We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$289
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$356
US$266
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$316/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$179
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$288
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$476
US$341
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Reve Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$404
US$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$440
US$408
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,218
US$959
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
50
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenwasher and dryercondo complexgreat locationwithin walking distancenice living roomnight lifebricunitsupermarketavegatedamenitiescomfortabrilvacationgym
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have stayed at the Royal Palms several times. Each time has been a different condo. I have never been disappointed. It's awesome there!! The rooms are very clean which to me is everything. The condos are tastefully decorated and very up to date. Great location. You can walk the entire area of playa del Carmen. From the beginning to the end. The only thing about royal palms is if you're looking for a pool, there isn't one. Which really is not a big deal because mamita's beach is super close. Staying at the royal palms you are by the best restaurants. I've been to playa several times, it's a great place to visit and staying at the Royal Palms is the way to go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Svr123rud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This condo was absolutely amazing. It was beautiful, HUGE, nicely decorated, and quiet. I believe we were in Unit 6, which is an awesome loft style condo with 2 king size beds, a huge bathtub, 2 full bathrooms, a full kitchen, a nice living room, etc. We had some trouble locating the place because we arrived after dark, but happened to stumble upon it. These condos are literally right off of Quinta Avenida and are gated. You receive the code upon checking in, so you feel safe. The website also said there was parking included, but this means on the street. We had to park on the street a couple blocks away. We left our car there and nobody bothered it during our stay. We also walked to the Mega Grocery Store pretty regularly. These condos are an easy walk to stores, shopping, restaurants, the beach, etc. The only issue we had while staying here were a few ants that were attracted to the water in the sinks, but it wasn't a big deal at all. I would DEFINITELY suggest these condos to anybody wanting to stay in Playa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 600lbsofsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We've been to the Royal two other years and its always been. GREAT. This summer 2013 we are in unit 3 with a mezzanine bedroom. PERFECT. No hot sater issues or pressure problems here. 9.5 on 10. Our unit 3 is on the ground floor. NO WINDOWS on 5 th or 26 th. And that new noisy bar on 26 th is lng gone in August 2013. Very quiet unit sleeps two perfectly and great price.

Room Tip: Some rooms facing 5 th avenue have been replaced with sound reduction windows. Some otherr owners have sound proofing type windows. Call BRIC and ask before booking.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have stayed at Royal Palms many times and and various units over the years. This is the first time we have rented the rooftop penthouse. Overall, the condo is beautiful and I would not hesitate to stay again. I do think it is time for the owner of this unit to do some updating. First of all, the water pressure in the unit is horrible. Worse than that, saying that the hot water is hit or miss is an absolute understatement -- mostly miss.

The location can't be beat, and the staff (maids and super are amazing) April 1st a new manaement company has taken over this property, BRIC Vacation Rentals. They definately are not working for the customer (you). Upon arrival, they want you to walk down to there office to make final payment even though there is a BRIC agent at the property. Makes no sense, especially when you have elderly people in your group.

We had a huge cockroach in the master bedroom as did our friends in unit 5. We did have 20 inches of rain while we were down there and this may have played into the problem.

The location is great, the staff is amazing. I wold not hesitate to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Annie-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed at the Royal Palms from March 29th - April 4th. Stayed in unit #10 - rooftop 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath unit. Excellent facility - with laundry, full kitchen, rooftop patio with view of the ocean, cold jacuzzi tub on patio to cool off and relax, only complaint would be water pressure and hot water - hit and miss with the showers. The 'pool' area wasn't really what I would have called it - very pretty but not for sunning as surrounded by palm trees and folliage - no place to lie out (but didn't really need it as we had plenty of sun on our deck)- but very nice to look at. Was the perfect location at 5th and Calle 26 - close to shops, restaurants and Mamita's beach was only a few small blocks away. Mega grocery store a short cab ride or a 20 minute walk away. Maid service was excellent as was the management - new management took over as of April 1st - Bric (service was top notch). No TV's in bedrooms just the livingroom. Overall a wonderful vacation with good friends - no major complaints.

Room Tip: Unit #10 was excellent - large roof top patio - guest bedroom also had a large balcondy, master had one also but smaller. Good space - beautiful views
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShazMcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews