We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Snorkeling!”
Review of The Snorkel Shop

The Snorkel Shop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snorkeling and Diving tours, Cenote tour and/or Ocean tours. Sea Turtle tours. Pictures included on all of our tours. Equipment provided on all our tours. Great customer service, friendly staff. Reasonable prices. Small Groups, Max.10. We can accommodate larger groups from one booking.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Snorkeling!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Our group was a bit varied with divers and non-divers so our dive shop (The Scuba Tribe) hooked us up with the great people at The Snorkel Shop. We did the reef and cenote tour with lunch and it was a BLAST!!! Both divers and non-divers loved the snorkeling. We saw a gorgeous eagle ray and tons of fish and part of our group even saw a big turtle. The cenote was really nice and totally different from the one we had been diving at earlier in the week. Our guide was Eddie and like some of the other reviews say he was friendly and informative and took extra special care of our less comfotable swimmer. Thumbs up Snorkel Shop, great job!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindyinpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    15
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Fantastic snorkel trip. Superb value”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and I have been snorkeling for over20 years. The cenote and reef snorkel was something we had never experienced. It was great. The cenote snorkel was amazing. The underwater cavern formations must be seen to be believed. Our guide Hector was great. We felt very safe in this other-worldly place. The reef at Puerto Morelos was the best ocean snorkeling we have had in a long time. It reminded us of Chankannab on Cozumel 25 years ago. The coral is very healthy and has an abundance of sea life. Hopefully they will protect it. The tour includes a fresh fish lunch at a beach restaurant. It was delicious. Try their ceviche. It is excellent!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SLCparrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM EDDIE AND HIS TEAM!”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Eddie's team worked with us to coordinate snorkeling with another excursion we had booked. Eddie picked us up at our first excursion and took us to this great little restaurant on the beach, where he ordered fresh ceviche, chips and guacamole for a snack. After our snack, we headed out to snorkel at two spots on the reef.

This was our kids (ages 7 & 11) first snorkeling experience, and they were both very nervous. Eddie did a great job explaining everything and made them feel very safe. The kids were given a life preserver to hang on to until they were comfortable letting go. They were comfortable and swimming on their own in no time, thanks to his patience and instruction. Both kids are hooked and ready to do it again. Eddie and the guide, Marco, pointed out different types of fish, coral, and barracudas: it was liking swimming in a fish tank.

After snorkeling, Eddie took us back to the beachfront restaurant and ordered a huge lunch of chips, guacamole, and fajitas. Wonderful, local food!

One of the best parts, Eddie had an underwater camera and took over 200 photos and gave us a CD of them before the excursion was over. Transportation back to our hotel was included.

Eddie's service really made the experience; from transportation, to making sure we were fueled with food, to the underwater photos, and most importantly his knowledge and expertise.

We're looking forward to booking another excursion with The Snorkel Shop this summer.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistent great reviews of the Snorkel Shop experience”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

It has been said consistently. The snorkeling with Eddie is great value, intimate and a fun day. Eddie was good company and showed up a great day. And we have two great snorkeling adventures followed by a great lunch on the beach. Then Eddie took us to the Cenote which was a fascinating experience. If you like to snorkel, this is the best option in the Playa area!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterScottF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing experience and value!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

our guide aglios took us on an unforgettable snorkling and cenote tour. Found the snorkel shop just by chance and so glad we did. Even though it was just my wife and I they still gave us the tour. Aglios picked us up at our hotel and took us to puerto Morelos to snorkel 2 different areas along the reef. Lots of time in the water aglios took lots of pics while christian the local guide showed us the way. It was our own personal tour of the reef. Back on land we enjoyed a deliscious lunch at el ojo de agua which was included in the tour.

We were then taken to a true hidden gem of a cenote called chaak-tun just outside of playa. Wow ! We had the whole place to ourselves for snorkeling and aglios provided history and commentary on what this place meant to the Mayan people. plus more pictures of us underwater and this amazing cenote.

This tour couldn't have been more personalized or more rewarding. At the end if the day we were given a cd of around 500 images of our trip. Again included! That has never happened on any other tour in my experience. So much value for the cost. We are thrilled with our trip!

Thanks to graham and aglios!

Jason&suzanne

Helpful?
2 Thank MisterSlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Snorkel Shop also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to The Snorkel Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing