We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Tres Rios
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$605
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$813
US$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$395
US$256
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$467
US$227
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$268
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$564
US$409
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
US$940
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,453)
Filter reviews
6,455 results
Traveller rating
3,764
1,543
566
279
303
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,764
1,543
566
279
303
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssegway tournature parkthe grillsense adventurethree riverssports barthe mexican restaurantchef's tablelobster dinnerfamily pooltime sharebeach bedskids clubadult poolcasino nightsales presentationbeautiful resort
Filter
Updating list...
3,229 - 3,234 of 6,455 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We recently returned from a week at Tres Rios and were completely satisfied with our experience. Fantastic service throughout our stay. The staff were always accommodating and helpful. Although we did not get to experience the highly rated Italian restaurant ( kids not welcome ) the food was good elsewhere, the Grill especially recommended. Exploring the rivers via kayak or snorkelling to the cenotes was enjoyable and a great way to tour the nature park. A special thanks to Gary, our waiter at the beach / pool who kept us refreshed and made us feel completely welcome. Tremendous service Gary, thanks again for making our week more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stayed on the mangrove side, our suite was very nice but poolside view would be better
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This was our second time for a week vacation (Jan. 2013) and we love the care and attention we get from the staff. Of course some are better than others but overall, it is a pleasure to be acknowledged and asked if there is anything they can do for us.
Rooms are 5 stars - all with an ocean view. Very comfortable, spacious and the beds and pillows are excellent. A/C is in your control and easy to operate. We observed the cleaning staff and they do a great job, and sometimes preform some amazing things with the towels ... swans, love birds, etc. I particularly love the showers as large and neat lighting.
We had a fabulous experience at the spa with a lavender and rosemary wrap, exfoliation and then full body massage, 90 minutes of pampering after which we melted into the table!! Great way to unwind and begin the vacation. The beach here is so clean and well cared for. They've done a lot of work to maintain and improve the area. I also love that it is a nature park and the care and attention they give to the environment. It's so nice to see a large swath of greenery surrounding the resort.
On site: the cenote swimming & snorkeling, the river kayaking, the nursery, bike rides and Segways are all so worthy of the experience on the site, and after choose your pool or hot tubs, or restaurants ... hard to find something not to love about HTR!! Evening events are lot's of fun, music, food, drinks and new friends.
Special thanks to Jorje, Regina, Omar, Gregorio, Adrian, Louis and Andy for their extra care and attention. See you next year!!
Jayeson & Dailaan Shaffer

Room Tip: We like the 3rd floor for the view but have never asked. Sleep is great as we have always found it quiet. The outdoor party events are usually all done between 9 and 10 PM.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayeson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This is a resort with lots to do during the day, Eco &shamanic tours, Segway, kayak up up river, snorkel a cenote, scuba etc...all right onthe property. The staff were terrific!
Andy..(concierge) who met us & explained everything when we arrived...always friendly & helpful
Gregorio...(waiter in main dining & elsewhere) Big smile & wave to come to his tables, will get you whatever you want, we really looked forward to seeing him every day
Bautista... (waiter at adult pool & grill area) same friendly smile as Gregorio, whose English gets better every day, will also pamper you when he can
Victor...(waiter also at pools etc) he's another one to look for, also terrific guy
Miguel... (waiter at Grill & elsewhere has silver capped front teeth) another to seek out

Room Tip: From what we saw, all rooms are first rate, but due to ceramic floors you can hear chairs scraping etc quite often. Turn on the shower a few minutes before if you want hot water at peak times. No reservations needed for special dining, just get there within 10-15 minutes of opening. Canadianswho prefer rye whiskey won't find any, but good selection of everything else. If you're spiritual in any way,don't miss the shamanic tour on the grounds! Cab ride to Playa del Carmen is $20 if you miss one of the three daily free shuttles... Last trip back to hotel is at 5:30 pm. Salt shakers seldom work due to high humidity, don't think they heard of putting afewbits of dried rice in to prevent that... Even shakers with more than one hole would help. We are definitely coming back! Don & Frankie
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We visited HTR 3 years ago and found it to be good, if not great. We just spent 4 days there again (was able to snag a very low rate online) and we found ourselves wishing it was better.
In brief, here are our comments:
PLUSES:
1 - Great room! We had a mangrove view junior suite, and while the view was virtually non-existent (unless you like staring at vegetation!), the suite was amazing - absolutely the largest hotel room we have ever encountered - larger than many apartments! It was well furnished and having two full bathrooms was a real plus.
2 - The staff. Almost without exception, the staff was wonderful. Waiters (especially Miguel at the Grill, Gregorio (who recognized us from our last visit) in the buffet, and Mauricio, the matre'd in the Mexican restaurant. Additionally, Erick, the bellman, was terrific. We could not have asked for a better staff.
3 - The Chef's tasting dinner. It costs extra, but is worth every penny. A seven course tasting menu served in the kitchen. Frankly, I am surprised that the hotel does not do a better job of publicizing it.

MINUSES:
1 - The buffet. We have stayed at several "high end" all-inclusives, and I can tell you, unequivocally, that we found most of the food in the buffet to be tasteless and unappetizing. While we generally only ate breakfast there, even that tended to be be "blah." Many of the dishes on the buffet tend to look tired and it almost seemed as if they cooked without seasonings.
2 - Specialty restaurant "logistics." While the food in the 3 specialty restaurants we dined in (Italian, Asian, and Mexican) was certainly decent, their "no-reservations" system just did not work. Invariably, we'd go to the restaurant and be told there would be a 45 minute wait to be seated. This is absolutely unacceptable by any standards. When we'd look in and see empty tables, we were told that they were for "owners" (timeshare owners). There is absolutely no reason for non-owners to feel like second class guests, and obviously, this was an indication that if you were not an owner, you probably should look elsewhere for a vacation.

It seems to us that HTR's primary interest is selling timeshares. For a number of reasons, we have no desire to "own," and as a result, we found ourselves trying to grasp why anyone would come to HTR if they simply wanted a vacation and had no interest in joining a "vacation club." While we had a very low rate, HTR's regular rates are comparable to several other 5 star all-inclusives in the Riviera Maya. It seems to me that if HTR truly wants to be a world class resort, it needs to change a number of its policies to make it more conducive to people like ourselves that simply want to take advantage of a beautiful facility and the wonderful weather.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lsnhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This was my first time at this hotel but the party I was with had been there 2 consecutive years prior. I heard that the hotel changed management between our group's 2nd and 3rd years attending and many of the attendees said they could tell a difference - unfortunately, not in a good way. Upon arrival, some of our attendees were forced to listen to a half hour sales presentation on the benefits of the property in an attempt to gain their interenst in a time share. That would be fine if they had been traveling as a transient reservation. But the fact that they were there as part of an organized, corporate retreat and were forced to sit through the sales pitch before they could get their room keys was inappropriate. Upon my parties' arrival (group of 4) we were told the hotel was overbooked and the front desk tried to put all four of us in the same room; however, they couldn't guarantee for how many nights we would need to share, nor could they come up with reasonable compensation.

We too experienced inconsistancy with the re-stocking of our room. We never fully had all of our towels or bath products replenished. The couple in the room next to us got a new bath mat each day and we never had one - even when we asked for one, they brought us a hand towel. When we arrived, the ice bucket was full of water. A dirty wash cloth stayed on the floor of our shower for three days. Various lights in the room wouldn't turn on or stay on once lit.

The restaurants always seemed to be understaffed and the hostesses and managers were downright rude at times. They wouldn't let us move tables together to seat our party, and then after we were seated at two different tables, we watched them put tables together for other groups!

The saving grace of our trip was the staff working at The Grill - the poolside restaurant. Enrique, Neltri, Cornelio, Ismeal, Victor -- all of the gentlemen working at The Grill the week we were there were amazing. They truly went out of their way to help make our experience a great one. We ended up eating as many meals out there as possible since they were so accommodating and welcoming.

It was really a shame that the rest of the staff did not possess that same enthusiasm for customer service. It's a lovely property with excellant pools and activities. We would have had more fun if we handn't been so dumbfounded by the lack of customer service.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
5  Thank Kari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews