We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$289
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$181
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$309
US$269
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$179
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$275
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$476
US$341
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
US$408
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$407
US$345
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Reve Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$167
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,844
US$959
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14,793)
Filter reviews
14,793 results
Traveller rating
7,804
4,584
1,480
543
382
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,804
4,584
1,480
543
382
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeeting pointriviera sectioncupcake cafeadult sectionhacienda suitesle gourmetavenue barcorderofestival buffetgrand buffetpremium barselect clubswim up barfrench restaurantkids clubelite poolfamily section
Filter
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 14,793 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2017

The resort is fabulous! Amazing food and lots of selection for restaurants.
The beach is magnificent and my kids enjoyed the included amenities like boogie boards and snorkels.
Staff is fantastic and fun
David at the RE pool bar makes the most delicious coconut mojitos.
The resort is inside a gate community where you can walk to a Starbucks and Mexican market.
Very safe

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sherylm754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web_Sandos, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire team of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination.

It is great to read you enjoyed you and your family enjoyed our facilities. Thank you for highlighting the attention provided by David. You can be sure we will share your nice words with him.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Luis Ramirez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

This was our second visit to Sandos and we were again floored by the attentive staff. David E. was amazing. He set up a surprise party by the pool for our friend who was celebrating her 50th - complete with a signature drink and a delicious cake! Yessi was our waitress at the beach and she was super attentive. We also attended a few spin classes taught by Conrad and we loved them! They were challenging but Conrad was a great motivator and a fun instructor. Jimmy was also super friendly and always anxious to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougcarolyn2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web_Sandos, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear guest,

While extending you a warm regard, I would like to thank you for your preference and for the time you have invested in sharing your review regarding your second stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort.

It is good to read that the attention of all our staff made from your vacation a memorable one. You can rest assured that David, Yessi, Conrad and Jimmy will be congratulated on your behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Kind regards,

Luis Ramirez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Sandos beaches and water are awesome. Resort is excellent also. Food is great. Entertainment is great. This will be the first resort we will go back to. This time we are taking 2 more couples with us and we are staying right on the beach. Going back in June 2018!!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web_Sandos, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire team of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, I would like to thank you for your preference and for taking the time to share your impressions through this social media outlet.

We are glad to know that you appreciated the beach, our facilities, the entertainment and our food offerings.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards,

Luis Ramirez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

My wife and I (along with some friends) just got back from Sandos Playacar. We had a fantastic time mainly because of the great people who took care of us at the resort (not to mention the crystal clear blue water and temps in the 80's). Employees such as David E., Jimmy, and Yessi, went out of their way to make the stay an incredible one. The service was always first class from these three. It the little things they did that will make us want to come back for years to come. We stayed in the beachfront rooms this year a were very happy with the location, and accommodations on the whole. The new buffet is fantastic. Great french toast!! Addios

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcosss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web_Sandos, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Playacar Beach Resort as your vacation destination. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

It is gratifying to read that the personal service provided by our staff was the best part of your vacation with us. We appreciate your special recognition of David, Jimmy and Yessi; you can rest assured that we will share your comments with them.

It will be truly a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Luis Ramirez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Went to Sandos for 5 days with 5 other couples to celebrate a momentous birthday. The resort was great and the location is perfect. We had beachfront room which had an awesome view and was close to the pool as well. The food was top notch and we tried the steakhouse, Italian, buffet and French restaurants. One of the best things about Sandos is their staff. We has awesome drink service on the beach from Yessi, David E took care of the birthday party and drinks by the pool and Jimmy was the consummate concierge! All great people and we love seeing them each time we return.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web_Sandos, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort.

It is great to read that you enjoyed the location, food offerings and the attention of our staff. You can rest assured that Yessi, David and Jimmy will receive your comments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Luis Ramirez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews