We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
US$305
US$236
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Plaza Almendros(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa de los Suenos(Isla Mujeres)
US$320
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Na Balam Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
US$312
US$246
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nautibeach Condos(Isla Mujeres)
US$286
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rocamar(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$627
US$590
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
US$570
US$497
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Palmas(Isla Mujeres)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Secreto(Isla Mujeres)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,495)
Filter reviews
1,495 results
Traveller rating
953
384
99
35
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
953
384
99
35
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya norteixchel iithrough vrbothe penthousegolf cartbedroom suitefull kitchenocean frontstandard roomchairs and umbrellasbeautiful beachhot tubhidalgo streetbeach servicebest beach on the islandflat screenan umbrella
Filter
Updating list...
1,192 - 1,197 of 1,495 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2009

My husband and I have been to Isla many times and we really loved our stay here. We booked our condo with the owners through VRBO.com, Listing #171335. #2408. The condo was really nice. The service in the hotel and the friendliness of the people could not be any better. We had a couple of bumps, but the staff was right on it and resolved the problems immediately. Thanks to Daniel and Geovanny and all the staff for a perfect stay in a perfect condo.

They have a great breakfast and lunch at the restaurant downstairs at the ComoNo. You get front row chairs and umbrellas at the beach with beach service. We were in the beautiful blue water every day.

The hotel helped us rent a golf cart for the days we were there, so we got to drive around and see all the changes since the last time we were there. You must try all the different restaurants. We did eat at one of our favorite places, Rolandi's and have the big fried fish at Picus. We tried some new places too, Olivias and Qubano's. You must visit Vivian at Qubano's and try the Cuban sandwiches, the fried yucca, the Hungarian potatos and the frozen lemonade and watermelon water. The day we went, we had the place to ourselves and were able to visit for awhile with Vivian. That was a real treat. We wanted to try Mango Cafe, but they were not open while we were there. There are so many great places to eat on the island.

Since we were only there for four days, it was over before we were ready. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Likeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

DH and I just stayed for 4 nights at Ixchel Condos Phase I in a 4th floor unit we rented from the owner through VRBO.com (listing #138047). This was our first visit to Isla and we can't wait to return. In addition to the friendliness of the island people and the laid back atmosphere, staying at the Ixchel condos contributed greatly to the enjoyment of our trip. The condos are perfectly located on Playa Norte, the best beach on the island. Comono Restaurant provides food and drink service at the beach and you can just charge it to your room. We thought the prices were fair and the quality of the food and drinks were good. You could also bring your own drinks and snacks from the condos if you want to save money. The swimming pool looked very nice but we didn't use it since the beach was so enticing. Also, there were no umbrellas for shade at the pool although there were tables and chairs. More people seemed to be in the pool in the late afternoon when the sun wasn't so strong.

Our unit was a one bedroom, one bath (the other bedroom and bath were locked off) with a spacious balcony that we accessed from the living room or the bedroom. It was the perfect place to watch the sunset and enjoy a cool drink. The air conditioning worked great with separate controls for the bedroom and the living room. We appreciated the coolness after being out in the mid 90's temps and high humidity atmosphere outside. The bathroom was spacious with a sink and vanity in one room and toilet and huge shower in another room. The water pressure was excellent and the hot water was plentiful. 5 gallon purified water bottles are provided in each unit and this was more than enough water for our stay. The kitchen is nicely equipped for preparing meals although we ended up eating out for all of our meals. The variety and prices of the restaurants made it easy to eat out. The concierge at the front desk was very helpful anytime we had a question. The housekeepers did an excellent job of cleaning our unit each day and were very unobtrusive. When we return to Isla, we'll stay at Ixchel I again and highly recommend it! Hasta luego!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LonestarTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

For my 50th birthday, my best friend treated me to a week on Isla Mujeres and Penthouse 709 on Playa Norte. What an amazing and perfect place to stay while on Isla! When we arrived on Saturday the hotel staff was ready and waiting to take us to our penthouse. We cannot say enough about the hotel staff - Daniel, Geovanny and Maggie - plus countless others that made our stay at Ixchel 709 an excellent adventure! The condo was spacious, clean and cool (especially after a hot and tiring day of travel). Beautifully decorated with comfortable furniture. The bed was very, very comfortable with extra bedding and padding. Excellent cold A/C and excellent hot water showers. We spent a good deal of time on our balcony. Beautiful, beautiful views from all parts of the balcony. We also had beautiful views from just about every room in the condo. Our beach was always clean and not very crowded. We were always able to find the "perfect" beach chairs and umbrella to enjoy for the day. We really can't say enough about this place except that we will return to Penthouse 709 year after year. For future vacations to Isla, we thought we might "look around" at other places to stay while we were in Isla; however, after just a few hours in the condo we decided that we had the BEST place for the value and not once did we look at any other places to stay. We loved the Isla, its' people and charm and all that it has to offer. Our penthouse played a huge part in that enjoyment. We reserved directly through the vrbo website. The owners are exceptional people: gracious and helpful in every way. Upon my arrival a bottle of wine and birthday card were waiting for me. Then of course, there was the Isla and our penthouse! What a way to spend my 50th!! We loved, loved, loved this place! Cannot get it out of our minds! Think about it every single day!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateRowlettTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We were a big group staying in Ixchel Beach Hotel for 3 nights.
The hotel, as it is, has a great location and for my opinion, the best beach on the entire island. White sand, palm trees, hummocks...just like in your dreams.
When we first got there, we had some issues with our room - and within 15 minutes we already had another room - just as we liked.
the rooms are very comfortable - you got everything you need - LCD, DVD player, very quality mattresses, full kitchen equipment, dining area and a beautiful balcony with a spectacular view 0f the Caribbean ocean.
We all came down to isla for our best friend's wedding and they got an amazing penthouse with a roof top terrace that was unbelievable! We had a reception dinner over there - and it was really fantastic!
Me and my wife spent the entire weekend inside of the hotel. The pool is nice (nothing special) and the beach is wide and clean.
By the pool, there is a very nice restaurant serving drinks and food. We LOVED this place!!! I think this restaurant is the only place we were eating....( although we heard there are some very good restaurant downtown). The best thing we've eaten was the Ceviche Mixto - a traditional Mexican plate of shrimp, fish and octopus - so Yummy!!!!!
On our last day we had a big lunch ... for about 40 people - and thanks to me and my wife - everybody ordered that ceviche!!! you must try it!!
I defiantly recommend this hotel, it so nice and peaceful.
And the last tip – make sure you don’t leave isla without spending one day at Zama's – a beautiful beach resort with private beach, swimming pool, Jacuzzi and a nice restaurant.

I can't wait to go back to Isla Mujeres!!!!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank MnJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed only one night and wished we had stayed a few more nights. The hotel is nice: part hotel rooms, part condos. The pool area is very pretty, and beach is some of the nicest on the island. It is also convient to the shops and restaurants of town. The only negative is the hard beds, but this is common in all of Mexico.

They were very nice giving us late check out so we could do a GREAT whale shark tour and still leave the same afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Crackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews