We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,440)
Filter reviews
5,440 results
Traveller rating
3,265
1,587
406
119
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,265
1,587
406
119
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star friends howler monkeys specialty restaurants jungle atmosphere japanese restaurant swim up bar thomas cook sports pool dressel divers other resorts towel hut jungle feel ate at the japanese main buffet tenderloin main pool magic show
Filter
Updating list...
2,006 - 2,011 of 5,440 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Both the facility and service were excellent. The food was great with lots of variety and good taste. Can't say enough about the warm and friendliness of the staff. This was one of my best experiences of past winter vacations and locations. The location of the resort allows for easy access to Playa del Carmen and Cozumel. While this resort has been in existance for several years, it has been maintained in excellent condition. I would recommend this resort to anyone. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank InterestedWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

my hysband and myself stayed here 23rd jan to 6th feb 2012, once again we had a fabulous time. weather a bit hit and miss but still a lot nicer than the uk. we got there around teatime and when we got to our room 2952 was not impressed, a pleasant word with reception and we was moved to 2212, much nicer and fresher, all the staff are lovely and helpful, star friends work really hard to keep you entertained, you can either join in or just chill out, your choice. did the dolphin trainer for a day, SUPERB, cocoa bongo on the other hand, rep coral really over sells it, own place just for thomas cook holiday makers, oh yes more like sardines, to interesred in keeping bar owners happy on prior pub crawl, got us there after show had started than could not see anything, trust me save your money and watch star shows instead they do the same job, but better. over all another great time in mexico.

Room Tip: avoid room 2952, 3rd floor, rubbish view, right next to disco.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank misty081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Enough can't be said about the staff of the Iberostar Queztal/Tucan resort. They are all so warm, friendly, and helpful, and the "star friends" enthusiasm never wavers! The nightly entertainment was always fun, and something different every night. The buffets had plenty of delicious food and a good variety. We also ate at the Bonsai (Japanese), Uxmal (tropical) and the Steakhouse restaurants. No complaints with any of those either. There's plenty of activities to keep you occupied--so much so, you may never want to leave!--as well as lounging beside the huge pool or on the gorgeous beach. The grounds of the hotel are really quite beautiful, set in amongst a jungle full of all kinds of birds and wildlife. We never tired of watching them. The grounds are well-maintained, clean, and the resident birds and animals seem to be very well cared for.

The only downside, for us, was the occasionally noisy rooms (the rooms are tiled and it seems as if you can hear a pin drop three rooms away, and not everyone was cognizant that there were others trying to sleep) and the excessive smoking. Although the buffet restaurants had large no smoking areas, the rest of the resort seemed to be wide open for smoking, and it was hard to escape. It's doubtful any of the rooms would be far enough away that you couldn't hear the nightly entertainment, but they did end it at around 11:00 pm, even at the neighbouring resorts. We stayed in building 24, top floor, overlooking the trees, the occasional monkey, and a nice pond and waterfall. And it was always fun to return to the room to see what kind of "towel creature" had been left for us by the cleaning staff!

Other than the room noise and smoking, we really enjoyed our stay at the Queztal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DrunkenMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This resort is amazing! We travelled with our two children, three and five years old. They are so sad that we had to go home. The staff at this resort is exceptional. And the grounds are spotless. We stayed in building 21 which is close to the ocean and the pool, although we faced the neighbouring resort. Some nights their nightly entertainment was loud, but we travel with a fan for background noise for the kids, so it didn't really bother us. The location couldn't be beat. Our beds were not hard by any means, not sure if they were different in other rooms/buildings.
My only small complaint is the depth of the pool. The main pool is very large and 95% of it is over 5 feet deep. There is a separate (small) kids pool which my kids loved, but I would have liked if we could have used the big pool more. My three year old was too scared to go in it. The beach is amazing so we spent a lot of time there as well.
We would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GPAC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

just came back from two weeks holyday in iberostar quetzal.perfect hotel,jus food can be better

Room Tip: buildin nr 22 and 24
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martynas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews