We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to relax and detox”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #31 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place to relax and detox”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Royal Hideaway was such a delight. Went there celebrating my
daughter's 40...yes I am 63!!!! But they loved it too! Jan stay for 4 nights
Weather was not so good, but Alex was the best!!!! He brought us warm towels to the beach when all we wanted to do was sit even thou it was a rainy day. We hovered under the sun covers...soooo nice...supposed to protect you from the hot sun, but we stayed for the rain.
He was the best hurrying around to make sure everyone was happy and content. Our neighbors had a wedding and I watched him run to set up volleyball and everything they wanted. A wonderful help to us!!
Food is very good. We went to all the restaurants while there. The Sat night dinner/play was the not so good, but the Grill was very tasty. Especially enjoyed the afternoon tea with wine and small sandwiches while we waited for everyone to arrive. Our room was also wonderful. Choose building 27 is you want to be fairly close to the pool, beach, and grill, but not on top of them with the noise. Nice quiet deck on the second floor. ( all building are only 3 stories high). Very colorful grounds with windy paths. I was shocked when I walked the beach not realizing there were other all inclusive hotels nearby since this one was so quiet and serene. No kids is a great idea! Room was clean and sheets changed each day. My daughters loved the bubble baths...So fun and a great place to celebrate. Only downside was hard to get into all the restaurants as we arrived late and could only get a very late booking...but we ate in the room enjoying a movie...so it was ok, but I advise to book early.

Room Tip: choose bldg 27 second floor....someone else recommended it to us and we very much agreed...good loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanosgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear nanosgy,

Thank you for your sharing your comments. It is always a pleasure to hear that we made you have a wonderful vacation, despite the bad weather. What a bad luck!

I will share your comments with Alex and he will be so happy that you recognized him!

You are right, our afternoon tea time indeed is a delight. We are sorry that you did not like the Club Royale dinner show. I will forward the comments to our Entertainment Manager as well as our Executive Chef so they can look into this matter.

Thank you for pointing out the special room request. This can be done by contacting us prior to your arrival at services@mx.occidentalhotels.com. Also it is my pleasure to assist with your advanced dinner reservations.

We hope to also host your next stay!

Best regards

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,925
    705
    218
    94
    48
See reviews for
321
2,591
71
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Royal Hideaway Playacar is a luxury all-inclusive resort on Mexico’s Riviera Maya. It is also the first resort of its kind to receive the AAA Five-Diamond Award, and it’s easy to see why when you step onto the property. Upon arrival, champagne & relaxation begin to flow. We were greeted with a cool fresh scented hand towel and a bubbling glass of champagne. There is no registration desk. We simply were invited to sit on a couch, relax, and enjoy our champagne, while the staff checked us in. As I looked around the lobby I was reminded again why this is one of my favorite hotels. It’s full of classic ambiance, gorgeous flower arrangements, chandeliers, marble floors, and beautiful oil paintings, this not like any other hotel in Mexico.
The rooms were laid out in two-story colonial Mexican-style villas, each with a private concierge (who can assist with other services, such as dinner reservations, tours, cultural excursions, deep-sea fishing, golf, private tennis lessons, motorized water sports, spa and salon services, car rentals, laundry and dry cleaning and more.) All rooms had a complimentary beer and soda minibar, Bvlgari toiletries, double marble sinks, a separate shower stall, whirlpool tub, Bose sound systems with iPod docks, LCD flat screen TV and large walk in closets with bathrobes.
There was plenty to do, or do nothing at all at this resort; With a fitness center, basketball, bocce ball, horseshoes, tennis, SCUBA lessons, sailing and cooking classes, kayaking, boogie boarding, windsurfing and aqua aerobics in the cascading infinity pool which overlooked the beach.
The beach never felt crowded and we never had a problem securing a beach bed. Waiters catered to us like we were royalty by the pool and on the beach. The service here was spectacular. At lunch time we would dine at The Deck, a casual bar and grill located right on the ocean. The menu had a huge variety of meals but our favorite always seem to be the chicken tenders with chipotle mayonnaise. At night there were 6 gourmet restaurants to choose from. All require reservations, are a la carte and have a dress code of casual elegance. The concierge will help you with the reservation and it’s my advice to make reservations for your entire stay shortly after arrival. For the foodies the Chef’s Table experience is accompanied by fine wine pairings and takes place in a private dining room with very limited seating. While this wonderful culinary experience is not included ($150 per person), it is truly worth it for those who love food and wine. They also offer 24 hour room service, which we were very thankful for after a night out at Coco Bongo Disco just a short cab ride away.
Royal Hideaway’s attention to detail and emphasis on customer service was apparent throughout our stay. If you’re looking for an all-inclusive property that truly delivers on luxury, Royal Hideaway is the ideal choice for you. Feel free to contact me with any question you may have.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JacqueWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear JacqueWhite,

Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased to hear that you had a stunning vacation with us. The Royale Hideaway experience starts at check in as we love to treat our dear guests like royalty right from the beginning. Thank you for pointing out the personal villa concierge. They assist you throughout your whole stay and love to fulfill your wishes. For advance dinner, excursion or golf reservations please contact services@mx.occidentalhotels.com. Thank you also for mentioning our new iPod docking stations and LCD Flat screens.

I will share your comments with our Executive Chef and he will be so happy you enjoyed especially his chicken tenders. The Chef’s Table is indeed a unique experience. Please note that the price is $250 USD plus tax per person.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon!

Best regards

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Royal Hideaway is a great resort. We visited this resort from Feb. 11th thru Feb. 18th. The rooms, the pools and the staff are very clean and accomadating. The resort grounds are very beautiful, lush and well maintained. We have been many times to Cancun, but this was our first trip to Playa del Carmen. This area is much lusher than the Cancun area, and if you are a shopper, there is no want for eye-candy. The shops and resturants are plentiful. But everything you could desire is within this resort; fine food and top-shelf liquor.
We would recommend this resort to anyone, and look forward to returning in the future..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank3042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Frank3042

Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you had a great stay and enjoyed our beautiful grounds, excellent staff and fine food.

Thank you so much for recommending us and we are glad that you will return soon!

Best regards,

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a wonderful resort. The location of the resort is great being in the middle of the Riviera Maya making half-day excursions easy to arrange. The facilities, beach and staff are excellent and you will not be disappointed. Any of the reviewers that suggest a dirty beach or lack of attention to customer service would not be happy anywhere. This is one of the few resorts that have portable sun canopies which was great, even in the rain. Those little rabbit like guinea pig things are called Agoutis.

Live musicians throughout the resort were a really nice touch. Beach vendors were not a problem at all. Although the food is also excellent the fussiness can be a little overwhelming. My wife is a pickier eater than me, and while she always found something she liked, her choices were limited because there were no basic menu items. Sometimes a nice steak is all you want but all the a la cartes have menus that come across as pretentious or overly gourmet. There is no selection that doesn’t come without little drips of coloured sauce and unidentifiable pieces of decorative vegetation. It tastes really good once you get served, but often you’re not sure what you have ordered lol. The lunch choices on the Deck were exceptional. As many posters have said, reservations are a pain. Book all your suppers the day you arrive (or before) unless you like to eat at 9 pm. This is of course hard to do when you don’t know what is on the menu in advance. Note to RH management – posting a copy of the menu outside each restaurant would be helpful.

People who complained about waits at breakfast must have arrived late in the morning. We never had any wait at all and had our choice of table but we ate breakfast before 8:30 am.
It is well worth a walk into Playa del Carmen. It shouldn’t take any more than 20 minutes along a nice treed sidewalk that passes beside some Mayan ruins. You’re inside the gated secure area for almost the whole walk and safety is not an issue.

Men, there is a dress code for supper (like most AI resorts). Posters who say they didn’t know did not read the brochures. That being said, it is not a tux and top hat, just long pants (not jeans) and a collared shirt. We did see a couple of men in jeans and t-shirts so the restaurants will probably let you in but frankly they looked kind of stupid. Ladies, it probably doesn’t matter what you wear at supper as long as you’re not in a bathing suit.

A warning for first time travelers using the Cancun airport. When you get your bags stare straight ahead and don’t speak to anyone until you get outside the terminal. Do not let anyone inside the terminal take your bag or tell you they are from your resort/travel company. Travel companies are not allowed inside the terminal so don’t believe anything these people say.

Room Tip: We were in a room on the outside, and unless you are a very light sleeper or sleep with the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BeachandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear BeachandBeyond,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, beach and excellent staff.

Thank you for pointing out our portable sun canopies. They are indeed a nice touch. Also our live musicians love to delight you with their sounds.

We are glad that you enjoyed our delicious food. You are right, our food style is gourmet. I will share your comments with our new Executive Chef so that he can consider adding more basic items. Thank you also for pointing out the advanced restaurant reservations. This can be done by contacting services@mx.occidentalhotels.com. We will consider having the menus outside of the restaurants. Your villa concierge can also give you print outs of the menus so it makes your dinner choice easier. Thank you also for mentioning our dress code. It is written on our website, our daily Royal Journal, mentioned at check in and the travel agents are aware of it as well.

We hope that we may welcome you with us again!

Sincerely,

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have been to the Cancun/Tulum area over 50 times. My lodging stays have run the gamut from high end hotels, condos, eco-huts and a few all-inclusives. I stayed at the Royal for business about 5 years ago so we went to the Royal for a little R&R and I also wanted to be close to Playa Del Carmen. I have to say that the Royal is a very nice place to stay with a few exceptions. The food is great for an all inclusive. The breakfast is great with a great choice of fresh fruit. They also have bacon eggs etc which were pretty good as well. The lunch is served from a menu so there are many choices. We did not have dinner at the Royal because we always go to town for dinner. That's just us though. The rooms at the Royal are a little small and not quite up to par as some of the newer resorts, but they are adequate. I think they need to be updated. The grounds are very well kept and some of the palms are tall, old and beautiful. The beach at the Royal is beautiful although sometime crowded. Its nice to be in Playacar as well because I can go for a run around the loop and be outside instead of the Gym. There is also a Starbucks across the street. :-). You can also walk to Playa from the hotel, about 15 minutes to the south end of 5th Avenue. I also like the mix of Americans, South Americans and Europeans which means the hotel caters to everyone, not just North Americans.

But, I would say the best thing about the hotel is they have some of the very best and happiest employees I have ever seen in Mexico. That means the owners and managers of the resort really care about who works for them. Unfortunately, that cannot be said for many of the resorts in Mexico. That makes me want to go back to the Royal and support this hotel. The only complaint I would have is the age demographic was slightly higher than us. People were certainly older for the most part and it did make the resort a little "sleepy" which for this trip to Playa, was perfect.

Room Tip: Room off of the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oxxousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear oxxusa,

Greetings from your favorite hotel in Mexico!

Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed our nice grounds, delicious breakfast and lunch and especially our excellent staff. You are right; we are all happy and proud to be part of the Royal Hideaway family.

We are sorry that you found our rooms as not being up to par. Please know that we currently updating our rooms with Flat Screen Tvs, iPod Docking stations and new furniture. You are right, the atmosphere at our resort is more relaxed and low key. Our daily activities include Yoga, water aerobics, dancing lessons, dart and bingo. At night we have live music and karaoke in our Alegria Bar and our dinner show two times a week. For more entertainment, you can visit the center of Playa del Carmen which is only a five minute taxi-ride from us.

We are looking forward to hopefully hosting your next stay as well!

Kind regards

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
9.3 km away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,088 reviews
12.0 km away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#49 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
5.5 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,206 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,355 reviews
1.8 km away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#20 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Property: Royal Hideaway Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya, Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing