We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The resort is even better than the pictures! Ask the locals and they will tell you that this and Mayakoba are the two best resorts in Playa del Carmen, the only real difference is the all inclusive at Grand Velas. The food is worth every penny. Each meal tastes better than the last, all of the restaurants are delicious. We traveled with an 8 year old that learned to scuba in the pool thru the daily beach/pool activities and loved it. The guys in charge of the activites are great, especially Alfredo. Take the eco tour- it's about an hour and you will be able to see their gardens and taste the mint they grow as the garnish in their cocktails. The kids club at Zen is small and quiet- perfect for kids who like to play x-box,do crafts, lego's or watch a movie- Ambassador kids club is crazier with lots of kids. As for the rooms, we had the plunge pool which looks nice but is freezing and not worth the x-tra money because you cannot get in it. The "jungle" view is quite pretty, with lots of nice birds to view and very quiet. Mini bar is stocked daily with your favorites from beer to oreo's, just a nice touch. The Spa is one of the best in the world. The only draw back, there are not a ton of activities if the weather is not good for beach/pool- I would suggest and excersion for that day - downtown Playa del Carmen is very nice, totally safe- cute cafe's and kitchy shops. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,463
    381
    107
    54
    35
See reviews for
1,271
943
23
396
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

It is a beautiful resort, We stayed at the Ambassador which is where you want to be if you don’t want to be secluded, the rooms have everything you really may need and the beds are very comfortable. The TV programs options are really bad. We had dinner one night at the Sen Lin restaurant, the service was very slow, the staff where really rude, including the manager and the food was awful. Breakfast and lunch at Azul where ok, not a lot of options but the food was very good. The best place for us to have dinner was Piaf, these place was really amazing, the food, the service, everything. After dinner there is nothing else to do, but only a Karaoke Bar, so late night may be boring.
The Spa is also one of the best I have been in my life, don’t miss it.
I went with my wife and some friends. I wouldn’t take my children to these place, I think there is a lot of better options for families in La Riviera.
After Paying more than 800 dlls a night it bothers me that they charge 10 dlls / hour for internet.
After reading all the reviews, I expected better of Grand Velas.

Room Tip: Dont stay at Zen, it is really far from everything, but the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MrMSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We went for my special birthday and the hotel staff were amazingly accommodating. Champagne,balloons,flowers etc... It was fabulous. The hotel, food, accommodations and spa were truly 5 star. Our room was luxurious - small pool on the huge balcony overlooking the pool and beach. Grand class, the adult section was quiet and serene. The staff everywhere were friendly and went out of their way to make your experience special.
You would be hard pressed to find such a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Sludge for grand class for a romantic get away. Private, exclusive, peaceful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jbk227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know how perfect your stay was, we will be more than happy to have the opportunity to host you again very soon and give you once more the good service you have already experienced.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This place is by far a 5star all inclusive resort. The food was just amazing and being from ny I was shocked to get the best italian food at Lucas. Grand Velas take pride in catering to there guest and it shows. I been to beaches in Turks and theres no comparison. I recommend grand velas to everyone. You wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carmdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your experience during your recent stay. It is with great pleasure that we have read your report filled with such valuable feedback. Hopefully you will be able to come back soon.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I loved our stay at Grand Velas. Everything was perfect, from the beautiful and spacious rooms, to the gorgeous grounds, and the amazing food!

The hotel is beautiful, the open air spaces are beautiful, the infinity pool was gorgeous, the flowers are beautiful, and the rooms are amazing. I loved how spacious the rooms were, the bed was delightfully comfortable, there was a nice lounge area with a desk, and the bathroom was wonderful. The rainfall showerhead was such a treat as well as the nice jetted tub. I also really liked that there was a seperate vanity in addition to the his and hers sinks. Our room was an ambassador suite with an ocean view and it was gorgeous, the veranda was huge and had a lovely lounge bed.

We loved all of the food we ate while staying here, but I'd have to say that our favorite restaurant was Frida. The bean soup was sooo good. But, all of the food we had was amazing. We loved having breakfast each morning on our balcony too..

We loved staying here, it has been hands down the best resort we've ever been too. The service was above and beyond, the food was amazing, the amenities very nice, and we can't wait to plan our next trip there!

Room Tip: An ocean view ambassador suite is a must, there's nothing better than waking up to the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know how perfect your stay was, we will be more than happy to have the opportunity to host you again very soon and give you once more the good service you have already experienced.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
11.1 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,764 reviews
4.4 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,917 reviews
4.5 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
21.8 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,524 reviews
9.9 km away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. 62 | Municipio de Solidaridad, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the luxurious All Inclusive Luxury Resort Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing