We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Substantial villa upgrade given....but then we found out why.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #3 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Substantial villa upgrade given....but then we found out why.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was the second time we had booked through Kuoni & this was the second time they had failed to book our private transfers despite my instigating before departure that this time the car really was confirmed. I will not be using Kuoni again.

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Spa Pool Villa and complimentary 60 min massage. I was laughed at when I asked they staff why...but then we found out exactly why...

For 4 days of our 8 day holiday, a wedding celebration of 300 guests from New York heavily dominated ALL public areas to the point where we felt we had been put 'on the back burner' And had to just accept that the party would be taking priority.

We were advised by staff to eat an evening meal in Tamarind so booked this upon their recommendation. Regrettably, the wedding party decided to overflow into this beautiful, tranquil restaurant with their drinking. As such, my small group of 4 failed to have any kind of conversation due to noise levels. The entire meal was a catalogue of errors. Bread came, then 20 minutes later, the oils and vinegars to be eaten with it arrived. I was asked what I wanted to drink and then my other 3 companions were given the same without being asked about their requests. Drinking glasses holding sparkling water which needed topping up then had still water added to them.....we waited over an hour and a half for food which was then sent back.

Breakfast was NOT in the Oriente whilst the 4 day party was taking place. Non-wedding guests were re-located to allow the wedding party priority. The staff did their best but it did get to the point where I didn't even bother asking for any more coffee or juice because I knew it wouldn't arrive.

One guest from the wedding party did come into 'our' breakfast area with his phone on loudspeaker and shouting across the restaurant to yet another voice. Erick & his team did politely remind him that there were other guests trying to enjoy what the BT promotes (tranquility) and asked him to move on. This was hugely appreciated by us as it meant we could now have at least one meal without being violated.

BT states it's an 'ecosystem of carefully maintained mangroves and freshwater lagoons - home to a myriad of indigenous species of fish and birds...living freely in their natural environment'......the wedding party were warned by staff that they could not whizz jet skis through the mangrove river yet the party ignored this order and as such yet another area of peace was ruined for those who had paid a premium for the BT experience.

BT states of its golf course that 'it's one of the most famous in Mexico and weaves through 3 distinct ecosystems'.....well yes but you can't use it when multiple wedding marquees are erected on the course.

Fireworks went off unexpectedly behind the villa of a family with a very young child and as a result the parents then had to deal with the consequences. A note from staff explaining what would be happening would have been appreciated as a gesture.

The atmosphere and attitude of staff completely changed once the large party had left. It was noticeable and remarkable how we then were made to feel welcome and wanted.

I have been put off visiting another BT as this visit totally contradicted their entire ethos of zen-like calm and tranquility.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paulswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear paulswife

I feel sorry to read you did not enjoy the atmosphere of the hotel during your last stay and we are sorry if you have been disturbed. Please accept my sincere apologies. Thank you for mentioning our efforts were noticed and our performance improving during the last part of your stay.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience during your stay at Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

Remaining at your entire disposal,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    205
    79
    26
    14
See reviews for
417
1,137
21
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, LA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

You are treated like royalty your entire visit. It is very private, and the bedroom doors open to your own private plung pool. We travel frequently, and this resort tops them all. The perfect relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrobin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear jrobin22

Thank you for giving us and other readers of Trip Advisor your very positive comments. I am glad to know that you have perceived the true essence of our hotel.

We are keen to welcome you again to the Banyan Tree Mayakoba and I remain at your entire disposal,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I've stayed during a wedding weekend , and the rooms and facilities are Ok , at first hand the fitness center looks good but all the equipment lacks of maintenance, one of the elliptical machines was out of order and the other elliptical machine the screen was not working so you could not input data or choose the exercise you want to do.
another bad experience that we had is that we tried to make a reservation at the saffron restaurant from the front desk, it took forever for them to try to make the reservation finally the told us that they were fully book, its seem rare to me so I went directly to the restaurant and they were almost empty, so they gave me the table, and I asked the manager why they did that , and she told me that they were not serving outsiders, I told her that I was staying at the hotel and they denied the reservation. i think that the property owners should know this because they have the hotel to do business and not to deny reservations

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear monyh

Thank you very much for your notes on your recent stay. I do apologize for the problems you pointed out on those notes, like the gym equipment. I also have noted the situation you explained regarding Saffron Restaurant’ reservations and we have changed the reservations procedure.

Wishing to have the opportunity to bring your confidence back,

With best wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

It is no surprise that this hotel is a concierge.com editor's pick.

From the seamless private transfer, to the welcoming cold towel and Mayan health drink ; offered by a hostess that greets guests in the gorgeous Asian inspired central pavilion, with vast outdoors spaces and arching roofs overlooking a central pond which is a scene straight out of a Kyoto temple. That is when the perfect spirituality of this gorgeous peace of heaven hits you for the first time.

The registration formalities are understated and quickly you are on your way, transported by golf trolley by a smiling driver - everybody smiles at the Banyan Tree .The accommodation is spectacular and in this instance a 5000sqft , tri-level townhouse designed in a Adobe/Mayan style.The first floor living area is bigger than many NY apartments and offers sweeping view of tropical ponds and the greens of the PGA golf course which is part of the resort .

Downstairs to 3 bedrooms , the master with patio leading to the pond, ensuite bathroom with rainshower and vista tub with panoramic view, beautiful Mexican twin painted vanity sinks add to the Mexican inspired interior decoration to which the simplicity of Asian Feng Shui has been applied.

The King size bed is sumptuous and with blackout curtains and only the sound of nature as an accompaniment, it is possible to achieve a primordial peaceful, darkness - great for those who are used to garbage trucks churning at 3am in NYC.

Finally, the roof terrace, with infinity pool, lounges-beds,and basic barbecue implements- which are used to prepare catered buffets which are offered as part of the in room dining options .

The scent of lemongrass and Ylang ylang offer an olfactory delight , gently relased into the air by scent burners which are attended to by a support team who clean and tidy the villa twice a day , and who at turndown service deposit small locally produced momento- my favorite the carved wooden turle- to symbolise returnng to your roots.

The Spa at the Banyan tree has to be the most enchanting experience on the planet. You are transported to invidual Balinese inspired , thatched masage cottages. With your feet floating in pools of rose petal water, your body is gently scrubbed with banana and papaya pulp infused with herbs. Then a massage from an Indonesian therapist whose diminuitive size belies her ability to remove all knots and spains, whilst at the same time offering a tanscendental experience- thank you for your gift Dhassi.

Dining at the Banyan Tree offers a varied selection of Thai, Mexican and International cusine at any of the 3 main restaurants- dining on the floating deck at Saffron is a must -try the Thai Tasting menu.

Breakfast is served in the Oriente and really is the best deal at the hotel.In addition to the normal breakfast fare of tropical fruits, juices, bread and pastry baskets the kitchen serve some vaired and tempting addtions; shrimp curry, pit roasted pig, grilled sea bass or mexican burritos and refried beans. Of course, American favourites like omelettes and egg benedict can be cooked to order.

Sands, the beach side bistro offers a great selection of Asian inspired options complimented with the freshest daily catch of the day and Mexican classics and is a great place to relax late in the afternoon.

Finally, the staff at the Banyan Tree are superb.They act like gracious hosts, they are discrete and attentive at the same time and on hand to deliver any of your hearts desires.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a heated pool Indulge in the breakfast Have a couples massage Do visit Playa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Yorick P

We want to thank you for visiting Banyan Tree Mayakoba and for sharing your positive notes with other guests. While reading your charming feedback, we notice that you have enjoyed your stay with us. One of our goals is to provide a true all around experience to our guests, which goes beyond the room but also includes all their senses.

We are so looking forward to welcome you back to this Sanctuary of the Senses.

Kind regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Have been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba twice. Went back the second time because the first was so terrible they invited us back. Punch line is: hotel is beautiful and beach spectacular but service sub-par.

Detail: we stayed on an oceanfront villa. The villa was beautiful with a pool. The bathroom was very nice with a great outdoor tub and shower. The bed was very comfortable and they had a pillow menu.

Transportation: since the resort is in two separate area, the reception and the beach, guests need to use the golf carts to get around. The problem is that you can easily wait 10-20 minutes, if not 30 minutes for a golf cart at night when guests are trying to get around. The boat option during the day is cool but not practical since the boat only runs on a set schedule.

Gym: nicely appointed with modern equipment.

Spa: I got a massage, it was ok, not incredible. The masseuse was Thai and she was very gracious but she had tiny hands with skinny fingers so she struggled to apply real pressure. Also had the water treatment, it was not my favorite.

Food: the pool restaurant was good although menu limited so after a week the food was a bit boring. The Thai restaurant was good but could be better. The breakfast was nice, the buffet was quite comprehensive. The restaurant in the main area by the lobby was underwhelming for fine dining.

The problem: the whole system falls apart when it rains... The rooms are poorly built so tons of water leaks in so they put towels down to soak up the water. After a few days of rain they are out of towels and things get sticky to the point where they used our bath towels and didn't replace the so we didn't have towels when getting out of the shower. Most of the restaurants are outdoors so they have very limited seating when it rains which meant we ended up having dinner in the yoga studio one night!! Once you have issues the staff has no idea what to do so it becomes a comedy of errors.

While it is a beautiful resort we won't return.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JSM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear SuperPicky111

I appreciate you informing us that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you and your companion. Please accept my apologies for any shortcomings from our side. The areas you have mentioned are under review with the personnel in charge.

I sincerely wish to be given the opportunity to bring back your confidence into our Banyan Tree Hotels in your next stay.

With Best Regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,587 reviews
6.6 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
7.9 km away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
2.2 km away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#13 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
10.7 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Property: Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya, Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing