We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Condo Hotel is Aging Well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Palms Condominiums
Reviewed 15 March 2014

There aren't many older condos or hotels in Playa which have retained that hacienda style charm while still fulfilling all the needs of the modern traveler. This particular one does just that. When you walk in, you feel like you have found your own special corner of Playa that feels like home.
Not all condos here are created equal, and some do not have a/c, so really read the description before signing on. It is more of an issue in July or August but during the winter months the ceiling fans are sufficient.
The Royal Palms is a short walk from the best beach, (Mamitas beach) and is convenient to everything. There are many good restaurants nearby. A car is not necessary as the whole strip is very condensed and is only about two miles long total. This is great base for vacation and a very good value, as the condos are spacious and clean.I was surprised that it was pretty quiet considering how close to the action it really is.My suggestion is that if you stay here, you should go with the higher floor / nicest condo that you can afford. Unit 6 is very nice. You will find the service good and the people friendly, but be aware that this is not a full service hotel but a condo complex. So it is more or less self serve.
I had a great time while staying here, and would definitely come back!

Room Tip: They're all pretty good. But some of the higher floors have a cool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelcrazy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have stayed at the Royal Palms several times. Each time has been a different condo. I have never been disappointed. It's awesome there!! The rooms are very clean which to me is everything. The condos are tastefully decorated and very up to date. Great location. You can walk the entire area of playa del Carmen. From the beginning to the end. The only thing about royal palms is if you're looking for a pool, there isn't one. Which really is not a big deal because mamita's beach is super close. Staying at the royal palms you are by the best restaurants. I've been to playa several times, it's a great place to visit and staying at the Royal Palms is the way to go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Svr123rud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This condo was absolutely amazing. It was beautiful, HUGE, nicely decorated, and quiet. I believe we were in Unit 6, which is an awesome loft style condo with 2 king size beds, a huge bathtub, 2 full bathrooms, a full kitchen, a nice living room, etc. We had some trouble locating the place because we arrived after dark, but happened to stumble upon it. These condos are literally right off of Quinta Avenida and are gated. You receive the code upon checking in, so you feel safe. The website also said there was parking included, but this means on the street. We had to park on the street a couple blocks away. We left our car there and nobody bothered it during our stay. We also walked to the Mega Grocery Store pretty regularly. These condos are an easy walk to stores, shopping, restaurants, the beach, etc. The only issue we had while staying here were a few ants that were attracted to the water in the sinks, but it wasn't a big deal at all. I would DEFINITELY suggest these condos to anybody wanting to stay in Playa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 600lbsofsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We've been to the Royal two other years and its always been. GREAT. This summer 2013 we are in unit 3 with a mezzanine bedroom. PERFECT. No hot sater issues or pressure problems here. 9.5 on 10. Our unit 3 is on the ground floor. NO WINDOWS on 5 th or 26 th. And that new noisy bar on 26 th is lng gone in August 2013. Very quiet unit sleeps two perfectly and great price.

Room Tip: Some rooms facing 5 th avenue have been replaced with sound reduction windows. Some otherr owners ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have stayed at Royal Palms many times and and various units over the years. This is the first time we have rented the rooftop penthouse. Overall, the condo is beautiful and I would not hesitate to stay again. I do think it is time for the owner of this unit to do some updating. First of all, the water pressure in the unit is horrible. Worse than that, saying that the hot water is hit or miss is an absolute understatement -- mostly miss.

The location can't be beat, and the staff (maids and super are amazing) April 1st a new manaement company has taken over this property, BRIC Vacation Rentals. They definately are not working for the customer (you). Upon arrival, they want you to walk down to there office to make final payment even though there is a BRIC agent at the property. Makes no sense, especially when you have elderly people in your group.

We had a huge cockroach in the master bedroom as did our friends in unit 5. We did have 20 inches of rain while we were down there and this may have played into the problem.

The location is great, the staff is amazing. I wold not hesitate to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Annie-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.2 km away
Fiesta Inn Playa Del Carmen
Fiesta Inn Playa Del Carmen
#43 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
350 reviews
2.1 km away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#91 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
182 reviews
0.5 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#63 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
518 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#11 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
868 reviews
0.5 km away
Encanto Riviera Apartments
Encanto Riviera Apartments
#18 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Condominiums

Address: 26th Street And 5th Avenue, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €101 - €321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palms features our high-end, luxury collection of private homes for rent.The Royal Palms is a boutique collection of 10 private condo homes, each offering a vast and unique array of amenities and serviced by Playa del Carmen's leading vacation condo rental company, BRIC Vacation Rentals. The Royal Palms offers 1, 2 and 3 bedroom homes, available for weekly and daily rentals with the benefits of hotel like service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Palms Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Condominiums Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Palms Condominiums Riviera Maya, Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing