We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are in love with Sandos!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #58 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 29 January 2008

If you've been to a resort with rude staff, don't worry about the staff here, they are beyond expectations. The pool could not have been better. There were a lot of children there-also not use to the nudity. BUT, I still loved this place. The food was good-not as good as the travel agent said. Drink's were so-so. Only one kind of beer. We had the best honeymoon in the entire world, just trying to give an honest review. We would definitly go back...only we are going to Dominican Republic this year...Would definitly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank jessianne223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,256 - 6,260 of 13,669 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2008

We just returned from a week at Sandos. The hotel is beautiful,immaculate,& staff eager to please.The pools are nice, the beach awesome & absolutely the best in the strip of hotels.
However, we were very disappointed that there was so little activity,music or entertainment other than the nightly show.If you are looking for a resort that seems to cater more to families, you have found it.There were too many small children,so spent a lot of time at the adults only pool.You do have to get to beach extremely early to get a beach chair.The animation team could do a lot more to get people involved!!!!
The food was adequate but drinks were very weak.If you want a laid back do nothing vacation& you don't mind a lot of kids you will enjoy Sandos. Would we go back?Emphaticly,NO, but not because of hotel or staff,just not enough to do. Kay

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WisconsinCaseyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

I would definitely recommend this hotel - from the champagne upon arrival, to the last morning of our stay, the experience was great!!! The beach was excellent, with lots of palapas to sit under. Some resorts don't have so many. The food was terrific in terms of quality and variety. We ate in two of the "reservation" restaurants, but honestly, I think the buffet was just as good. For the more adventurous, there were lots of dishes to try, but also lots of familiar foods. The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and accommodating. The ambience of the whole place was lovely. We booked a private van to bring us from the airport and take us back, which was well worth it, and even with this, it takes an hour to get there. We stayed in Tower A and had a partial ocean/pool side view. It was great. Everything is very clean and the whole complex is immaculately kept.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank golyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

I travelled to the Sandos Playacar with my wife and two children ages 9 and 11. Sandos definitely caters to families with children. The rooms, activities, food and beverage service, facilities, etc. all live up to the 4 star rating. The beach is the one exceptional feature of this resort, particularly given the beach erosion in the Playacar area.

The bathrooms in the older section of the resort, i.e. not the hacienda section, are newly renovated. However, the design of the shower was not particularly well thought out, and the drain in our shower did not work very well. Several calls and visits from maintenance later, the shower drain was finally repaired. I have seen other reviewers comment on this, so, as I say, I believe it is a design issue.

Commenting on the hacienda section, I would not pay extra for the haciendas. They are very far away from all of the resort's facilities (dining areas, bars, pools, beach), and you have to do a lot of walking if you stay in the hacienda section. The haciendas might make sense if you are travelling with a large group and wanted some privacy, but if you are travelling with just your family or a small group, and young children in particular, I would avoid the haciendas and spend the extra dough for an oceanview room instead.

To summarize, Sandos Playacar is a first rate 4 star resort that caters very well to families with children. It has a fabulous beach, and I would consider staying there again if I went back to the Playacar area.

Stayed: January 2008
14  Thank OilersRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. My husband and myself along with our six year old daughter had a wonderful time. Firstly, the hotel was spic and span..everything was clean and well appointed. The rooms were exactly as pictured in the websites and all the bathrooms were newly renovated. The showers were floor to ceiling glass with a bench and sliding shower head. As for the restaurants, we were very happy with the selections in the main buffet, and the beach buffet...we found no need to book reservations for the other restaurants on site. Each night featured a different type of cuisine, Mexican, International, Italian, etc. Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets were great. Even my finicky six year old found plenty of choices. On the beach, they have another hot dog, hamburger, french fry hut and two additional bars. As for the beach...it was spectacular..the only beach left on the strip. All other hotels basically had a cliff where the beach used to be with gigantic sand bags being used to stop further loss of sand. It looked like whales laying all over the beach. Sandos' beach is fully intact and sits directly adjacent to a reserve with additional beach for walking. We never felt pressured to tip any of the servers, although we did, we made sure the bartender was going to be working for the first few days and tipped him $20 US..he provided us with very "good" drinks. We also brought along our own cups with lids so we were able to take drinks up to our room when we were going in for the night. Plenty of beer was provided in our mini fridge and when we found we needed anything it was brought to our room on an extremely timely manner. It is a very family oriented resort, however, there is an adult pool. We were not bothered by the amount of children as there is plenty of room for all. All rooms (except the haciendas) are very close to all amenities and it was very easy to go to our room several times a day. As entertainment goes, we were very pleased with all the evening events. Our daughter was able to enjoy a kiddie disco every night and they had two pinatas for the kids on two evenings. Every night brought different vendors to the "plaza" between the pool and lobby..one night had a band playing and in the mornings we were provided with champagne and orange juice or caesars. We loved everything. The only warning is in regards to the on site "Royal Club" time share people. BE CAREFUL...if you don't want to spend a morning listening to a seminar avoid them. I went with the full intent of avoiding them but they approached me as if they were there to provide me with a schedule of hotel activities etc...they wear baby blue shirts and if you tell them right up front that you are not interested they leave you alone. For entertainment we booked a day trip with Edventure Tours. I contacted them via the internet and gave them a deposit through Paypal. They picked us up at our hotel and we spent the whole day zip lining, snorkeling, eating at an authenic mexican beach bar etc. I recommend them if you want to avoid all the crowds that book through the hotel. We would definitely go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
35  Thank bethabeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
8.8 km away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#82 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,509 reviews
3 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#77 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,925 reviews
1 km away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#50 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,308 reviews
0.1 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#51 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
6,873 reviews
6.5 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €192 - €397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing