under our door we went ahead and did it. Big mistake. 90 minutes turned into 2 1/2 hours of hard core sale. What it really is, is a time share pitch disguised as an Iberostar travel club. I really resent that Iberostar took some of my valuable vacation time for this purpose although I agreed to it. I was mislead though as to it's purpose.

For this reason, I won't be back to Iberostar. This property or any other.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravisOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for recently returning to IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

It was a pleasure to host you again and to hear that you greatly enjoyed your vacations at our facilities. We are also grateful for your kind recognition towards our amazing staff who truly strives into bringing our guests the most memorable experiences.

On the other hand, we are sorry to read that you felt mislead regarding our IBEROSTAR Club invitation. We understand this program might not be of all our guests’ preferences and your feedback will help us improve our invitation approaching.

We sincerely hope you give us the pleasure to welcome you again at our resort.

Kindly,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We stayed at the Quetzal section from October 30th to November 6th and absolutely loved this Iberostar resort. Thank you to all the staff for a great customer service. Reception, Restaurant/Bar and Star Friends employees were all very helpful and nice.
The best part for us was the jungle and all the animals and birds. Monkeys were active that week and we have seen them many times. Very unique hotel with such a big variety of all the local flora and fauna made it very entertaining to walk around and explore.
The beach and pool area were fantastic. We had a great weather all week and loved to spend the days on the beach playing in the waives enjoying turquoise water and hot sun. Sunrises are amazing here – come early to the beach and enjoy.
Food and drinks were great for us. We did not go to any a-la-carte restaurants – but the menus looked good and settings in Mediterranean and Italian are very pretty. Buffet was more than enough for us with a lot of choices. Never had issues with food temperature –everything was hot and well prepared. Drinks menu was very good and bartenders can make you anything you ask and will gladly customize any drink for you. We loved their coffee. A lot of options and all are good.
We were in block 23 which is right in the middle and close to everything. We did not experience any issues with the room keys and everything was working in the room. Room was a good size for 2 adults and a child. Maids did a great job cleaning and mini bar was always full.
Entertainment here was awesome. We loved the pool games and zumba on the beach. Halloween show was very good and decorations around the resort were fun. “Haunted house” was very cool and scary!
Overall, it is a great choice for a family vacation, especially with younger children. Truly tropical atmosphere is so relaxed and resort is designed so everything is conveniently located and easy to find. We loved it a lot and would love to visit again. Thank you Iberostar team for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dina_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for your recent Caribbean vacation.

We could not be more pleased to read that you had a truly memorable stay at our resort and that your family enjoyed all aspects of the experience, grounds, service and entertainment. It is our main goal to achieve our guests’ satisfaction by providing unique surroundings and accommodating facilities.

We would be honored to host you again any time.

Attentively,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.8 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#51 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
6,873 reviews
20.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,936 reviews
20.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,423 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#50 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,309 reviews
1.9 km away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#58 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €163 - €427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Riviera Maya, Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing