We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great facility, great staff”
Review of Hotel Marionetas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marionetas
Ranked #12 of 80 Merida B&B and Inns
Merida, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, great facility, great staff”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Two of us stayed 9 nights at Hotel Marionetas. The location could not be better. I am surprised anyone would think it isn't. It was 3 blocks to Santa Ana park, which has restaurants, shops, ice cream store, and much more surrounding the park. Another block and you are on Paseo Montejo. We walked to the main square in about 12 minutes. Santiago Park was also about 12 minutes. So we felt the location was very central to everything. If we had stayed at a place closer to the main square, then we would have been further from the other parks and Paseo Montejo. You can't be close to everything.
The rooms are clean and large. Water pressure was great, and the shower was also large. The bed was nice and firm, which I like. I guess if you like a soft bed, you wouldn't like this one. But I have stayed in too many places where the mattress was old and saggy, so I appreciated this one. I don't know from thread count, but the sheets were very nice.
They advertised a continental breakfast, so I wasn't surprised when that is what they served. (Read the website, people!) Staff was great. Very friendly and always asking if they could do anything for us. We had a safe in our room, so for someone to be robbed would seem to be their own fault. Would they leave money in their room in the U.S.?
Someone complained that it was a hot and sticky walk to places in Merida. Well, guess what? It's Mexico! The warm weather is part of the reason I went there. We jumped in the pool in the afternoon and it was refreshing.
I guess I'm just shocked that anyone could be upset with this place. As I said, we spent 9 whole days there and had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwjordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    88
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
29
159
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We spent three nights in this delightful boutique hotel close to the historic part of town. The courtyard was beautiful and the room delightful. There are only 8 rooms in this hotel, but this allows for guests to meet each other and interact. The lobby is small and intimate and the staff is very accommodating. Breakfast is included and is served in an outdoor patio. The hotel is located close to the centre of the historic part of Merida and an easy walk to many restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs I recommend requesting a room on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelownagrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Merida is must if you travel in Yucatan. I've found this hidden gem on Splendia.com and my wife and I we both been impressed of the quality of the facility and the service. We also were not charged any extra cost when we decided during our stay to spend one night out of the hotel to go to Campeche. The garden is beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gommax75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This hidden place in the city of merida is just perfect. Nice building, with a mexican mood/touch that give a beautiful atmosphere... our rooms was big, with purple walls and orange bathroom.
The breakfast is really good and served in a nice patio, in a small courtyard with a tiny swimming pool. The staff is very nice and they help us with everything: they organized for us a wonderful trip to chichen itza and to uxmal with a local company. Call for us the Ado to know the timetable. And very important: on the xmas day we need a doctor and they call him for us. He came directly in our room.
So, yes I would definitely suggest this nice hotel with a very prepared and friendly staff.
The hotel is not right in middle of the city, but it takes 10 minutes walk to get there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranxer0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 798 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

A nice looking boutique-style hotel but not much to recommend it underneath the cute exterior. The location is a 15 minute walk to the city center and there is nothing in the neighborhood to see or do.

The rooms are centered around a small pool and patio area where the breakfast is served. Speaking of the breakfast, it was a disappointing serving of one type of fruit, yogurt and rubbery rolls. The equally disappointing eggs cost extra.

The positive aspects of the rooms were good water pressure and air conditioning. Drawbacks included the hard bed, wireless internet that only worked when close to the lobby, and the noise -- from every movement from the neighbors above to the constantly barking dog (which, despite repeated complaints, was never dealt with). Oh, and guests are requested to not put toilet paper into the toilet but rather into the trash can. Yuck.

Overall, for the money, there are so many places in Merida that are better located and in much better condition as this place is run-down.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor would probably be quieter as far as hearing your neighbors but no differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Travel Richly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 km away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
998 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 103 in Merida
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#18 of 103 in Merida
480 reviews
0.8 km away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
290 reviews
1.5 km away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marionetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marionetas

Property: Hotel Marionetas
Address: Calle 49 #516 x 62 y 64 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marionetas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury hotel in Merida Yucatan in a colorful garden setting. Every room has a phone, air conditioning, new bed, and spacious bathrooms. Amenities include pool, cafe and bar, internet and fax access, safe boxes and parking. Enjoy the charm of a colonial home without giving up the conveniences of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marionetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing